Pro-tech Carpet Cleaning - No Longer In Business

Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing
Calgary AB T2R0L2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing in Calgary  >  Pro-tech Carpet Cleaning - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

3%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Pro-tech Carpet Cleaning - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
2.9 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Wagjag deal house cleaning in Calgary
Wagjag deal house cleaning in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
0/10

WagJag house cleaning

I purchased the WagJag deal for 4 hours of cleaning. I called and emailed numerous times before finally scheduling a date of Aug 8 at 1 pm. No show...I finally got a hold of the owner a few hours later. She had the excuse that she was sick and her phone wasn't working. I can understand that and asked her when we could rebook. She rescheduled for Aug 10th at 3 pm...again, no show! I waited 2 hours and texted her as she had said she preferred texts when her phone wasn't working. No response! I can understand one day excuse but 2 no shows in one week with no common courtesy to call is just unacceptable. I completely arranged my busy work schedule twice in one week for no reason as my house is still not clean and I'm out money. I hope WagJag will give me a credit and I hope others are not taken advantage. If you can't handle the wagjag volume then don't sign your business up and just be honest about it!

Was this review helpful?
Nicole D in Calgary
Nicole D in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

maid service

Protech cleaning has been cleaning my home for over a year. They always do a great job and pay attention to detail. I also love the smell of the cleaning product they use. I have also had my carpets cleaned a few weeks ago and was impressed by the service. Thanks Protech for doing a great job on things I don't want to do.

Was this review helpful?
Cindy  in Red Deer
Cindy in Red Deer
1 review Red Deer, AB
10/10

Maid Service

I’ve been a client of Samantha's for 6 months. I can’t recommend these folks more highly. They are dependable, professional, and always go the extra mile to do something extra special each cleaning. With two kids who crawled and put everything in mouth, I always wanted non-toxic cleaning. I got much more.

Was this review helpful?
HM in Calgary
HM in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB
0/10

Maid Services

We were in the market for a new home cleaning service and found the ad on kijiji. I made an appointment for Samantha to come by and view our home and provide an estimate. She explained that the initial clean was a flat rate but that subsequent cleans would be an hourly rate. I proceeded to book the initial clean and was satisfied when it was done. I then booked a regular cleaning for every other week. The first one was a no show. She had called on the Thursday morning, the day of the appointment, to say that her son was ill and could she reschedule the cleaning for the next day, Friday. No problem I said. Friday came and went and no clean house and no phone call. I had to call repeatedly to find out why. I attempted to leave a message but the voicemail box was always full. When I finally did get to speak with Samantha, a full week after the originally scheduled appointment, she apologized and said it was not like her to not call and she explained that there were some issues around her and her son being ill. I know that these things happen so I decided to give her another chance. The next couple cleaning times were as scheduled. The cleaning was ok, not stellar but passable. Then last week she was scheduled to arrive at 9:00am on Thursday. When my son arrived home from school at noon he called me to ask when the cleaners were supposed to arrive. I called the number I had for Samantha and a gentleman answered. He said she was at work. I explained what I was calling about and he said that he would call her and find out and then call me back. He did exactly as he said. I was told that she would be there about 2:30pm. When I arrived home at 5:00pm, Samantha still had not been there. I called back and the same gentleman answered. I asked that she call me back. She didn't. I called back on Friday and again left a message with him asking for Samantha to call me. No phone call. I called again on Wednesday, 6 days after the scheduled appointment, and told him what had happened and said that I wanted to speak with Samantha. He sounded quite surprised that I hadn't been contacted. I finally did speak with her and she informed me that she couldn't get to our house last week because she had taken on more jobs than she could handle and that she was in the process of hiring a new person. She didn't offer an apology or even try to keep my business by offering a reduced rate for the next cleaning. I said that we were going to go in another direction now and that I'd like my key back. Arrangements were made for the key to be dropped off at 9:00am the next day, before her first job. At 11:30am there was no key and no phone call. I had to call again to make other arrangements for my key to be returned. I finally got my key returned after the third appointment was made. I'm very disappointed. Perhaps the carpet cleaning side of the business is better, but I won't be finding out.

Was this review helpful?
Beatriz in Calgary
Beatriz in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Maid Service

