Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd

Paving Contractors
1935 Albion Rd Toronto ON M9W 5S8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Paving Contractors
Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

alex.b
alex.b
5 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Driveway paving & interlocking

Three years ago Epic Paving has completed my Driveway paving and Interlocking.

The team used heavy pro equipment and work was completed quickly and neatly.

Now , three years after the job was completed, our Interlocking stone and driveway both look great!

I am very pleased with the work they did and would recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Alex...thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate it.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Driveway Reconstruction (Interlock and Asphalt)

We needed to replace our broken-down front-of-house asphalt driveway, part mutual drive shared with our neighbours (260 sq ft), and part our exclusive front yard parking (255 sq ft). We wanted to move to something more permeable and sustainable for the exclusive area, while sticking with new asphalt for the mutual drive. This somewhat complex job also had to match up with our neighbours' existing pavers in their exclusive area.

Of the several contractors we approached, Anthony was the most helpful at the bidding stage, directing us to Turfstone, which we eventually picked as the most practical "green" paver - and Epic's price was very competitive. Epic also accommodated several months' delay in actually starting, due to City permit requirements affected by COVID. Despite a mid-October start, plus one hiccup which Epic resolved satisfactorily, construction went smoothly and professionally with Anthony in regular communication. We and our neighbours are very happy with the finished product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience and we're so glad you are happy with the finished product!

Mano in Scarborough
Mano in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Repaving driveway and addition of interlock

I had wanted to repave my driveway and add accent interlocking to revitalize the front of our house, and Epic Paving brought that to life.Maurizio was very responsive to my ideas and broke down the pricing by element so we could pick and choose the option we really wanted. We decided to go ahead with the whole project. They were able to come within a few weeks of confirmation Bill and Lance and Jeff were there first thing in the morning on the day we had agreed to start. Anthony and Bill were in constant communication with me as the project continued and gave us their input witch was very positive to the outcome.We are extremely happy with the quality of work and what the end results is.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mano for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you are happy with the end result and that we were able to bring your vision to life. It was truly a pleasure. Thank you!

Nadene J, North York, ON in North York
Nadene J, North York, ON in North York
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Curb Appeal

What could we do to improve the appearance of the front of our home?! Our stairs were old and crumbling. Our retaining wall was leaning and our front 'landing' was a small, uneven and obstructed space that was really just a cobbling together of dated 16x16 patio stones. We needed to install new stairs, repave the driveway, create a functional patio space, regrade and re-sod the front lawn and replace the retaining wall.
We preferred to have one company for all the work in order to avoid having to coordinate with different trades ourselves. After a Google search and several quotes, Epic rose to the top of the list, providing a detailed and competitive estimate over and above the other companies we consulted with. It took a bit of time before our schedules meshed for a start date, but once the crew was ready, it was full steam ahead. Their crews (asphalt, masonry, etc) were professional and courteous. They worked skillfully and quickly. The end product is better than I had imagined, and we are so pleased with their work. Our neighbours can't stop complimenting us on the change and pleasing impact of the work we've had done. Curb appeal? Achieved!!!! One neighbour told me she hopes to be invited for tea some day soon on our lovely new front patio. Done and done!

*Thank you to Francesca for your timely responses to emails and voicemails, as well as for your professionalism, advice and patience in getting the details for our project just right.
*Thank you to Anthony, Salvi, Miguel and the rest of the site crew for bringing your best forward each day.

We would definitely recommend Epic Paving and Contracting Ltd. 10/10

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Nadene for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure working with you. Anthony & I as well as our entire team are pleased you are happy with the results.

Robert from Toronto
Robert from Toronto
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Resurfacing A Rear Laneway Driveway With Interlock Stone

Resurfacing my rear laneway driveway was the last step of a multi year plan to revitalize the rear area of my house. For the past couple of years, my parking pad has been comprised of compacted soil mixed with some gravel that my general contractor put down for me when they were constructing the rear addition. Every time it rained, I would have to be inconvenienced by getting mud on my shoes as I got into the car to drive to the office,or not being able to shovel the snow around the car during winter time.

Well enough is enough. This year, my plan was to hire a company to resurface it with three options: Concrete, Asphalt and Interlocking Stone. I started my research back in January here on Homestars and selected 3 companies I felt good about contacting after reading the reviews.

