Fitkin Movers Inc

Moving & Storage
124 Crockford Blvd Scarborough ON M1R 3C3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Toronto  >  Fitkin Movers Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

40%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Fitkin Movers Inc

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

G. Surdivall in North york
G. Surdivall in North york
1 review North York, ON
10/10

Moving

We hired Fitkin's to do our move and I must say we were not disappointed. The quote was accurate and the men were great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Fitkin Movers to anyone.

G. Surdivall
Toronto

Was this review helpful?
Day in Richmond hill
Day in Richmond hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
1/10

Moving

I couldn't agree more with an earlier post. The owner was friendly and professional when he met us before our move. I paid a percentage of the quoted cost up front (a small downpayment).
The day of the move we were supposed to have three movers. Two showed up. I called the owner and he questioned me why I was calling him. The reason for this was that he had another moving company which had done a lot of work for him over the years that were doing the actual move … but they were not his employees, they were from another moving company. In order to have the third mover, my wife had to pick another man up from a nearby gas station. I will admit, the actual movers were very good and worked hard. However, the truck was not large enough to get all items in on one trip and at 6 pm they told us they’d have to come back the next day. I informed the owner and he became enraged. He swore uncontrollably. He called one of the movers with me still on the phone and started swearing at him.
It was extremely inconvenient that they had to come back the next day as my family had other plans. However, we had no choice if we wanted to get the remaining items out of the house. I did have a storage unit that was 2 km’s from my old home. I was going to move those contents myself however; I figured that if they had to come back the second day they could, in fair turn, get the contents from the storage unit as well. They finished the entire job on the second day in 1 ½ hours. When we were told of the final bill we were told that we were being charged an additional 3 hour minimum. I didn’t agree to this and called the owner. He was rude, threatening and belligerent. All in all, the final price was fair, the actual movers were hard working but attitude of the owner was appalling and unprofessional. I would never recommend this moving company to anyone, ever.

Was this review helpful?
Krishna Persaud in downtown Toronto
Krishna Persaud in downtown Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Moved contents of my house

Gary Fitkin was prompt, polite and professsional throughout the entire move. The crew were careful with my possessions and there were no damages or mishaps. They were well-supervised and followed directions to the letter.

I would not hesitate to hire this company again.

Krishna Persaud

Was this review helpful?
jason_briggs  davisville
jason_briggs davisville
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Movers

I met with the owner of Fitkin Movers about a month before our move.He explained his pricing,the estimate, and everything else about the move to both my wife and I.The meeting lasted about an hour and was very informative.And we got exactly what they said we'd get. An excellent move.My whole family was very pleased and so was I.The guys finished an hour early and we wound up paying $125.00 less than what was originally quoted.I was very happy,and highly recommend Fitkin Movers. They were a good group to work with.

Was this review helpful?
Sylvain and Anna, Pickering
Sylvain and Anna, Pickering
2 reviews Pickering, ON
2/10

Move

After calling Fitkin Movers for a quote, Gary Fitkin came to our house. Very nice, very pleasant conversation, which in all honesty what sold us on this company.

Our questions: do you use your own employees or do you sub-contract? Answer: "we do no sub-contract; the staff are my employees". Question: do you place runners? Answer: "yes we do, in all the areas, hallways and stairs.

Reality: The people (3) that moved our furniture were sub-contracted (I asked the crew chief and he confirmed that they do work for Fitkin, but are not employed by Fitkin); Runners or I should say runner (singular) was placed on the stairs going up but did not covered the entire staircase, nor was there any others placed. When we pushed, the crew placed some blankets on the floors but had to remove them to cover our furniture. Other: damages done to many walls in our old house and to furniture; was also told cash or cheque by the crew; when I called Mr Fitkin, he was very rude over the phone, asking was I was bothering him. When I mentioned that I wanted to pay by credit card, as indicated on his website, he said that they were not setup for this and continue yelling at me and saying "sh$%^, sh%^&, sh%^&, why I am talking to you". Crew was ok in new house (freshly painted), as we watched them every single minute to ensure no further damages was done.

Also, since we were getting our new house days before emptying the old one, we had made several trips with our van, which was a blessing since when they were done packing, the truck was full, which means they would have had to do 2 trips to empty our house!

