Airplus Heating And Cooling Inc

Heating & Air Conditioning
670 Progress Avenue Toronto ON M1H 3A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Airplus Heating And Cooling Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

78%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Airplus Heating And Cooling Inc

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (65 reviews)

Sort by

Nariman from Toronto
Nariman from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Changing the Furnace

I had to change my old furnace.The response,the quote,the service,the staff and basically everything was great.If I needed to do it again,Surely I will call them again.I will recommend the Airplus company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Nariman for your vote of confidence, we always strive to exceed customer's expectations. Thanks again

Susan
Susan
1 review North York, ON
2/10

A/C Service

My A/C unit was turning on and off, and seemed to shut off when it was really hot. So at night it would come on when the temperature outside was cooler, and during the day, especially on the hot days, it would shut off. They sent a technician. He was supposed to show up between 11:30am-12pm, but he was over 1hr late.

Once he arrived, he was professional, and advised that the problem could be the capacitor, compressor, or the relay. He said he needed to call the manufacturer to confirm exactly which part it was and would get back to me within a day. I received no phone call the following day, so I called them back for an update. I was promised a call back, but did not get one. Same thing happened the following day. After about 3-4 phone calls I finally heard back from the owner, Chris and he told me the problem was the compressor and it would cost $1496 for the part and $994 for labour. They told me that I would have to pay $1496 for the part in advance, because they don’t want to be stuck with the part if the customer cancels on them.

I got another company to take a look for a 2nd opinion, and they ended up replacing the capacitor for $270 (parts and labour). My a/c has been running fine ever since, even on the hot days. I called Airplus back to advise them that they mis-diagnosed the problem, and see if they would do anything about $100 service call fee that they charged. I wasn’t expecting the entire amount refunded since they did send a tech. I was hoping they would refund part of the charge.

After a lengthy discussion, Chris told me that they would have replaced the capacitor first, and then the compressor, but I had to pay for the compressor because they don’t want to come back and forth ordering different parts. At this point in the call, he told me that he would have refunded me the $1496 for the compressor if it turned out that it wasn’t the problem. I was not told this in the original call. If I could have received a refund, then why did I have to pay a deposit in the first place? If they refunded my money, wouldn’t they be stuck with the part? It sounds like they would make the customer order and pay for the MOST expensive part. Another question I have is why are they ordering and replacing so many parts? You should KNOW what needs to be replaced. So this company just randomly replaces parts until the problem is fixed? There are articles on the web that describe very specific tests that can be done to determine if the compressor failed, like checking for acid levels, and hooking up an Ohm meter and checking the resistance. None of this was done on my unit. In the end, as I had told Chris on the phone, I was disappointed with the service provided, especially since they had such a high rating on Homestars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Susan, as it stated on our invoice for dignostics that it may be the capacitor, relay and or compressor, you chose another company for 2nd diagnosis,they had that particular capacitor with them and it's running right now but we believe it won't last very long because my tech did ohm out the compressor when it did run and found it over amping, so I believe you have a temporary fix. The reason we get a deposit on expensive parts like your compressor is because we've been burned in the past from customers not paying for material after it's been installed then it's a battle to get paid and once part is installed,can't return supplier for refund.I did explain to you when we talked that if it is the compressor what the cost would be and that the deposit is necessary when ordering of these expensive parts. We did nothing wrong but your upset because you paid for diagnosis twice which was your decision, we did diagnos the problem correctly but you just didn't want to give a deposit which again is your decision but to trash our reputation over $100 that you wanted back is our biggest gripe about the social media unfair dominance.

Lori
Lori
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

instalation of the furance,airconditioner and water heater

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

This is to give a BIG Thank you to you and all support staff for the job recently done at my home.
Your sales team(specifically Lou Fortunato)made a number of trips to my home to assess,educate and neggotiate what was best for me,my budget and the space restriction we were facing. He was a pleasure to deal with and created a friendly and personal type of business relationship.Making sure I had a full undrestanding of what I was getting,the cost,who was going to be installing...and he referred me to an ECO testing company to ensure I was able to maximize the current rebates.
Onto your contractors who do the installation. Chris Massey did some great troubleshooting to accommodate what I wanted to accomplish.He went over and above making sure everything was done correctly despite the tight space restrictions.Probably not his favourite job site because of this!He trudged through it with rain and cold and the added frustration of limited work space. Despite the challenges,timelines and expectations were met with my gratitude.
I feel fortunate that I have Chris and his team of experts to add to my list of resources to refer my family,friends,clients and associates...with great confidence.
Thank you Chris..
Lori

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Lori, it was a pleasure dealing with you also and look forward to hearing the joy about your reduced gas and electricity bills, all the best.

Christopher Burt
President

Debbie Johnson and Jeff Gordon
Debbie Johnson and Jeff Gordon
1 review PICKERING, ON
10/10

fall furance tune-up

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Thank you for the excellent work when your team recently performed our fall furnace tune-up.They arrived on time,were organized,performed the tune-up quickly,professionally and when they were done you we could not tell they had been here. They exceeded our expectations when they took the time to explain the service they perform and they went a step further by addressing our concern with unbalanced flow between our main and second floor. They explained our options,and together we determined that a change in the blower speed was requier.
We were also impresd when they pointed a couple of future servicing issues we should be aware of and that the blower speed should be re-checked in the spring when we turn on the air conditioning.
I compliment you on thier thoroughness as it was evident that our safety and comfort was paramount.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank your crew for a project truly well done and credit goes to their level of service and professionalism that exceeded our expectations.
we certainly look forward to recommending AIRPLUS Heating and Cooling in the future and have no objection to you using as a reference to prospective clients if reuired.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words, trust and confidence.

Lingster
Lingster
24 reviews Markham, ON

First Review

10/10

Repair Boiler for Coach House

Two words for this company. VERY IMPRESSED! We had been without hot water for our coach house for over a week as we were waiting over 5 days on another HVAC contractor (GTA Heating & Cooling) to get the (wrong) part from Winnipeg.

One call to AirPlus and two technicians arrived at our house within the hour. They quickly found the problem (diaphragm) and said they would pick it up the next day for installation (parts are in Mississauga and not Winnipeg!). The next morning, they arrived with the part and fixed the boiler. The hot water is back in business once again.

This company was fast & efficient. A little pricy for the part, but considering the service given, very much worth it. I would highly recommend them. They are clean, professional and true to their word.

Thanks so much for everything.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comments and trust in our service, we try to meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to handling your HVAC needs in the future.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Airplus Heating And Cooling Inc

Airplus is Canada's leading provider of Home Comfort and Healthy Air Solutions. For over 25 years we have been delighting customers with professional heating, cooling, hot water and indoor air quality. We are a Trane dealer, and are specialists in boilers and hydronics. HRAI, TSSA, A+ BBB, and we offer ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Toronto?