Of the three companies, Epic was the only company that replied and followed up promptly. My parking area is approximately 300 sq/ft and in an older downtown Toronto neighbourhood. From my past experiences of trying to obtain estimates for work on my house, a lot of companies will not respond due to the location (citing the difficulty in finding parking or the small contained space to stage & work) or the smaller scope of work.
This wasn’t the case with Epic. They assigned Giovanni, a project manager to help document my requirements and offer resurfacing options with associated estimates. Giovanni made arrangements to come visit the site and take measurements for a proper estimate. This was during the winter season when there was snow on the ground. I was impressed by the professionalism of Epic and how they value their (potential at the time) customers. After multiple discussions, I decided to go with interlock paving stones over asphalt and concrete. Giovanni understood that I was going for an old world Europe cobblestone look and referred me to their partner stone supplier’s catalogue (Bestway Stone) to select the right style of stone. Meanwhile, I shared project details and the positive engagement with Epic with my neighbour. He also had a mud & gravel parking pad and was interested in resurfacing it this year. Encouraged by my dealings with Epic, he also signed up to be part of this project.

As most of you know, it was an extremely wet spring with lots of rainfall. Giovanni was in touch with me almost on a weekly basis to share updates on their project schedule and a forecast of when my project would start. I read a lot of reviews here about project delays but I can’t see how any company has control over the inclement weather that we get here.

Giovanni gave us a heads up a week before when the work was slated to start on our driveways giving us ample time to make arrangements to find alternative parking for our cars and for some of our adjacent neighbours.

The crew completed both projects in a timely fashion (less than week) . They arrived early at the same time each day and worked very diligently through out the day. There were some unforeseen issues with my property as there was an old tree stump that eat up half the day to clear out to ensure we had enough depth. There was no complaints or extra charge for the effort.

The results speak for itself. Both my neighbour and I are very satisfied with our new driveways and the entire process with Epic was smooth.

Thanks to Giovanni, Anthony and the entire crew.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Robert

Thank you so much for the review. We pride ourselves on our workmanship and we try our hardest to work alongside every customer to achieve our end results. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope you enjoy your new area.

Kenneth Ross in Brampton
Kenneth Ross in Brampton
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Paving and interlocking

We were very impressed with professionalism of salesman/project leader, Anthony. Employees were polite and hard workers. Their workmanship was exceptional and greatly improved the front yard appearance. They did everything they said they would. They responded swiftly to our phone calls due to rain delay.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kenneth for taking the time to write this review. We really do appreciate it. I'm happy to hear that you're happy with the work & your experience with our company.

Eileen in Toronto
Eileen in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New asphalt driveway and interlock walkway

We contacted seven different companies when we started this job and received estimates from three of them - Anthony from Epic was the only one who took the time to listen, talk through our plans, make useful design suggestions, and give us a detailed written estimate that stayed within our stated budget. Work was completed quickly and neatly and the entire crew were pleasant and hard-working. Our new driveway and stone walkway both look great!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Eileen, thank you for the positive review. I'm glad the work was completed in a timely manner and to your satisfaction. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the work & the the stone walkway & driveway look great!!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Driveway and stone sidewalk

Although it took some time to get started after ordering, the work was done all at once, and the men worked efficiently, cooperatively and the result was amazing. I love my new sidewalk and ashphalt driveway.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

Good price, decent job.

I hired Epic Paving to do a job for me, went over the specifications with the Project Manager, what expectations there would be for the 3-part project: 1) Interlock the backyard and side walk way; 2) lay concrete for a new side walk way (which would connect to the interlock portion of the side walk way); and 3) lay concrete for a new retaining wall for another walkway leading to the veranda. The Project Manager and I went over next steps, paid a deposit, knowing the project would only get started Spring 2018.

Come spring, I had to chase the Project Manager down to get a date for when the project will get started only to hear about “weeks of delays”.

Part 1 of the project: Once the project began, the first red flag went up when they started laying down the bricks. Instead of what was agreed upon to lay the bricks right up to the property line, they chose to do a box situation “because it would look better”. However, the changes were made because it was easier on the labourers. The labourers laid bricks 7” away from the property line! That was part 1 of the project.

