Worst experience we have had with any reno contractors. Sales consultant failed to ask some fundamental questions resulted window (one side fixed and one side operative) hinged on default side which did not suit our satiation (handle located at awkward position to operate), back and forth few emails addressing this issue, consultant admitted he presumed hinge side as warranty would be void if hinged on another side, I contacted the vendor and found this is not true (common sense, how does warranty applies for window with hinges on both sides). Then he emailed me describing how the owner was aware of my complaint but chose to ignore it. Later received a call from another co-owner saying the sales consultant is/was semi retired and somewhat explained his unprofessionalism, he apologized and promised to reorder and reinstall the window, reordered around end of Aug, window arrived end of Sep, reinstallation wasn’t available until end of Nov as the schedule lady told me they were busy. The entire lead time is longer than normal ordering and installing, not to mention this is to fix a problem caused by them. It took 6 month! from the initial install, then reorder and reinstall. Meanwhile, I hired another company to replace living room and bedrooms windows; the first question they asked after I signed the contract was “which side would you like to hinge your windows”.
This company’s business practice for ignoring and prolonging to fix problem have caused frustration and inconveniences for us. To avoid any commercial suspicious/motivation, I won’t mention the other window company who did an excellent job for complete the remaining scope. This review is for customers who values service as important as the product. In my opinion, the way a company fix a problem/complaint truly demonstrate its ethics and values, subsequently, Capitall Exterior Solutions failed in all aspects.
Update: Joe contacted me after seeing this review and discussed few issues. I do agree that he tried to fix (reorder and reinstall) the problem in lieu of doing nothing, I also think its a good thing that owner take review and customer seriously. To be fair, my complaint would be non exist if this window was in any other location in the house, but sometimes a missed small detail can change the entire outcome.
- Company Response
Thanks Frank. I really appreciate the fact you took the time to discuss the issues. As I mentioned to you, the frustration is high on all fronts on this one for many reasons. Because all of your paperwork outlined where the window was opening, along with the fact fact that everything was signed off after the initial installation made this one tough. Having said that, we did get you a new window completely free of charge with a new opener on the other side just to ensure you were completely satisfied. We did take a lot longer than expected and I apologize for that. That falls on me. As far as reviews go, I am happy that you are satisfied with the quality of work and the product itself. Your main area of concern was the time it took to get the new window which is understandable and we are implementing new things to alleviate that in the future. Again, thank you for discussing this with me and if you ever have my other issues please do not hesitate to let us know.