Reviews

0/10

Oh, how I wished I took the review by Sebastian seriously. It was one of the warnings we didn't heed. We also should've been more taken aback on our first meeting with the president, Robert, when he said that he couldn't 'colour-match' our paint... even though we have done that ourselves! Then there was the fact that we didn't get a detailed estimate/contract until late the night before he was to start. We paid a bit more than what we thought was reasonable because we thought we'd be getting at least 3 of our 4 previous cupboards back. I thought we were getting custom cabinets made by a competent carpenter. Instead, we got drywall slapped up using random studs that never extended from floor to counter or wall to wood. Always gaps... why?? Instead a bunch of screws in our new counter, which meant it couldn't be lifted when after days of waiting and questioning, we finally got a cabinet 'installed.' The legs were cut off and it was slid in and attached with 2 to 4 screws to the cabinet next to it. It still doesn't touch the ground and doesn't really support the counter either. I kept pointing out that the end of the counter was kind of waving/wiggling since it wasn't supported by a stud or cabinet anymore. Robert was always promising that it wouldn't be a problem, it would all be taken care of. Instead, he kept mudding and sanding the ceiling and new drywall over and over. I kept wondering when we'd get a shelf, or attach the cabinet door or caulk the big gaps btwn counter and drywall? Apparently never... the last straw was when he came hours late 2 weeks after he had started to drop off a proper full shelf and it's pegs/clips and instead just took a measurement yet again. I was so irate with him showing up late, putting us off, not coming because someone was sick, we finally begged for our old pieces that we wanted to take and match ourselves and any new pieces he had bought. We didn't get this until our mold remediators who recommended stepped in and had someone drop the stuff off (minus a shelf that was the length of the cabinet and clips to hold it up). We had already stupidly paid in full since it was all supposed to be completed already. Now we have to get the pieces of wood cut to hang some pots from (trying to make up for cabinet loss), mitre some quarter round, complete the toe kick and finish the caulking... and get a proper shelf and clips!!!! Robert stood in our kitchen at our first meeting saying we'd never be able to tell that a leak had happened there, it would look exactly the same... except for the new colour he told us to pick out (and later recanted), the loss of cabinets, a wiggly scratched counter and the white dust still remaining in our cork floor. What do contractors have against drop cloths?? After 3 or 4 days of his eternal sanding and not much else, we laid out our own drop sheets on the floor. This simple job which was quoted at 3 days instead stretched out over 3 weeks. So frustrating and stressful. I've never experienced anything like it. Lack of basic construction skill... if only he had sent out a professional to do the job from the beginning instead of halfway through... that man was put in a tough spot because he couldn't guess at how Robert had willy nilly installed the studs, plus didn't have the right supplies. We got slow, expensive, shoddy and messy. We're almost as mad at ourselves for hiring Delinia and paying him in full before it was finished as we are at Robert and his company. Beware!! We put so much stock in the word of the mold remediators (who we loved) who recommended him. The administrator manning the phones/email at MRI seems to have the same last name as the person who sent invoices from Delinia... we kept wondering if there was a family relationship because who the heck would recommend someone who doesn't seem to know construction basics that were obvious to novices like us??! We would've done much better learning how to install drywall and 6 tiles ourselves! Certainly we would've done it with love and care. We just felt our job was done without care or empathy or professionalism from beginning to welll.. the end that never came. This company gives the whole industry a bad name.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Delinia General Contracting has been completing projects since 1995 and is a licensed general contractor in the City of Toronto. We have managed and constructed 100's of both residential and commercial spaces and maintain a great reputation with our established clients, typically receiving 9.5 out of 10 stars consistently for workmanship, professionalism, pricing and customer satisfaction and enjoy many repeat customers.

With respect to this particular project, we carefully detailed the Scope of Work at length with the initial contact for the project, (Mary). The price for the Work was extremely competitive, in fact, much lower than market value. The Work was completed and we were paid in full however the project timeline was extended due to the additional extras that were requested by Leslie herself.