Part 2 of the project: This part was to raise the walkway, so you would take a step when entering the property from the sidewalk. This would also separate the walkway from my neighbour’s driveway. However, the Project Manager called me during the day saying for water reasons they could not make it a step anymore but a long ramp. So, now there are parts of the walk way that are flush with my neighbour’s driveway. (Note: One of my neighbour’s cars drove up the ramp within hours of the wood forming being removed from the project! That is how shortsighted the decision was.) The way they did this ramp doesn’t even push the water down either, the water actually pools at the first step into my side walk way. Three other issues with this job: 1) The top landing area of the ramp is crooked, where there is a curve into my property; 2) the end of the walkway onto the sidewalk was not properly shaved down; and 3) the workers broke the concrete on my driveway on both corners. This decision to remove the step, even though it was in our contract, sounded more like a cost savings one. Similar to how they didn’t even use metal rebar to ensure quality and longevity of their concrete pour.

Part 3 of the project: This part of the project was to remove the old wood retaining wall, as it was tipping over and no longer secure and replace it with a concrete retaining wall. I informed the Project Manager before we started the project that after you remove the wood there would also be 2 more feet of wood in the ground that will need to be removed, as this was holding up the home entrance walkway. He said that was common. However, on the day of the work, he complained that there was so much wood!! Seriously? In another call, the Project Manager said they were going to design the edges of the retaining wall to look similar to my other neighbour’s retaining wall. He made it sound like he was doing me a favour, “outside of the standard”, when that was what we first discussed before we started the project. After the concrete was laid for the retaining wall, a worker came by to reset the interlock bricks that was already at the home entrance; this should have been an easy puzzle because the stones would fit in the same spots they were in previously as the retaining wall did not expand from the previous dimensions, but I had to intervene as he was cutting stones in half to place in smaller spaces—it was mind boggling why he didn’t even consider using the already cut stones that already fit without cutting. Mind boggling! Nonetheless, this part actually ended up closer to vision than the first 2 parts. There is a slight curve on one end, so it is not straight, but this is not a big deal.

Up front, the job looks great, but there are these little nuances that make the job look unprofessional, as there was no on-site management; and, also, not following the agreed contract is why I rated this company poorly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I'm glad that the end product looks great as this is what truly matters at the end of the day. Sometimes, the initial discussions about a job do not translate to the existing site conditions & many times modifications/changes have to be made on site. This is the nature of construction work. I spoke with our project manager in detail about your job & he advised he was in constant communication with you & that all modifications were discussed and agreed upon. The reasons for the changes are all related to the site grading & elevations with existing neighbours which vary greatly over a very small area.
Your contract was signed in November of 2017 (near the end of our season) & was among the first projects started in the Spring. We had a very late start to the season due to the amount of spring rain & a late winter storm - we were not even operational until the end of April and your job was started on May 9th. You did not have to 'chase us down'.
We have not heard from you since the work was completed (the entire summer, fall & most of winter has gone by - if there are issues with the project you can call our office or the project manager - until this email we have not heard from you. As you can see from our past reviews, customer service and exceeding our customers exceptions is of upmost importance.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
7/10

Great work, but rescheduled multiple times

They did a good job repaving our asphalt driveway, however, the job was rescheduled multiples times over 2 months. I had to constantly chase for a confirmation date as to when they could a) excavate b) repave.

Workmanship was good. Scheduling was not.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you were satisfied with our workmanship as this is something we pride ourselves on. Quality of work at the end of the day it very important.
Unfortunately, scheduling is sometimes very difficult especially when you consider the very wet season we have had. Our apologies if scheduling was not in line with your expectations.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd

Welcome to Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd. Reputable, Reliable & Customer Focused! With more than 20 years of industry-specific experience, Epic Paving & Contracting Ltd. has provided commercial and residential property owners with professional resources in asphalt paving, interlocking, concrete and more. We’ve built a trusted reputation as one of the GTA’s most reliable construction companies.

***

See more at: www.epicpaving.ca

CATEGORIES
Paving Contractors and Interlocking Stone
SERVICES
Asphalt:Residential Driveways, Parking Lots, Walkways, Tennis Courts (Commercial, Residential, Industrial) Interlocking: Walkways, Patios, Retaining Walls, Flower Boxes Concrete: Walkways, Patio areas, porches, sidewalks, curbs
WEBSITE
http://epicpaving.ca
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
23
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.