Empire Yard Services

Lawn Maintenance
HomeStars  >  Lawn Maintenance in Calgary  >  Empire Yard Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Empire Yard Services

Average customer rating:
3.3 10 (3 reviews)

Sort by

Mike B. from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB

Our Condo Complex has been dealing with Empire Yard Services for over one year. Their work has been generally adequate with problems identified and eventually corrected. We invited Empire Yards to bid on our business again, and after selecting them they refused to honour their commitment. Buyer beware....

Was this review helpful?
mary Baker from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB

Empire Yards did my spring cleaning in the past year, and were referred to me by a friend. They did an excellent job, cleaned up all my over-winter dog poop and took all the leaves, lawn thatch, and dog poop away for me. They were punctual, polite, and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful?
SLW from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB

First Review


Hired Empire Yard Services over the past couple of years to perform the duties of lawn maintenance and flower bed clean-up. In the past two years the work performed has been mediocre. Empire Yard Services came to perform Spring Maintenance and Flower Bed Clean-Up again in May of 2013 and when this company came and were present in our yard they "accidentally" damaged our trailer parked on our property. We called immediately one of the owners at Empire to address this issue. We provided proof via emails, photos and in writing. They refused to communicate and resolve the issue. When calling to try to discuss, I was yelled at. We tried to resolve professionally. They denied accountability and used speculative inferences. The only communication we received was in the form of a letter not wanting to resolve through discussion but rather offer and "insulting pittance" as a "good faith" offer. We refused as we did not create the damage.

As a result of this incident, changes in security measures are being implemented and no one will be given permission to enter our yard without someone present at all times.

The pattern of resolution seems consistent in reading other complaints. It would have been worth checking out prior to hiring this company and their "good faith" effort policy.

This company has demonstrated a lack of honesty and integrity. The situation was handled very unprofessionally. We do not recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This customer has used our services occasionally over the past couple of years primarily once a year for a Spring Clean Up. They have never complained about the service. We did respond promptly when the customer called. After some investigation it was determined that neither, our crew or, our equipment could not have caused the damage. This was explained to the customer during a telephone conversation.
Although we did not cause the damage, and it could have been caused from a number of sources, we did make a generous good will gesture to pay for half of the cost of repair. We have responded to the customer via email and mail several times with this offer and they have not accepted our offer.
Empire Yards has been in business since 1999 and has an A+ rating with the BBB.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.