Darlinghurst Construction

Interlocking Stone
Barrie ON L4M 4S4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Interlocking Stone in Barrie  >  Darlinghurst Construction
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

28%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Darlinghurst Construction

Average customer rating:
4.8 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Zibby in Kettleby
Zibby in Kettleby
1 review KETTLEBY, ON
0/10

Rubberrock patios

This is the worst contractor I have ever hired. I ordered a rubber rock patio surface on June 27th. I was told they would begin in 2 weeks. The first day they came back to start was the beginning of september. Their employee Peter came and started, worked for 2 hours, got 5% of the job done then promptly fell asleep in his work van. He returned 2 weeks later and got another small portion done. Three weeks later Chris shows up with 2 new employees and says Peter went to Alberta... A week later they almost finished the entire job and said they would come back in 3 days to finish a few minor things. At this point he requested to be paid in full to buy more "materials". This 2 weeks ago it's now oct 24. He's no where to be found and does not answer calls.

As for the product, it has turned yellow, has not been applied properly in certain areas and needs to be fixed. At this point we are thinking he's not coming back, we lost our whole summer of patio season. Had to barbecue on the lawn and my yard looks like a dump thanks to this company. Think twice before dealing with these yo yo's. Pathetic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
JT, Keswick
JT, Keswick
2 reviews Keswick, ON
0/10

Stoneworx on front porch

We were so excited when we came upon this product at a homeshow in Newmarket in the spring. Pete came out in May and we left a $918.75 deposit with him to have our front porch done. He guesstimated about 3 weeks. June came....then July.....and now August. After COUNTLESS phonecalls and emails (have a copy of them all), this "company" - and I use that term loosely- never came to complete the job and to date (Aug. 25th) has yet to return our deposit. The owner , Chris Willson, is the most pathetic person we have ever dealt with professionally. His excuses are endless...."it's too wet, it's too hot, my phone died, trouble with workers, etc..." Do yourself a favour and DO NOT HIRE this clown, actually you won't have to worry about hiring him because he NEVER answers the phone. My next resort is now having to go to court to file a complaint against him....again wasting my time. He's just a joke - I feel sorry for the people that work for him!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This year has been one of those years that either everything goes perfectly right, or everything goes terribly wrong.

One thing that can make things go wrong is the weather. This year was one of those summers that the weather just did not want to cooperate with what we had planned.

Unfortunately, this was one of those summer. Bad weather is not only difficult to work in but until our products actually fully cure, they will be rendered useless and will need be removed and relaid. Once they are cured they are virtually indestructible.

The deposit was returned in full as promised.

brad fleury in Barrie
brad fleury in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
9/10

Front Porch and Walkway

The wind blew it up before it had a chance to cure, dirt from the garden blew it up. They came and fixed it right away. Impressed with the service, and workmanship.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
chris james in Peterborough
chris james in Peterborough
1 review Peterborough, ON
10/10

stone flooring

I currently am living in Peterborough and I found Darlinghurst Construction through work that has been done by a friend of mine living in Barrie ontario. Anyways i had a stone floor put in that was absolutely incredible! A gentleman named peter baxter and his crew recreated my back yard by putting in a patio that also surrounds my pool. altogether around a 800 square foot job. Im so pleased with the outcome of the job, it brings my whole place to life! I always sing praises to darlinghurst construction to whomever comments on my backyard!

Thanks Pete! Thanks Darlinghurst!

Chris

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Chris, its always a pleasure to have a home owner praise our work. It was a pleasure to be of service.

Mary-Lou Marshall in Richmond hill
Mary-Lou Marshall in Richmond hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON

First Review

10/10

Cottage addition

The Darlinghurst crew were a great group of men working on this project. They are perfectionists and therefore the job took longer than anticipated. They have an eye for detail and make sure that you are right there all the way with this project so that the end result is exactly what you expected. Upon completion, we were more than pleased with the end result. I would never hestitate to recommend the workmanship of Darlinghurst Construction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mary Lou, we had a great time building your addition. I am very glad that everything went smoothly once we got through that bad weather spell. It is always a pleasure to be of service for you and yours.
Chris W.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.