Trail Appliances

Appliance Retailers
6880 11st SE Calgary AB T2H
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

58%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Trail Appliances

Average customer rating:
5.6 10 (181 reviews)

Sort by

Venkat Ch from Calgary
Venkat Ch from Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

New Home complete Appliances and Softener

We built a new house with Morrison Homes and Trail Appliances was our appliances partner. We had to choose the appliances with Trail appliances and was helped by Gordon. He is the most knowledgeable, calm and patient sales person you can ever meet. I have seen bad sales people and good sales people, but very rarely we meet exceptional and that is Gordon for sure. I do not even know how many times I bugged for changes, price matches and random questions. Every single question was answered patiently, I heard bad stories about sales people referred by builders do not care much about the customers as they are not real sale numbers.

Trail Appliances is a very decent store different than the big box stores and liked the pricing, service and responsiveness. We installed Kinetico Softener with Trail and the installer was prompt, quick and gave us enough details about the system.

i would definitely recommend Trail Appliances and thank Gordon for helping us out.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello
Thank you so much for your kind review, we will be sure to share your comments with Gordon. Congratulations on your new home, we wish you much happiness in the years to come and if we can be of further assistance please give us a call.
587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia

Alison in Okotoks
Alison in Okotoks
1 review Okotoks, AB
10/10

Refridgerator delivery

We purchased a floor model fridge and had it delivered within 3 days. Upon arrival the bottom drawer had incurred rubbed damage. I was in touch with Sales Consultant, B. Stevens. Through a brief conversation and cell pics, B Stevens brought this to the Manager and we received a NEW fridge in replacement. Tremendous service! It was replaced with one week. We couldn't be happier! THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Allson
Thank you very much for the great review. Sometimes things do not go as smoothly as we would like, which is what happened in your situation - this was why we had to make it right! Enjoy your new fridge and be sure to stop by and see us again soon.
587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia

igwehi in Airdrie
igwehi in Airdrie
1 review Airdrie, AB
0/10

Terrible attitude, bad applicances

It's very sad that our builder, Slokkerwest, uses a company with such poor customer service. We had an issue with our appliances and the builder spoke to the technicians. Sadly, he came with a really terrible attitude. My husband is a very calm person under pressure, but yet, this technician was raising his voice at him.
The problem? Our dishwasher is horrible, putting it mildly. It doesn't wash clean, doesn't dry and the water with all the calcium, stays on, white and ugly. We use a certain type of dishwashing soap that we have used for years with our other dishwashers and it comes highly recommended. The technician came demanding (yes, demanding) that we use finish dishwashing soap for our dishwasher. We were only explaining to him that we had used this soap on other washers with no problems, and that change is good but why a certain type of soap? His response (not quoting verbatim) was that if we didn't want to listen to him, it was our business. I was shocked, as all we had asked him (after listening to him) was whether it was compulsory that we only needed to use ONE type of soap, and his tempers flared. I'm glad he couldn't say the same for the terrible washing machine we were given, as he saw 5 different kinds of premium washing liquid bottles, all unfinished, in our washing room, yet the appliance was not working. I had to tell him 'No need to yell. We are not arguing. We come in peace'. I am certain he will do the same thing to another customer. We'll talk to our builders and we hope they replace these appliances which by the way are only over 3 months old. I won't advise anyone to get appliances from Trail. And even if the appliances were OK, the customer service (as exemplified by the service tech we saw yesterday) isn't!
Update: This Update is written after the company response below.
We have called Trail appliances a second time after we used the 'FINISH' dishwasher and a rinse aid. The dishes do not come out clean, except of course if they went in clean. The rinse aid dries the dirty water onto the dishes. The technician from Trail wrote in his report that the unit is working properly! He did not even take a second look at it when we were showing him how the dishes look. How could he possibly conclude that the unit was working properly? No checks for water pressure, or to see if enough water is going in, or something...
By the way, there is a rubber flap coming down from the dishwasher and this shows that something has not been properly installed as in the picture. But no, they won't agree that anything is wrong with their installation.
My husband has called them a second time and they redirected us to Samsung, who have re-directed us back to Trail. We will follow to see where this leads!

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking our call today to discuss your concerns and work towards resolutions, please feel free to contact us again if you have any further questions
587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia

CDD in Calgary
CDD in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Maintenance

We bought a full set of “high end” appliances from trail two years ago. Since then the microwave has failed twice, the fridge once and dishwasher once. The warranty service has taken weeks and in some instances months to get these issues addressed. They over book their repair people and have no interest in getting our work done. Very disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Update June 18/2018
Dale & Danielle
Thank you so much for reaching out to us and allowing us to work towards a resolution for you. We have the Dishwasher and Microwave service booked to be completed on June 21 2018
________________

Hello
We would like to take a look into your concerns regarding your microwave, fridge & dishwasher service to see how we can help and look towards resolutions for you. Please reach out to us directly at 587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia

emily in Calgary
emily in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

hot water tank replace

We hired the trail Appliances to replace the hot water tank 2 weeks ago, the cost was around $1000. after then, we can't take the shower. because sometimes when you were taking the shower, the hot water stopped,only cold water. sometimes no cold water, only hot water. we have two hot water tanks, one was replaced last year and another one was replaced two weeks ago by the trail appliance. we can't trust this company any more.

it is very horrible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Emily,
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or frustration you may be experiencing regarding the hot water tank you purchased from our Trail Appliances Calgary South location. We understand there is an appointment booked for June 13/2018 for us to assess what is happening and we hope to resolve any issues at that time. Please feel free to contact us directly at 587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia

Murray in Calgary
Murray in Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Install Water Softener Kinetico Model 650

