HomeStars  >  Plumbing in Newmarket  >  Harris Plumbing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
84%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Quote Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
10
0
3

Reviews for Harris Plumbing

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (50 reviews)

Sort by

Jeff in Scarborough
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Mike came to my house in the spring to look into water temperature issues. He had already installed a water softener and did some other plumbing repairs in the winter and I was more than happy to enlist his services again. He was willing and able to trouble shoot issues I was having related to a solar preheat hot water system that was installed by a "solar tech" that was not functioning and the solar guy had no clue how to resolve it. Harris plumbing is very reliable. They always notify you when the tech is either on his way or may be delayed due to another job going longer than expected. They are and Mike in particular a very solid business and I would recommend them to anyone asking for plumbing services.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Jeff and Happy First Day of Summer to you! Thank you so much for your Homestars review of our company and our workmanship... we appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to do this. Our singular goal as a team here at Harris Plumbing is to raise the bar on plumbing service in general and to WOW our customers with our knowledge, workmanship and service level. We very much appreciate your business ~ thank you again.

Sarah
3 reviews Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

This is the 3rd time I have had Harris Plumbing come by for different plumbing issues. Each time they have be courteous, on time, honest and a pleasure to deal with.

I highly recommend this company.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sarah! It was a pleasure to assist you once again with your home plumbing needs. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post this review of our plumbing services.. we sure appreciate that.
Take care Sarah, your friends at Harris Plumbing

rustytrucker in Barrie
1 review Innisfil, ON
10/10

I have had Harris Plumbing out to my (new to me) house in Innisfil on 2 separate occasions and I have the utmost praise for their professional attitude and workmanship. I felt very comfortable asking questions that some plumbers might have thought were foolish but your staff had no problems giving me an answer. I will definitely be calling Harris Plumbing for any plumbing issues in the future. Russell Tripp.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Russell! Thanks so much for your kind words! We feel it's so important to advise our customers about their home's plumbing systems and how we help. This way they may be aware of issues before they become critical and cause damage. We all work very hard to ensure our first-time customers become repeat customers. It was a complete pleasure working for you and we appreciate your long-term business - and your testimonial!

Dave H. in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

We called to have our regular problem, plugged main line snaked like we require ever 16-18 months from other regular plumbers. Harris showed up and snaked the line and tested to see if the water was draining. The water started flowing again. Thanks where things were different. All other plumbers would have left at this point. Harris Plumbing said the water wasn't flowing properly yet and snaked again with even more line. Long story short, they did not leave until the job was completed properly. They may not be the cheapest, but they complete the job properly. Thanks Dave H.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dave and thank you so much for taking the time to post this review of your experience with Harris Plumbing. And thanks too for pointing out that we are different from other plumbers. Our motto "The Plumbers YOU Can Count On!" is our mandate and we love a challenge. Sometimes doing the job right takes longer and that can cost more but we will always do whatever it takes to make our customer happy. Thanks for your business.

JB
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

When we arrived at our cottage in Tiny Township on a Saturday, the water would not work. We waited for the line to thaw. By noon we realized that it was more than a frozen water line. We called Harris Plumbing and Jeremy arrived about 3 pm. (He had called and said that he would be there between 3 and 3:30 pm.) He diagnosed the situation. Our pump had frozen and cracked. Jeremy had to return to Barrie to get the parts required to replace the pump. He arrived at 8 pm and proceeded to work on the pump until midnight so that we could have water. Thank you Jeremy! The next day, we noticed a leak in the pump and called again. Jeremy arrived around noon and tightened the clamps and the leaking stopped. We are very pleased with the service. We would highly recommend Harris Plumbing.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi JB and thanks so much for your kind comments. Yes Jeremy is like a "pump ninja"! Like all our plumbers, he won't give up until the customer is happy. I'll forward your thanks to him for sure and thanks for recommending us to your friends and neighbors. Have a wonderful cottage season!

Rosanna in Newmarket
3 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Jamie from Harris showed up on time, was courteous and respectful. Most importantly he persevered to deal with a valve that had seized which happened to be located in a tiny work space making it a challenge to get at. He took the time to explain and show me evidence as he proceeded to correct the issue. Considering the challenges he was timely in resolving the issue. When he was done he tidied up leaving no mess behind. I was very pleased with the service and the outcome.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Rosanna, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We strive for excellence with every call.. some are more challenging than others but every customer is worth 110% of our effort. We're happy that we made your smile!

