A McKenna Plumbing of Oakville

Plumbing
OAKVILLE ON L6M5A3
HomeStars  >  Plumbing in Oakville  >  A McKenna Plumbing of Oakville
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
84%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Quote Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
3
0
2

Reviews for A McKenna Plumbing of Oakville

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (94 reviews)

Sort by

Patrick in West Oak Trails (Oakville)
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

He was quick, knowledgable and on time. I am very happy with his work...and if needed, will happily use him again. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company. Changed out our old 'builder toilet' to a fantastic new upgraded one and left everything neat and tidy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your nice comments

Private User
2 reviews Oakville, ON
4/10

They did what they were asked to do. Unfortunately, someone else suggested to me what needed to be changed and I asked them to change that part. The plumbers went ahead and changed the part as I asked them to. I wish they had first done an assessment of the problem to ensure that what I was told was in fact the problem. I wanted the part that they had taken off but they took it with them. Had some issues with the cost and follow up.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As the review stated above. We Did What We Were Asked. Order in a part that the customer specified. Installed it as asked. The problem was not fixed with her boiler. Her heating guy suggested for a plumber to install the valve. the customer then asked for her money back. We had to order the part in. She also suggested we should charge $35 per hour like her old plumber. We later refunded her part of her money back to settle the issue, we then received this review. Totally unfair.

Dr Ghazzal in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

My old kitchen sink got damaged. We called them to fixed the problem. They were very efficient. They came on time and finished the work on time. The workmen ship was excellent. We Will call them again to change our facet because our facet is old too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review

Vivienne  in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

I had Bought a new faucet and needed it installed. So I called A.Mckenna Plumbing as I have heard good things about this company. Plumbers showed up and were very prompt with the install. Dealt with Mark Mckenna and his apprentice. Clean and professional company!

Invoice # 1532
11/29/16

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review

Private User
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Awful experience The two guys are after your money they are not there to help you but just to charge you max$$$.
Had to flip over the toilet myself to find that there was no crack and evidence of leakage. They were planning to charge me over $600

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Customers toilet was leaking at the base. The customer was advise the toilet was old and time to replace. Customer was told she could provide a toilet or we could if she was not able. No one tried to sell her anything. The customer was quoted $449 for a new toilet, Supply and Install. Sometimes old product is just not fixable.

Bruce MacKay from Oakville
2 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

This is my fourth time using Mark's company. After a telephone consultation with a staff member, Mark and his assistant came by next day on time and efficiently replaced an aged, leaking builder unit with a nice new American Standard unit which looks and work great. Thanks again guys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Bruce

Precision Blades in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

A McKenna Plumbing installed a new faucet in my bathroom at my home and install a backflow preventer at my place of business. this is the fifth time using their service. Both calls were on time and the pricing was fair as always. I like these guys because they are local Oakville boys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks guys