We are happy that others had a good experience with this mover. In our case, Gary Fitkin gives a good first impression, but once he has you booked and has your deposit, he doesn't care a bit! If you still move forward with this mover, watch them every step of the way.

P.S.: A complaint has also been filed with the Better Business Bureau.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I think the title of this customer's review says it all, and that's unfortunate. Mr. Trepanier's not mad at the crew. He's mad at me. This customer got an excellent move and he knows it.The crew finished an hour early and the bill was less than quoted. And there was NO damage to his furniture either. He's just trying to make me look bad. And no, we do not contract our work. That crew has been with me since day one. And by the way there was lots of room on the truck for everything. Mr. Trepanier took over a few small things but that's only because he wanted to. He wanted to get a head start on things. Bottom line: Mr.Trepanier's mad at me because I couldn't take his call. I was in a restaurant at the time and when the phone went off everyone glared at me.The tables were only a foot apart.It's my fault.I should have shut my phone off, but I didn't. I did however make several phone calls on his behalf that afternoon, and made sure everything was okay and that he was happy. And he was. And that's one of the reasons why the move finished so early. He got along great with the crew. We deal with a lot of ungrateful people in this business. It's too bad Sylvain Trepanier is one of them.

Gary Fitkin

eviero
eviero
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
9/10

Moving

We moved a couple weeks ago, and Fitkin Movers did a fantastic job. They took great care in wrapping and moving our furniture. In the entire move, absolutely nothing was damaged! We were given an option to pay in advance and even though they had to make two trips, they did not charge us any additional fees! We feel that their price was great and they did an exceptional job, we would not hesitate to reccommend them to others!

Was this review helpful?
Bernice B in Davisville village
Bernice B in Davisville village
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Fitkin Movers, Household Mover

Fitkins was recommended to us by a co-worker who had used them the year before. Gary came to our home, gave us a quote, and showed up with the necessary supplies I needed for the move. On moving day I was quite nervous as I hadn't moved in over 29 yrs. Gary assured me everything would be fine. I went out for a coffee, and when I got back I was really surprised at how much work was done.The movers were focused on what they were doing and even got along with my teenaged boys. I was quoted 8hrs for the move, it took just over 5 hrs. Nothing was broken as they shrink wrapped everything that was fragile. In all,I would have to say that they did a great job and I would use them again if I had to.

Was this review helpful?
T.J.
T.J.
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

moving

We used Fitkin Movers for our household move because some friends of ours had recommended them, and now I know why. These hard-working chaps were really wonderful. They took very good care of my furniture. Especially the antiques. They were all shrink and pad wrapped before going on the truck. Not only was the price right.... the service was too. I'm also pleased to report that there were no damages. And "yes" I would use Fitkin's again.

Was this review helpful?
LJ in Aurora
LJ in Aurora
1 review Concord, ON
1/10

Movers

Showed up late with a truck half the size of the one they had quoted on. Only had two guys plus a homeless guy they picked up off the street that morning. (incidentaly he did most of the work). Scratched my floors. Had to leave my small piano upstairs for fear of what they were going to destroy next. Scratched my stairs by sliding box over them. Backed into my porch. Had to do 2 trips and didnt finish until midnight. Also, didnt put my furniture back together.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Fitkin Movers has absolutely no record of this move at all. We have checked all of our work orders for October, November and December and found nothing. If we had something, we would have acted on it by now. We would have given the customer a free move and paid for all the damages. That's the way we do business. I'm shocked that the "customer" didn't even bother to call the office to complain. I'm also shocked that they won't identify themselves. If you have doubts about a moving company at all, call the BBB, or ask the salesperson for references. STAY AWAY FROM HOMESTARS. Any company that would post a negative review and not tell us who did it, isn't worth dealing with. Any company that would post a negative review without having the author of that review contact the moving company first, is underhanded and not worth dealing with. Personally, I think this review was planted by one of our competitors. I would like the person who wrote it to contact me personally. I can be reached at 416-489-8588. Sincerely, Gary J. Fitkin

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Fitkin Movers Inc

Fitkin Moving & Storage is a Toronto based business that specializes in local and long distance moving. We operate moves to Montreal and Ottawa on a daily basis and go as far as Vancouver four times a month. At Fitkin's you'll find staff you can count on and prices you ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.