Simple and effective. Scheduled, showed up on time, installed on time, with minimal disruption to the house water supply, and the system works great. The folks left the area clean, and put down pads to get through the house and left access areas clean as well. They took the time to explain the simple regular maintenance required, as well as the operating modes. This is the way any mechanical work should be done in your home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Murray,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Kinetico purchase & installation experience from our Trail Appliances, Calgary South location. We are so pleased to hear your experience with Trail Appliances was so great. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is anything we can do to further your experience, please don’t hesitate to contact us at 587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia.

ojwhistler in Whistler
ojwhistler in Whistler
1 review Whistler, BC
1/10

Fisher Pykal double door dishwasher

Bought the dishwasher brand-new. Its control panel did not work for the bottom drawer. Trail sent a repairman - it took two visits??? That's two days off of work, missed dollars to fix a new dishwasher. Mgr Dave called - didn't really care as he said it will be fixed. Said he would email - he didn't - no service, no compensation! don't buy from them!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or frustration you experienced in regards to your new dishwasher you purchased from Trail Appliances. Your input and feedback is vitally important to us and we always want customer expectations to be met when dealing with our stores. To better understand the issue please feel free to reach out to us directly at 587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia.

Rachel in Calgary
Rachel in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

lemon microwave

Long story short, they like to waste time fixing lemons and trying to charge you for labor despite having it under warranty. Luckily we have an extended warranty. They've had our microwave for 3 out of the 14 months we've owned it! Yes 3 MONTHS in total, 3 different service calls!!!! its absurd. We will never buy appliance from there again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Rachel,
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or frustration you have experienced in regards to your Microwave you purchased from Trail Appliances. Your input and feedback is vitally important to us, to better understand the issue feel free to reach out to us directly at 587-349-7530 Shauna or 403-212-8548 Patricia.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Okotoks, AB
0/10

Fridge not installed and damaging cabinetry

A year and a half ago we built a home with Sterling where we were expected to use Trail Appliances to purchase our appliances.

We met with a sales person names Jennifer B. We found a fridge that we liked and asked Jennifer if it would be possible to have the fridge installed without the top grate (it's a side by side fridge and freezer). Upon moving in, our fridge kept sliding out and wasn't even. It was eating at the cabinets on the side of the fridge from the movement. We had Trail Appliances out three times to try to fix it and it was never any better. Finally, a third company came out to look at our fridge. We were informed that they had failed to use ANY of the installation pieces on our fridge/freezer. It wasn't actually installed AT ALL. When we contacted Sterling Homes AND Jennifer about this, we were told that they would give us the installation kit but would not install it for us. I couldn't figure out why they wouldn't provide this service to us since it was missed initially and then realized that the installation kit would not fit on the fridge/freezer with our current cabinet dimensions. They would have to replace the cabinets as well. Neither Trail Applainces (Jennifer B) or Sterling Homes would take responsibility for this mistake. We are not going to have to either pursue small claims court or pay for the installation of the fridge AND the cabinet modifications ourselves and we will be out thousands of dollars. I am LIVID with the blatant lack of responsibility for this mistake that was made by Jennifer B and Trail Appliances. I will NEVER purchase an appliance from them again CANNOT recommend Trail Appliances due to the terrible customer care post-purchase.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear about how unhappy this customer has been regarding the appliances they purchased from our Trail Appliances Calgary South location.
Following is a review of the customer file after receiving this complaint.

Customer came in and met with their salesperson and made their appliance selection based on their requirements and preference.

Customer selected a Frigidaire All Fridge (Model # FPRU19F8RF) & a Frigidaire All Freezer (Model # FPFU19F8RF) and were delivered out approx. Oct 2016. Frigidaire offers a optional trim kit at approx. $400.00 (additional cost for install was $200.00) for these units to give the allusion of being built in, the customer was offered this option at time of selection and chose to not purchase the trim kit – they expressed a concern about loss of cabinet space by having a trim kit installed and the cabinet space was what they preferred to have. After the customer made their selections - the specs for the appliances were sent to the builder to arrange the correct spacing for the cabinets - the customer had to sign off on this before it could proceed..
The Frigidaire All Fridge and Freezer are stand alone units and were installed to the specs as per the manufacture guidelines.
Customer has raised some concerns about the install of the units but has been told they are as per installation instructions. Customer was not pleased with this response – therefore their builder offered to cover the cost of the optional trim kit in order to appease the customer but the customer has refused. It has been over 1 ½ years since possession of their new home which is why the builder nor Trail Appliances will not cover the install of the trim kit or the possible alteration of the cabinets as it was not a builder or Trail appliance error.
If the customer had purchased the trim kit at the time of appliance selection there would be no need to alter the cabinets now. Trail Appliances position is the customer made their selection and opted not to go with the optional trim kit which was their choice. The customer has been offered a free trim kit and has failed to accept the generous offer of their builder. It is unfortunate the customer feels that Trail Appliances has terrible customer care post purchase, but in the end it was their own selection that determined the final product in their new home.
Suggested resolution:
The customer’s builder has covered the cost of the Trim kit. They have requested the customer to sign a addendum in agreement for this offer.
Once the builder has a signed copy of the addendum – they will have the Trim kit delivered to the customer

Ondrej in Vancouver
Ondrej in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
0/10

Stay away!!

They will sell you something they don't have and then not deliver as agreed. after the agreed time passed, they are not even able to tell when it will be available. all they tell me someone will call be back. nobody calls back. seriously, shop somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Trail Appliances

Trail Appliances offers Western Canada’s largest selection of home and kitchen appliances. Experience the Trail Difference with our expert sales staff and unparalleled customer service today! Calgary North, Calgary South, Calgary Central, Edmonton South , Edmonton North and Saskatoon.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Retailers pros in Calgary?