tammy in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

We had blocked drain and laundry room got flooded. We called A. McKenna Plumbing and two men came. By the time they came, water had receded. They turned on water in the washroom next to the laundry room and the kitchen sink for about 10 minutes, and watched the water level in the laundry room drain. They did not use any camera to examine the drain to see what the problem was. They simply concluded that there was no blockage since the water level was not rising. He told me that it was water from outside since we had lots of rain two days before even after I told him that I used laundry room the day before. After running water for 10 minutes, and we got charged $224.87. He did offer though, that if same thing happen again, give him a call and he will take off 50% for the service call. I really was not satisfied with the answer that he gave me. Luckily we had so much rain right next day. It was pouring down all through the night, and since he said the flooding was caused by the rain from outside, we watched it very closely. We even woke up in the middle of the night to check on the laundry room - which was nice and dry!! Since it was proved that he was "guessing" the answer and felt totally ripped off, we called another company. They came with camera and quickly diagnosed the problem and figured out that the problem was tree root blocking the cracked pipe. They used a snake to pull out a huge chunk of tree root and unblocked the pipe.
Turn on some faucets for ten minutes, guess the problem, give totally wrong information to customer and charge $224.87 is just wrong in my opinion.
I felt like the first company totally could have and should have figured out the problem if they had spent little time. I do not recommend these guys for any drainage troubleshooting. Big waste of money.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had to put additional note. A McKenna Plumbing is confused me with someone else. We never called them twice. We only called them once, and they came, and told me that there was no blockage and the flooding was due to rain that we had two days ago although we told them that I used washing machine the day after rain. What second invoice? If you did not do a good job, and totally missed the problem, and charged us $224.87, at least own that instead of not telling the truth, like we called you guys twice and you highlighted camera inspection. I only saw plumbers on March 30th, and that was it. It is not right that you are saying that you came twice posting stuff that never happened when you get negative review.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Additional Note:
You claimed that plumbers were here two months ago. You have my address since I called you on Mar. 30th and you showed up on that day. Where is your proof that you were here two months ago for 1.5 hours and how much did you charge and what job did you do here? You should have invoice with my address on it if you actually came here. We never had plumbing issue and we never called you before. You should not make things up just because you got negative review. If these things happened to us two months ago, and you did not solve it somehow, why would we give you guys a call again and why would you make an assumption again if it was actually second time that you were visiting? Also, what makes you think that it is fine to make an assumption when we are paying service call, and come again for 50% less when flooding happen in the future, that would cause us to pay almost $400 vs. do camera inspection in the first place and charge us $300. This is simple. You did not find out what caused the flooding, told us that it was due to rain water, and there was no blockage in our pipe. Other plumbing company came and found out there was blockage and fix it. Stop blaming the customer, and please stop with any retribution for my honest review. You said you came here two months ago for 1.5 hours, you "believe" you were speaking about the right client , but not sure entirely because the review is written anonymously???? Why don't you try to match my address and the address with the person who you "believe" who wrote the review anonymously.

Review has 1 previous version
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for producing this invoice. Our records show that invoice was for a drain inspection call to check your drains. At the time of your service call there was no blockage or backup as stated in the above comments. If the drain would have been blocked we would have snaked and used a camera. That why we offer 50% back, if the drain backs up again. We are a fair and reasonable Company and would never leave a customer hanging. There once was a time a customer would call us to discuss any issues they may have had.
It's too bad you feel the need to write 4 paragraphs about our Character when all it took was a simple phone call.

Private User
5 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

I called A McKenna Plumbing around 12:15 asking for service. At 2pm Bob was at my door. The repair was done promptly and everything was left clean. He provided me with valuable information for the future and advice on how to avoid the issue again. I have to say that this was the 2nd time I had the problem, which was fixed by someone else before, but without the very important information that would keep it from happening again.
I am very pleased with the service I have received. Bob was friendly, forthcoming and worked fast. I would not hesitate to use this company's service again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good to hear all went well

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A McKenna Plumbing of Oakville

Hello, My name is Mark Mckenna owner of A Mckenna Plumbing Ltd. Since 2001 I have been serving Oakville and surrounding area. When I first started this business I was very worried that I would not be able to compete with the larger Franchised Plumbing Companies. Over the last 10 years we have been able to build a large loyal following of customers, most of whom I know personaly. I believe this success is largly due to the fact that we are a Family run business and all who work here share the same goals. To serve our customers with technical skill that is so hard to find these days.

I personaly answer every Plumbing call that we get to insure you get the service you require. Please feel free to call and try our services.

CATEGORIES
Plumbing
PRODUCTS
All Plumbing Products and Services
SERVICES
Plumbing Services Residential and Commercial
BRANDS
Kohler,Moen, Delta,Toto,Mirolin,American Standard
SPECIALITIES
Plumbing Service
WEBSITE
http://www.plumbingoakville.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
8
RETURN POLICY
Cheque,Cash, Visa, Master Card, Debit
PAYMENT METHOD
All Employes are Licienced Plumbers and carry there credentials at all times
LICENSES
Master Licience, Backflow, Water Meter
MEMBERSHIPS
Toronto Home Builders
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Master Plumbing
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime on all underground work
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.