CFJ Paving Ltd

Paving Contractors
525 Clyde Road Cambridge ON N1R 5S7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Paving Contractors in Breslau  >  CFJ Paving Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for CFJ Paving Ltd

Average customer rating:
3.4 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

S in Cambridge
S in Cambridge
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
0/10

Poor customer service

**Edit to add...fernsndo finally called me back and said if I left reviews anywhere he would just respond and say I was wrong and being untruthful.

This company came to pave a neighbours driveway and for whatever reason felt it was necessary to have multiple trucks and flatbeds here to do the job. They parked across several driveways. When asked to move so my husband could access our driveway they refused. When asked to move again so I didn't have to lug a baby and all of her things 6 houses down to the car...they told me they were almost done and would move then. When they recycling truck came by they again did not move their trucks leading to ours and 3 other neighbours recycling not being picked up. I called the company and the office woman gave me the site supervisors name and number. I called him and left a message. I recieved no response. They close at 5 and are closed for the weekend so I gave him another call later in the day...and he denied my call. So I left another message. I called the office a few more times and finally got through and she told me he had bad reception.
This is a poor company with even worse customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

S. Widdis on Google Review - Hello S. Widdis,

It sounds like you had a really rough day! Here’s what we learned:
Dump trucks and flat beds were parked on the street not on the driveways. The street is public! It is possible that the entrance to your driveway was blocked for a short period of time however it doesn’t happen often and it really depends on the street layout. Parking in some streets is rather limited and we do the best we can with what we have. If a crew member told you directly that they were almost done, it’s because the truck driver who is assigned to that truck was busy assisting in the pour and could not leave his post. We’re talking AZ/DZ licensed/designated drivers – no one else can move that equipment. The crew is under enormous time restraints to work the hot asphalt before it goes cold. Furthermore, our site super and our lead hand reported they were not aware of any requests to move equipment. We don’t know who you spoke to onsite nor will we investigate it any further.
CFJ is neither a garbage collector nor a recycle contractor for the city. Please give them a call. They would love to hear from you! CFJ management offered the company bin so you could drop off your garbage at which point you threatened to speak against CFJ on both Google and Facebook when management refused to pick up your recyclables hence it’s made social media. What a great way to finish the work week?
In your Google complaint it sounds like it was really important for you to speak to someone before 5pm just so you could get bad reception which in turn led to “better customer service.” S. Widdis, are you a customer or someone who was just having a bad day? Actually, neither - you made it clear to Fernsndo that this is a job for you, that you were on mat leave, had nothing else better to do and in turn had all the time in the world to write reviews and repost. The people at CFJ are busy building driveways for existing clients. We simply don’t have time for this kind of nonsense.
Please be at the yard bright and early tomorrow morning, say 5:30 am so you can run the crews as well as schedule the day! Apparently you told Fernsndo he was bad at it . . . Edit to Add . . . too many blanks in a one sided conversation at your end.
In conclusion, most people who missed their garbage run or in this case the recyclable run would simply just put it out on the curb the next time around. Working people need room to work and park! As of today only emergency telephone calls for existing paying customers will be pushed through to our sites. All others will be returned the following business day.

Sincerely,

Management

Unimpressed  in Cambridge
Unimpressed in Cambridge
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
0/10

Pabing

If I could only believe what I am told, every time I speak with Carmelo. Ripped up driveway and said be back in 2 weeks. Still waiting 9 weeks later!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Please contact our office at your earliest convenience @ 519-624-9487.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

Driveway

If you do not want to have problems & stress "stay away from this contractor"!!!
I had a very disappointing experience with CFJ Paving Ltd. I received a quote from Fernando to excavate my driveway by 12 inch deep,and replace it of compacted gravel.They only removed old asphalt and added a bit gravel + recycle shingle on top.I called the second contractor to check because I knew there was something wrong.He confirmed my prediction.Even dimension was not right.Fernando measured my driveway 18'x 33' but the current dimension of my driveway is 16'x 21'.When I asked him why he used recycle shingle,he said for stronger asphalt.I paid $1050 cash for wrong job without invoice.I want to get another contractor but Fernando did not want to give me money back,and promise me I'll be happy with the driveway,but I am not satisfied with the look of it as when I park my car the tires are making marks as they were sinking in it.Apparently is too soft in my eyes and my friends and neighbors.He wanted to fix driveway without any notice.I was after a night shift sleeping and I had a second a night shift.After second shift I removed the cars from the driveway and I was waiting for them.They did not come.Two days later I got a message that my driveway looks good and does not to be fixed.At the end I had to clean up the street and the sidewalk.I hired a company not to have a lot of problems and stress.Fernando does not care about the customer just care about the money.He should give me instructions on how to drive on the recycle shingle asphalt.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Twisting tires and driving over the water shut off is not warranted by any paver, however, CFJ did a courtesy trip to Anna's home to fix at no cost damage done by other/homeowner.
Unfortunately, she was not able to move her son's car off the driveway. Anna has refused to fulfill the remainder of her contract and voided all warranties. It takes about one year to one year an a half for asphalt to cure. Asphalt absorbs heat. Don't park on unsupported edges or on the water shut off and don't twist tires on a hot day and blame your paver: all damage done by other not CFJ.