Blake
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Required removal and replacement of piping on kitchen for home remodel. Super efficient and quality service

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Blake, thanks! We appreciate your review of your experience with Harris Plumbing - Barrie office. Thanks for your business and Happy Spring to you and Jen!

Sandy from Aurora
2 reviews Aurora, ON
0/10

First used Harris to replace kitchen faucet and were also sold a membership plan to reduce cost of future service calls and provide annual inspection. Had to get them back in when faucet soon became loose and asked for pop up drain to be repaired for a bathroom sink and shower diverter to be replaced. Kitchen faucet fixed but we were charged for it when should have been warranty (fought to get that corrected), ended up repairing pop up ourselves afterwards when plumber just focused on a question of possibly changing the sink, and had to order parts ourselves for the shower. Plumber sold us a drain declogger for $65. At this junction, lots of money put in and very little benefit. Decided to cut our losses until Harris contacted us about our "free" inspection. Booked it for today because we have piece for shower to be fixed and have another faucet for repair and thought we would give it a try based on service call being free because of the inspection. My sister also had problems with Harris in Barrie so we told reception that we were due to be impressed by them and she agreed that they needed to do better. Here I sit at 5:30 p.m. after waiting for a noon to two time frame appointment. Harris called to say plumber was delayed and could he come between 3-5:00. We thought it meant that was the time he would be doing his work, but a further call back to Harris we found this was arrival time. Really not ideal to start a job on a friday evening but we had already given up the day and didn't want to delay any longer. So here we are..... after 5:30 and no sign of a plumber from Harris. Time to cut our losses. What a disappointment this company has been

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sandra, firstly would like to sincerely apologize for your inconvenience on Friday. Yes your plumber was detained at his first job as was explained to you. That could not be helped as it was a critical job he could not leave until finished. He was not 100% sure how long he would be. We did notify you of the delays and you agreed to wait. This is not a common occurrence.

There is a lot to address here and I will do my best...
In 2015 our technician Mike wrote in his debrief:
"I fastened down the kitchen faucet and also inspected the lavatory sink and tub spout on the second floor. Mr. W. wants the white under-mount sink replaced so there's no point in changing the mechanical pop up at this time. I will be getting him a quote on that asap.
In regards to the tub spout he will be calling Moen to see if they will replace it for him."
Please note: When Moen is involved in a warranty claim, they will only provide free parts when the customer calls them directly. A plumbing contractor cannot order warranty parts for a customer. Our hands are tied with that however we are a fully licensed Moen contractor.
The warranty charge was reversed as soon as it was brought to our attention that our tech had charged it in error.

When your husband asked about replacing the sink altogether, I'm sure that Mike was thinking that if that were to happen soon, he could save you some money by not repairing the pop-up in the old sink.

The drain de-clogger you refer to is "BioSmart". This is an amazing product that we have people coming in our front door every week to buy. It is plumbing-safe, eco-friendly and most importantly it works. If you had slow drains this was a very smart purchase. Regular use can prevent expensive emergency drain calls. We recommend it to all our clients however they still have to choose to buy it ($52.34 & hst).

We contact all our clients immediately after each service call for feedback. If you could give me your sister's name I would like to check to see if she was specific on our Happy Call about her experience and address it if I can.

Fast-forward to last Friday...we arrived at 5:49 with hat in hand. Yes quite late but prepared to provide you with impeccable service. Again we apologize for the delay - it was certainly not intentional. We hope that you will provide us another chance sometime in the future to prove we are worthy of your business.

