Reviews

5/10

We had Vivint come to our door one night offering their full package system and a 10 day trial. So we had them install it and ensure we could cancel after 10 days if we didn't like it. We loved the system, but hated the contract terms. They were for 5 years, no cancellation options, at a very high monitoring fee but no up front costs except $100 for install. We decided that, as the monitoring times five years was a total of over $4200 that we felt it was too high and too large of a commitment. If we could have gone with 3 years we would have considered them. It was a bit challenging to cancel and had to wait 3 weeks for guy to come uninstall (and would only do on a weekday). But we did get it out at the end of it all without too much hassle considering. Great system and product, but very expensive. This company is out of Utah and not Canada, in case that matters. Just wish they weren't double the cost of most companies and such a long term contract.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

We used them twice on homes we were C/S on to help make us confident in buying our first home. First inspection went really well. They found a main line leak and some other issues. Was really impressed. However other concerns, unrelated to inspection, caused the deal to fall through. Second inspection was on the home we purchased and now live in. This home is a bit of an odd case as it was renovated 3 years before, but was built in '76. The inspector (diff from first time) did a "tolerable" job. They identified a few things, including one that we tried to get warranty for from Amerispec. The owner had the laundry taps turned off as she said she was "not home much" when we asked. The inspector turned them on (which is great) and ran the washer/dryer. All good. BUT he didn't double check that the tap connections weren't leaking. Therefore 2 weeks later, once water has seeped through cabinets underneath the taps and through some crappy linoleum I have a minor flood... needless to say I was not impressed. A) by my seller who definitely knew and didn't disclose to us, even after asking. B) that the inspector was not diligent. Amerispec would not hold up on 60 day warranty we had (and were way within timeline) as the water had been off to start with. A bit annoying as there is no way I can force the seller to turn water taps on... in the end they didn't cover it and we ate cost (as our seller, whom we had other major problems with, just disappeared without a trace). I'd say that it's 50/50 on this one. 50% my realtors fault for not getting reason for water off being in writing (that realty company disputed as it was verbal) and 50% Amerispec for not checking and then not holding up warranty. That said, the gentleman who did the first inspection and seemed to do admin work was very helpful and great. I wish he had done our second one. So I don't hold Amerispec entirely responsible. However, do feel that it could have been covered under warranty (which they have insurance against so it's not like it's direct money from their pockets to fix). I'd consider them again... but also look at other companies ahead of time before deciding.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mel, Do you mind letting me know who the inspector was? I don't have a Mel on our records, i am wondering if it was a different inspection company that performed your inspection. Thanks

1/10

We "won" a 2 for 1 furnace cleaning via the Calgary Home Show with these guys. As we are new home owners (first time) we didn't know much about our furnace or cleaning it. So we brought them in to do the cleaning. The guy was late just over 45 minutes (with no call or text). Booking the cleaning with the lady "Diane" on the phone was extremely painful and I had to call her 3 times to ensure we were properly booked as she told our "second winner" for the 2 for 1 the wrong information on when we were getting our cleaning done. Good thing I caught that and called her to confirm. The actual cleaning was ok. Found a fair bit of dust after the fact around but can appreciate that that might be standard. Only reason this is 1 star review: They emailed me the invoice. but then I had to call to pay by credit card.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Excellent service, came and did FREE consult to see if our furnace (we just bought the home) needed cleaning, upgrading, etc. The owner was the one that came to do inspection and was very candid with us. Said that anything he would recommend would not increase efficiency by enough to see cost savings or significant energy savings. Was fantastic! Didn't try to sell us anything we didn't need and left by leaving us his card and a suggestion of the maintenance for the furnace in future. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Mel,
Wow! Thank you for the endorsement! Honesty, integrity and quality are things that Nate expects ~ from himself, his technicians and his office staff. As you have experienced, our staff will tell you if you need something fixed or replaced ~ or if you do not. We don't want you to spend money needlessly. Give us a call when you need a maintenance service! Lori

10/10

Excellent service, called 24 hr line and explained issue. They told us to shut off water and we could save more than $300 by waiting until after 8am the next morning. Next morning we called just after 8am and had contractor at our house by 11am. All fixed and good to go by 12:30pm! Great customer service. They do contract out but ERM made the connection to the contractor for us.

Was this review helpful?