Belyea Bros Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning
2 Thorncliffe Park Dr, Unit 24 ON M4H
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 2 timesBest of 2020winner 2 times

Reviews for Belyea Bros Limited

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (591 reviews)

Sort by

Elle in Toronto
Elle in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Frustrating Quote Experience

I don't really like to say bad things about a company, but we were ready to pull the trigger on the installation of 2 ductless air-conditioners in our home with Belyea. Had a great experience with the sales person on our initial visit. All he had to do was send us a quote. Unfortunately, he never got back to us. I called him directly, left him emails and then called the main line to make sure there wasn't any other reason he couldn't call us back (you never know). Not sure what happened here, but can't really give a better rating. Would have loved to have done business with them as their ratings looked so good!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Elle,
Sorry for your frustration. Due to COVID-19 some members of our staff have chosen to stay home for health reasons. Could you possibly give me the name of the system consultant you were dealing with? I understand you may have chosen another company but here at Belyea Bros we try to not repeat our mistakes.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Thank you,
The Operations Manager of Belyea Bros Limited

share Leslieville
share Leslieville
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Heat Pump Installation

I own a small townhouse in Leslieville that was renovated years ago, replacing the furnace with electric baseboard heating. Summer cooling has been managed by a cumbersome pair of window air conditioners. Both systems are relatively expensive to run for the size of the house. I received a flyer from Belyea Brothers and decided to enquire about a Daiken heat pump after recently experiencing one in a hotel stay.
I was connected with their System Consultant, Jamieson. He immediately did a COVID-friendly assessment of the house and put together a recommendation, which to my surprise included both heating and cooling. His solution matched well with my vision of the requirements.
The Daiken system was delivered a week later and installed by Jit and his assistant Anwar. The installation team were awesome. They worked all day without a break. The workmanship was flawless, they cleaned up after each unit was installed, and they explained each step of the process to me as it evolved.
The crowning moment was when the neighbours (who were somewhat concerned about the noise level of the unit in the alley between our houses) got a tour of the unit while it was running. I took them to hear the noise level of the heat pump, but alas they could not hear it because their clothes dryer was running and the noise of the dryer vent drowned out the sound of the heat pump. We were all very pleased and they said they should look at getting a new dryer to reduce the noise level in the alley …
Overall, it was a very positive experience with this company and its employees!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
6/10

install rads in basement

Used this company to install rads in the basement. Before a year was over, we had a leak in some of the pipes. When I called to ask them to come out and look, they were going to charge $135 for a site visit, and then determine if it was their initial installation that was the result of the leak. I was very disappointed to say the least, given that the price for the initial work was comparatively high I thought they would stand behind their service guarantee.

Was this review helpful?
JL in Toronto
JL in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

7 year Mits Air Side Discharge

A simple coil leak in the furnace and they wanted to charge $750 plus tax just do a diagnosis.

Called another company, checked the AC, no leak. Checked the coil in the furnacee and found the leak instantly. Total charge $ 120 for the service call and the amount will be discounted from the new coil part and install. Almost $13K in referal business with neighbors and Bilyea Brothers head office still wanted to price gouge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sheilagh
Sheilagh
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Good customer service

Our third floor room lacks ducts so we decided to investigate a ductless split heat pump. Belyea Bros was dependable and explained everything very clearly. Installation of the Daikin model was smooth and efficient. Their electrical department also did a small job for us, upgrading the electrical panel and installing pot lights. We highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Evan from Toronto
Evan from Toronto
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Shout out to the Attic Pak Crew.

Exactly what the title says - I just want to state that the crew and Steve at Belyea Brothers did a fantastic job of installing a new Attic Pak system at my house. Their customer service is #1 and they understand their client's needs. The reason why I wrote that is because I had some HVAC companies decline installing such a system over the summer. Steve and the crew were really polite and answered all my questions throughout the process. They spent 2 days installing the system and kept everything clean. I had 6 vents installed in total - 3 upstairs and 3 downstairs. They're very good at what they do and very diligent. I will always recommend Belyea as this is the 2nd big job I've had them do on my place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Erin
Erin
4 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Repeated Let Down

I bought a new AC and furnace w Belyea a few years ago, spending a considerable amount of money. One winter I was having furnace problems overnight and called the 24 hour emerg line repeatedly; despite being told someone was on their way, multiple times, they never showed. More recently my thermostat needed to be replaced, I was told by the tech that Belyea would make the arrangements and I would hear from them in a week. A week passed and I called in to find they had done no such thing. I complained to the company and heard nothing back.
I expected more from a company with whom I had spend roughly 10k. It’s just disrespectful and bad business.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Ms. Mcleary, thank you for your feedback and our apologies if there has been some miscommunication or missed communication. When our technician diagnosed the issue with your smart thermostat on June 15, the office called the same day and left a voicemail explaining that the manufacturer of the smart thermostat requires the client to contact them directly in order to have a replacement shipped to their home. This is done for a client’s privacy as the control is linked to your home network and may contain private information. Once you had received the control we would replace it for you. You then emailed us on June 22nd saying you were frustrated because no one had spoken to you and that you had now spoken with the manufacturer and they were sending you a replacement control. In response to your email, Richard from our service department called and left a voicemail for you asking you to let us know when it had arrived so we could arrange replacing it. We understand it can be frustrating dealing with an issue like this in the middle of both COVID-19 and a heat wave, especially when a manufacturer has a fairly unique process that only allows the homeowner to order the replacement control.