I booked a house cleaning a week before the date and was very specific about the time. The night before, Samantha calls saying that she needed to change the time b/c they didn't finished cleaning a house that day and needed to go back in the morning. After explaining to her that I had already made arrangements for them to come and could not change the time, they did show up to clean at 9am as scheduled. The bathroom cleaning by her cleaner was good but they missed a few areas that required dusting. They charged $160 flat fee for 2.5 hours of work with 2 people and had agreed to return biweekly to clean for $75 for 3 hours. When the day arrived, nobody showed up. When I called, Samantha said that her computer crashed and she was planning to come the next day (with no discussion with me to see if this time change was ok; it was NOT). So if you are looking for reliable and thorough cleaners, this is NOT the place to get the service you are looking for.
Reply: Samantha, thank you for your apology. I didn't get that before when I called to ask why you didn't show up. On the phone, you specifically said that you were already cleaning in Airdrie and that YOU would call me back when you are done there. So I said that I'll decide when you call whether or not we would go ahead with the cleaning that day. Of course, you didn't call, not even to apologize. A responsible person who is unfortunate enough to have her computer crash would have called her customers to check on the appointment time previously booked.
I understood the flat rate. Yes, you did a walk through at the beginning |BUT we definitely did NOT do walk through at the end. You just said that if there's anything you missed, you could do it next time -- and YES, there were a few things missed.
A good company shows respect to their customers in terms of being reliable and doing what they are paid to do. Being unreliable/ "no show" takes you out of the category of "good". After telling you that I was interested in long term biweekly cleaning plus interested in getting the carpets deep cleaned in the near future since that is also something your company does and still get poor service, I don't know how you can expect to last long in this business. And now that I've found this site, I wish I had looked at it before I even agreed to have you come over the first time. It would have saved me a lot of hassle.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Beatriz - My mother-board on my computer went so I am currently running my schedule off my phone. I did get the dates mixed up and do apologies for that. When I spoke with you had said that you would return my phone call to let me know if you and your husband still would like to go with our services. I never heard back from you. The first time cleaning is a flat rate and I explained and did a walkthrough with you so you would understand why. I also did a walkthrough with you at the end on the job that way if there was anything missed we would touch it up while we were there. We are a good company and provide great cleaning and I wish you luck in finding a new cleaner.

Thank you,
Samantha S.

Cowtown homeowner
Cowtown homeowner
15 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

5/10

Full house cleaning

I found this company online as I was looking for a bi-weekly house cleaning service. She told me on the phone it was $20/hour. Three girls showed up including the owner. We had a chat about the work and we talked about Home Stars as I wanted to let her know beforehand that I would most likely write a review.

The owner told me that the first time clean was actually $200, not the hourly rate that she told me on the phone. I was a little upset that the price was different but I was hoping for the work to be done well. They left before I had the chance to come home and I noticed several things were not cleaned that were supposed to be done and the tile looked all greasy.

Samantha did call me to ask about the service but I didn't respond as frankly, I didn't want them back. Samantha did seem concerned about getting bad reviews on this site and we talked about that the day they cleaned. My advice for her would be to focus on the service, do what you say you're going to do and don't change the price once you get to the house. She seems like a hard worker and I think they can bring the business to a higher standard and start getting some good reviews. I hope this review is helpful as I don't want it to be negative but rather some sound advice from another business owner.

Was this review helpful?
Issa Breibish in Calgary
Issa Breibish in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
0/10

Move-out house cleaning and carpet cleaning

Could not recommend them less. At first all seemed good - they were supposed to arrive at 2:30 and called early to say they'd be late which I appreciated. The time was scheduled between 2:30 and 3. After waiting until 4 they finally showed up. They seemed rushed as we did the walk through and said that the three of them would take 1.5 hours for a move-out clean which I thought was very quick. We left, and they called promptly 1.5 hours later. We returned to the house to find the fridge hadn't been touched and our upstairs bathroom still had hair and lint all over the floor.

They quickly bought the girls back inside to clean the fridge and from the banging that went on I'm surprised nothing was broken. After the fridge was done they pretty much ran out the door and I failed to complete the walk thru. After closer inspection very few of the promised services had been completed - the lights hadn't been touched, the floor had been mopped but not swept so there were bits of black lint all over it. Some cupboards hadn't been cleaned, one of the counter tops was filthy, the stove top hadn't been cleaned, there was calcium on the fridge door. I could go on.

We had also signed up for their carpet cleaning deal and were expecting the carpets to be cleaned. So our carpets hadn't even been vacuumed by these guys! In fact, they said that they'd "forgotten" the vacuum. We were also told that the carpet cleaners were "unreachable" after the clean so we'd get a call within the hour. Two hours later the carpet cleaners called to say that they'd not be coming and would have to reschedule for the next day. We set up an appointment for 10am. We drove the hour from our new place to this one to meet the carpet cleaners at 10 and waited. And waited. We waited an hour before I sent a note to Samantha describing the experience and our disappointment in the quality of service. $300 and we really had nothing to show for it.

The carpet cleaners *never* showed up.

$300 got us a terrible clean, a lousy experience, lots of wasted time and about 5 hours of us cleaning our house ourselves. If you like clean, and your money, I'd definitely look elsewhere - these guys are a joke.

Oh, and that note I sent regarding the lousy service? They didn't bother responding. Nor did I ever receive an invoice for the job. Stay away.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Issa,

I would like to apologies for the lousy experience you has with us. We never intended to rush through the move-out clean but we did have 3 cleaners there. As for the fridge the three of us cleaned it out in 10 mins because it was not bad! We removed all pieces and did a thorough cleaning. As for the hair on the floor in the bathroom you could have asked us to redo the bathroom floor when your wife and you went upstairs to look around. You wife even stated "The kitchen looks clean and so shiny"!
As for the carpet cleaning we do provide great quality cleaning but was our mistake for not showing up or even giving you a phone call.

Once again I sorry for all the inconvenience.

Samantha S.

Skinner in Calgary
Skinner in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
10/10

Dealfind Coupon's

Used these guys before; while moving out of a rental, pretty easy going guys. Then, we adopted a puppy in our new house, he quickly made a mess of the carpet. Saw coupons on Dealfind for $29 so I bought 2. They came back and fixed up the carpet which we thought was ruined. Pretty good deal!

Review has 1 previous version
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Skinner,

Thank you for the review and the business.

Samantha

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing pros in Calgary?