Harris Plumbing

Barrie ON L4M 5K2
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Keswick  >  Harris Plumbing  >  Install new jet pump for cottage water system
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON

Install new jet pump for cottage water system

Seven weeks to get app't and work done. No detailed disclosure of cost up front or on completion. The average cost of new pump is $650, so how do we end up at $2500. This should have been a 3/4 hr job - took 8. Terrible service, terrible project mgmnt, outrageous pricing.
The Home Stars endorsement was a factor in my call to these people.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Roger, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have reviewed your file and checked into the details that you have provided in your review and it seems we did get upfront approval for the pricing as you signed off before the work began and signed off again upon completion of the work.
As for the amount of time the work took, you should be pleased to know that we actually don't charge per hour, but by job. Regardless of how long the work took you would have been charged the same whether it was only 3 hours, or the full 8. As we do this type of work very frequently, we are aware that this work may take a full day which is why your call was booked accordingly with an 8 hour slot.
As for the pricing, we are sorry you don't see the value in the work we performed. Our plumbers go through extensive training and schooling to gain the knowledge and expertise in order to diagnose and provide the required services. The pricing that we provide not only includes the cost for the equipment, as well as the installation and everything it entails (specific example, removing other galvanized fittings on your old pump), but also the warranty we provide, and a portion of our overhead costs to continue to provide the unequivocal service that we do, and have since 1974.
The plumber who attended also offered our Advantage Plan to you, to extend any warranties and provide a discounted rate for service, and you had declined. The attending plumber also included the new gauge and brass plug at no charge to you. You were notified that the valve between the pump and pressure tank had a blown seal in it that could have lead to further problems and the plumber removed them for you at no charge.

We trust the above meets with your approval, but please reach out if you have any further inquiries or feedback.

Thank you,
Ashley Copeland
Office Manager