Caroline Craig in Toronto
Caroline Craig in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Happy we called Belyea

We contacted a few vendors through Homestars. We chose Belyea because of they made us feel very confident that they knew what they were doing. They were happy to answer all our questions until we were ready to choose our new furnace and AC. The installers were also so professional and courteous. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Caroline,
We appreciate the review. Buying a HVAC piece of equipment is not an easy decision. I’m glad we were able to answer all your questions. Enjoy the cooling during this heat wave 
- Belyea Bros Limited

Norton in Toronto
Norton in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Queen Street East - DAIKIN Ductless heat pump

Installed the DAIKIN Ductless heat pump in the Spring 2019 and have tested both the cooling and heating system for one year. My family has had no issues with the heat pump and works like a charm. Even though it was a challenge with the lack of external space and lack of areas to set up ladders, Jamieson and the whole Belyea Bros team came up with a unique solution and implemented the plan with no problems.

Short Answer: Stop reading all the reviews here and phone Jamieson before they are all booked up for the summer!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Norton ,
We love this review ! We are here to solve all kinds of issues regarding heating and cool.

Thanks again for the review on Jamieson and our install team.

- Belyea Bros lImited

Shooker
Shooker
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace, AC & Water Heater: Morningside, Toronto

Starting with Jamieson who sold the package after advising based on interview, house, history & needs offered multiple packages. Straight forward he provided pros & cons based on the pros/cons of our house. We went tankless.

The installation crew (Shawn, Mike & Mark) were great over the 2 day job. Each day explaining the days install & patient with my questions. They were polite & left the site all cleaned up. Afterwards a complete review of in installation was performed with me, both visually & on paper.

This was completed in August, 2019, but waited until now so I could confirm Jamieson’s selling points. Happily I can say we are reaping the benefits and working around cons he advised us of.

I cannot recommend Belyea Bros. enough!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review !
- Belyea Bros Limited

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Belyea Bros Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning

COOLING
At Belyea Bros. we install and service a range of air conditioning systems including forced air (central) air conditioning, ductless split air conditioners, and our custom designed Attic Pak and SpacePak systems. Due to our background as a hot water heating specialists we are experts at planning and executing cooling solutions for houses without ductwork.

HEATING
At Belyea Bros. Limited we hold the first heating license issued in Toronto. As a result, we have the experience to claim, “there is nothing about heating we don’t know”. We are experts in hot water, radiant in-floor, snow melt systems and forced air heating. Over a number of years we have carefully selected the products that we recommend to our customers. We sell only manufacturers that have a proven track record of quality and service so that we can offer you the best support possible. All the manufacturers we work with have parts centers or distributors within the GTA meaning we have access to a local support network. We offer only reliable premium equipment.

HOT WATER TANKS
Water heater rentals are a great solution for many homeowners who have a short-to-medium time frame in their house, own a tenanted property, are looking for a peace-of-mind solution to address their domestic hot water needs, or simply wish to have a clear idea of their monthly house budget over the long term without the worry of heater repairs.

Many consumers are confused by which company they actually rent their water heater from, thinking that because the charge appears on their gas bill that they rent from “gas-company”. In fact, most customers in Toronto rent their heaters from Centrica PLC, an international energy services company based in the United Kingdom, which operates in Canada under the brand name Direct Energy™. Although they bill on the gas bill, they are not, in any way, affiliated with your gas utility.

Belyea Bros. has a wide range of hot water tank solutions for your family’s needs. We have an excellent rental program providing a comparable rate and great reliable products. We provide a fix rate increase, unlike the other guys who may raise your billing at anytime.

TANKLESS HOT WATER
Tankless hot water heaters are common in Europe and Japan. They can supply an endless supply of hot water, with greater energy savings than conventional tanks. They are, however, limited in the amount of hot water that can be produced at one time and the upfront costs are higher.

ELECTRICAL SERVICE
Belyea Bros. Electrical specializes in helping home and business owners in the older neighborhoods of Toronto. We provide electrical service, repair and installation whether it’s diagnosing and fixing a broken outlet, or re-wiring your whole home, Belyea Bros. Electrical is here to help.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning and Electricians
SERVICES
Heating, Cooling, Hot water systems and electrical services
SPECIALITIES
Heating, cooling and electrical services for older Toronto Homes
WEBSITE
http://www.belyeabrothers.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1908
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
45
PAYMENT METHOD
All methods
LICENSES
PH1
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.