CFJ didn't leave the job site like that. Many efforts were made to accommodate Ana such as a price reduction and an extended warranty. As a matter of fact this complaint is with the BBB.
I called her numerous times, our office mailed out her invoice and I went to her house. My collection agency noted in a conversation with her that she saw someone taking pictures, yet she couldn't come to the door and talk to me. Her resolution was too have CFJ rip it out and give her a whole brand new driveway. It doesn't work like that. It is your responsibility to care for your product. Best advice a good friend of mine told me, "Stress is self induced."

Additional Notes: 24 May 2017 2:07 pm

Work/measurements were quoted to include a section of the boulevard/ramp plus additional measurements on the sides so Anna could add the pavers around the driveway. Photos on file with the BBB. Invoice was mailed and on file with our office and collections. Damage to the water shut off came later.

CFJ works with HL3fine for residential driveways unless the homeowner requests a different asphalt grade. Please contact our asphalt supplier directly and inquire about the asphalt make up if any concerns.

Gina from Kitchener
Gina from Kitchener
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Paving

Very professional. Showed on the date I was booked for. Did a beautiful job paving. I have had several compliments on my driveway. Would highly recommend this company! Thank-you Joe, Fernando and your crew.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Anne from Waterloo
Anne from Waterloo
1 review Waterloo, ON
10/10

asphalt driveway and cement front step

Very satisfied with the service, work completed and their approach. The front step and driveway make a huge welcome statement to the front of the house. I would recommend and use these guys again. Great job!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Eric
Eric
6 reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

Driveway

Stay away from this contractor!
I received a quote from Fernando to excavate my driveway by 12 inches deep, and replace it by 12 inches of compacted gravel at 97%. When I came home, the base looked mint for a couple of days before starting to sagg. I called a couple of experts and had the work site drilled for samples. Turns out CFJ paving flattened out the old base, but never digged more than one inch, and of course did not even compact the old gravel. After confronting Fernando several times - who kept changing his stories (first they replaced my gravel, and then he admitted reusing my gravel...) CFJ paving ended up asking me for the full amount. After contacting BBB they agreed not to ask for the invoice. Do not trust CFJ paving. Do not hesitate to contact me if you are building a case against CFJ paving, I will be happy to share my experience.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

I would like to personally apologize to all our clients especially those new to the tri-cities due to this specific review. It wasn't up until this year that we were made aware of this.

Eric Jedidi, who owns The WoodStone Real Estate Company, hired CFJ Paving Ltd. to do numerous tasks on his property. We dug the backyard and supplied stone dust for patio stones so Eric could put down his stones. We removed and dumped trees and debris from his backyard. We dug in front of his home and we supplied Eric with topsoil for his front yard so he could seed it. The property was flat. It looks amazing now.

As to the driveway, we had truck loads of gravel dumped there and compacted, not to mention all kinds of labor and machinery costs invested to accomplish the task. Probably not much gravel left there now, since he didn't pave. Weather conditions here in Canada have a way of washing gravel away.

CFJ Paving Ltd. provided Eric with a step by step estimate with approximate measures. We have many verbal and electronic conversations on file with Eric relating to the work on his property.

Fernando Oliveira went on site numerous times to speak to a very angry Eric. Eric contacted the BBB and tried to put in a claim. Eric threatened to use the company he worked for at the time to put CFJ Paving Ltd. out of business.

When I contacted Eric this year requesting he take his post downs as well as submit a public apology through the same forums he used to slander Fernando Oliveira and CFJ Paving Ltd, he threatened us yet again.

He threatened me verbally, he would put CFJ Paving Ltd. out of business via the network he is currently working for. This particular conversation we have on text. May I add that he refused to pay us then and he refused to pay us now.

Dear reader this is being dealt with accordingly. To slander someone's reputation and character when payment for services hasn't been rendered is illegal. Eric did not allow us to complete our work. He stopped it half way and refused to pay. We only asked him to pay for services rendered up until that point in order to recover our expenses, not the full amount.

Once again, CFJ Paving Ltd. apologizes to all the HomeStars users and Google users who come across this review. CFJ Paving Ltd. is a paver you can count on. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Andrej Z from Cambridge
Andrej Z from Cambridge
6 reviews Cambridge, ON
7/10

Driway paving

Dealt with Carmelo. I had old driveway expanded (with old one removed). I cannot complain about quality of work. Everything looks fine, and driveway is still flat. Short term punctuality was fine. Long term ("I'm going to come and finish the driveway next week") not so much.It took quite a few phone calls to get it done. Again, everything was done in two visits as expected, just took too long. Considering that i have called 6 different companies to come and give me a quote, only one other showed up. So, maybe this is not that bad.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
jeff cooley in Guelph
jeff cooley in Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON

First Review

0/10

Asphalt Driveway

CFJ's owner is abrasive, rude and untruthful. CFJ illegally paved our driveway and then provided nothing but excuses and mis-truth's to justify their actions. The quality of work was atrocious. The majority of their work is contract work through builders, so if you have a choice, avoid CFJ like the plague.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Jeff Cooley, I have been trying to locate you and without success. Please call our office and request to speak to the lady in charge of reviews, HomeStars. I am not sure what happened here and I'd like an opportunity to speak with you and further investigate this issue. I am very reasonable. I would like readers to note that CFJ Paving Ltd. deals with various types of accounts. Thank you.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.