Harris Plumbing

Plumbing
Barrie ON L4M 5K2
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Plumbing
Harris Plumbing
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Harris Plumbing

Average customer rating:
9 10 (206 reviews)

Sort by

Pump
Pump
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Install sump pump

Great service
Dillan explained what he was doing and answered my many questions.
They are great people to deal with and if you have any problem they
Get back to you. Immediately

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen sink drain repair

Terry came out to repair my kitchen sink drain quickly, efficiently, and at a reasonable price. Great service!

Approximate cost of services:
$340.00
Was this review helpful?
Jodi
Jodi
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Toilet, sink, vanity replacement, adding shut off valves

Called Harris Plumbing as I needed shut off valves under sinks as I was planning on some bathroom fixture replacements. Terry came in and installed the shut off valves with ease.

John and Matt came back later in the month and removed and replaced toilets, sinks and vanities - and dealt with a couple of hiccups graciously and with patience ( I had the wrong faucet for the sink and one toilet was cracked) while I got the right items for them to finish their jobs. All three Terry, John and Matt take great pride in the work and no matter what happens they have a smile on their face. I was always kept informed of what is happening at each step.

Any one looking for plumbing work, big small or emergency basis, Harris Plumbing is the way to go.

Thank-you so very much.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
cb in Thetford Mines
cb in Thetford Mines
0 reviews Port Severn, ON
0/10

Replace filter screen on foot valve for cottage waterline

Screen fell off our perfectly functioning cottage water line foot valve. My elderly sister called and was told the foot valve (not just the missing screen). Unfortunately she only spoke to me after the work was done. The ridiculously high cost was almost exclusively for travel time. My sister should have been told by the company that this was a simple fix (like replacing a tap washer) and she should have been referred to a closer local plumber if she could not get a family member to make the simple fix by replacing the screen. I checked with a local plumber who said at most the cost should have been a $200 to $300. I spoke with a supervisor to request a fee adjustment and was just told the charge is a standard company charge for replacing a foot valve. Very poor client service.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I believe you have the wrong company here... we do not service Thetford Mines. If in fact your sister is in our service territory and you are not, perhaps you could identify her here so that we can properly investigate the circumstances of the service call. (and it is nothing like replacing a tap washer btw)
Update: it is now 2023 and we have never heard back from this person regarding an attempt to investigate his comments. We maintain that Harris Plumbing does not service the area he is mentioning and never have. Without further information from him proving that we actually did this work, we cannot provide any solution or comments.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Washago, ON
0/10

Install new jet pump for cottage water system

Seven weeks to get app't and work done. No detailed disclosure of cost up front or on completion. The average cost of new pump is $650, so how do we end up at $2500. This should have been a 3/4 hr job - took 8. Terrible service, terrible project mgmnt, outrageous pricing.
The Home Stars endorsement was a factor in my call to these people.
R.H.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,508.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Roger, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have reviewed your file and checked into the details that you have provided in your review and it seems we did get upfront approval for the pricing as you signed off before the work began and signed off again upon completion of the work.
As for the amount of time the work took, you should be pleased to know that we actually don't charge per hour, but by job. Regardless of how long the work took you would have been charged the same whether it was only 3 hours, or the full 8. As we do this type of work very frequently, we are aware that this work may take a full day which is why your call was booked accordingly with an 8 hour slot.
As for the pricing, we are sorry you don't see the value in the work we performed. Our plumbers go through extensive training and schooling to gain the knowledge and expertise in order to diagnose and provide the required services. The pricing that we provide not only includes the cost for the equipment, as well as the installation and everything it entails (specific example, removing other galvanized fittings on your old pump), but also the warranty we provide, and a portion of our overhead costs to continue to provide the unequivocal service that we do, and have since 1974.
The plumber who attended also offered our Advantage Plan to you, to extend any warranties and provide a discounted rate for service, and you had declined. The attending plumber also included the new gauge and brass plug at no charge to you. You were notified that the valve between the pump and pressure tank had a blown seal in it that could have lead to further problems and the plumber removed them for you at no charge.

We trust the above meets with your approval, but please reach out if you have any further inquiries or feedback.

Thank you,
Ashley Copeland
Office Manager

Paul Roberts
Paul Roberts
0 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Replace kitchen faucet, fix toilet leak, advised on pot stove faucet drip, advise on bathroom reno

Their Employee arrived shortly after the scheduled time of noon to 2:00 pm. We reviewed the existing kitchen faucet that had leaked and the water lines to it were turned off. He noticed the person putting on the existing faucet put a plate on the counter which did not require it to be used due to the design. He advised part way through the faucet had been leaking for a while as the threads were rusted which he required a sawzall to remove it. It took little time to complete the task.
We then looked at a toilet that continually fills up the tank as the water seems to go down frequently. He advised the water level was too high which he adjusted.
The pot filler faucet above the stove continually drips. He advised to contact Delta customer service as it appears to be one unit.
We then discussed our existing main bathroom which we are planning to renovate this fall. I advised I wanted the oversized jet tub be removed (was installed prior to us purchasing the house), and the toilet moved about a foot to facilitate a larger vanity. He advised they will do all the plumbing and a contractor (who we have used for years) will do other renovation; drywall, vanity etc.
Ryan was professional, polite, listened to me before responding and did it layman language. Very happy with the service and will use them for the bathroom renovation this fall.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Shawn in Toronto
Shawn in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Leaky shut off valves

Great service from reception to plumbing technician. Roy was so polite very extremely knowledgeable. I felt like he was looking after his own resistance. Such a awesome feeling of having a trade come into your house and feel so good about the skill level and honesty. I would recommend harris plumbing to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Shawn, thank you so very much for this great 10 star review about your experience with our team here at Harris Plumbing. Roy, and the rest of our fantastic team are top notch when it comes to honest, professional service and their technical skills are unmatched. Thanks for recommending us!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen Sink Plumbing

Wonderful and friendly service - on time, professional and honest. We will continue to work with this company for years to come.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your 10 star review of your experience with us here at Harris Plumbing. We appreciate your ongoing business.

Ed
Ed
1 review Barrie, ON
9/10

Water rank

Very professional and clean.
Any project they have done in my house has always been excellent. They treat your house as if they were working on their own.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ed and thank you for your wonderful 9 star review of your experience with us here at Harris Plumbing, on our HomeStars page. We certainly appreciate your ongoing business and your loyalty. Our goal is always to provide an outstanding experience for our clients overall. As we are always looking for ways to bring more to our client's table, may we ask how we could have earned a 10 star rating from you? If you are so inclined, please contact us for your valuable feedback. Thanks so much Ed!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harris Plumbing

Harris Plumbing's Mission: "To serve our communities with passion, integrity, and expertise, consistently exceeding expectations and providing peace of mind for all your plumbing needs. " Proudly providing world-class client services and a full suite of high quality plumbing products and services to residences, businesses and industry in Newmarket and ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Keswick?