Private User
1 review Simcoe County, ON
0/10

Very expensive to use, that's a personal choice, thought the service would come with it. They changed a shut-off valve in my house which ended up leaking overnight, damaged kitchen cabinets. I had to call them 3-4 times for service and repair, they were not proactive in accepting responsibility and taking charge in repairing the damaged that is going to cost them 3 times what I paid them. They are simply waiting for the problem to go away. Very disappointed. Basically, once they are paid the service stopped. Unfortunately, I will never use them again. Problem is still unresolved after 3 full weeks.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Mr. G, we are very sorry you feel disappointed. We are extremely regretful about the matter and have trained on it with our entire staff. To date we have had 3 technicians out to your home, the last one being a team manager to assess the damage and plan the repair. In business for over 40 years, we always have and always will stand by our work and our mistakes and make them right. We are not waiting for this to go away.. As of writing this note we are scheduled to provide the repair this Friday. It is my understanding that you are aware of this appointment. The cost to us of the repair is not important - your faith in us is. Again though, please accept our apologies for the delay.

Private User
1 review Utopia, ON
10/10

We had an issue with insufficient water pressure and called Harris Plumbing. Jeremy was prompt, and immediately identified the problem as the control box. He explained what he was doing, and why. After replacing the control box he was also able to replace a junction in the Pipe from our well that had been leaking for quite some time.While we had not used Harris Plumbing in the past, we will not hesitate calling them in the future. I would definitely recommend them

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Colin! Firstly thank you so much for posting our review of your experience with Harris Plumbing on HomeStars! We continually strive as a total team to provide the very best service we can. We're very happy that you are pleased. The very best recommendation is one that brings us more great customers like you...so thanks again!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harris Plumbing

Harris Plumbing family owned and operated since 1974, we offer a complete suite of residential, cottage and commercial plumbing services that really "raise the bar" in Newmarket, Aurora, Barrie, Huntsville and everywhere in between. We are 100% focused on Customer Satisfaction. To us those are not simply words. Your call is always answered by a real person - any day or night even on holidays. Our technicians are hand-picked - uniformed, drug free, highly trained, in fully stocked reliable trucks. This saves you time and money.

24/7 emergency services plus complete bathroom and laundry renovations throughout York Region, Simcoe County and Muskoka. Professional, reliable services by licensed, local and insured craftsmen, we take pride in our work and will always respect your home, cottage and property.

Drain clearing and camera inspection service, drain replacement. Complete bathroom and laundry renovations, including professional design - on budget and on time. Bathroom, kitchen and laundry room upgrades.
Cottage services: water treatment systems, renovations, upgrades, pump upgrades repair & replacement, septic treatments, complete or partial re-piping.
Expert drain cleaning and clearing, repairs and complete main drain replacements.

We are The Plumbers YOU Can Count On!

CATEGORIES
Plumbing, Drain Services, and Drainage Contractors
PRODUCTS
Offering 24/7 emergency service, we bring a complete suite of professional plumbing services for your home, cottage and business. We use only high quality products with the best warranties. Our workmanship is perfection and we guarantee everything we do for you. Water treatment - Novo high quality softeners, UV, RO and all types of filtration systems. Navien tankless hot water systems and hot water tank replacement. Quality fixtures + faucets replacements, bathroom renovations and outside drain cleaning, repairs and replacements. Expert repairs inside and outside your home, office or cottage.
SERVICES
Drain clearing and camera inspection service, drain replacement. Complete bathroom and laundry renovations, including professional design - on budget and on time. Bathroom, kitchen and laundry room upgrades. Cottage services: water treatment systems, renovations, upgrades, pump upgrades repair & replacement, septic treatments, complete or partial re-piping. Expert drain cleaning and clearing, repairs and complete main drain replacements.
BRANDS
Toto, Grohe, Kohler, Moen, Novo, Navien, Bradford White, Maax, Mirolin, Lukx, Judo, Franke Kindred, Insinkerator, Myers, Hydromatic, BioSmart just to name a few
SPECIALITIES
We pride ourselves on our efficient customer service and quality workmanship - right from your original call to our Client Care Coordinators, to the talented, highly trained technicians, to the birthday card for your hot water tank! As Harris Plumbing, we are.. The Plumbers YOU Can Count On! and we will work very hard to earn - and keep - your business.
WEBSITE
http://www.harrisplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1974
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
22
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, cash, visa, m/c
LICENSES
Backflow Prevention, Master Plumbers, Well Contractor
MEMBERSHIPS
Aurora Chamber of Commerce, Newmarket Chamber of Commerce, BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
$5M
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
none
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
One year written warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.