We painted the kitchen ceiling and walls, removed additional ceramic tile and repaired additional areas of the walls free of charge, using top quality Benjamin & Moore paint / primer. We provided additional material such as solid oak rails and installed them where Leslie requested, again free of charge. We attended the property on at least 4 separate occasions afterwards in an attempt to provide added value.

All work was completed to Code and to the high standards of craftsmanship and quality.

9/10

Just after installing a new kitchen counter, we discovered a longtime leak from a bathroom pipe down our stack and into our kitchen. The plumbers wouldn't touch it until we took care of the mold hiding behind the drywall.I did a lot of research and had a couple of quotes before choosing Gregg and MRI. Gregg was heads and shoulders above the other estimators in terms of empathy, professionalism & transparency. He used his moisture detecting equipment to check out the extent of the damage of the leak and then made recommendations for the bsmt too. We knew the bsmt had been moist since we moved in. We approved his reasonable estimate and his boys showed up exactly on time and were super neat and non-intrusive and just a pleasure to deal with over the 4 days total. Such a relief to get our bsmt cleaned out and so pleased that they saved our brand new counter. Precision workers. Gregg was always available to check in and deal with any concerns. I can only fault him for introducing us to an atrocious contractor who was to reconstruct the hole in our ceiling and missing cabinets. Terrible 'handyman' who never should've attempted it himself. Eventually we reached out to Gregg and MRI again and they did what they could to rectify the situation. By then we just wanted our materials back and didn't want to speak to contractor again. If it wasn't for the fact that we were introduced to the nightmare contractor, I would give MRI-Mold.ca a 10, just don't use their contractor referrals.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your testimonial and we sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the reconstruction contractor. As you know we take great pride in our work and would never knowingly put a client in bad hands. Although we tried to assist you in bringing things to resolution I recognize that does not erase the terrible experience you had with that contractor. Our clients are important to us and we have taken your feedback very seriously. Based on your feedback we will no longer be referring that contractor.

9/10

I've had many projects done by them over the years. Most of them have turned out great. Replacing shower hardware and retiling. Installing gutter guards. Changing fridge door around. Installing an outdoor water faucet. Replacing a kitchen counter. Some people they send out are better than others but I think they have a good group now. Doug in particular is really hard-working and a master of all trades. Carol in the office is great to deal with as well. Reasonable prices when you have a small job that can be hard to get someone to do. Especially, if you have a bunch of small unrelated tasks.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Just as we finished putting in our new kitchen counter, we discovered a leak that was dripping right on the corner of our new, shiny pride and joy. We had the handyman who installed the counter back out, and he was sure he discovered the source: leaking toilet gasket. Perhaps that was leaking too, but after it was fixed, the leak in our kitchen got even worse. I did research and decided to try Mr. Rooter. They had come out for an estimate/feasibility of a video snake earlier in the summer, and seemed really honest and experienced. Will came out to diagnose the leak and confirmed that my partner and i had found the source: leaking old pipe for the tub & sink drains. Unfortunately, he couldnt fix it that day because of hidden moldy plaster/drywall. After the mold guys (also excellent) had cut out the bad parts and remediated the mold, Will came back and suggested we save ourselves some $ in the long run and invest in a new plumbing stack to replace the old cast iron one. Short term financial pain but prob the best decision since we hope to be in this house for a while. Will and Ziggy came back to do the 2 day job and they were always on time, polite, clean, and great at their jobs. They fixed little tiny things that make a big difference in our lives too: washer hoses, rusty tub overflow cover & drain etc. They even put a new wooden leg on our rickety old laundry tub. So considerate and a pleasure to deal with. Most importantly, they seem to know their plumbing! (We had a bad experience with another big chain plumber) The people in the office were also very organized, pleasant and helpful as well. I will recommend Mr Rooter to anyone. Peace of mind from dealing with professionals.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Leslie and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Mr Rooter and our technicians Ziggy and Will. We are very pleased to hear that you received the excellent service that you deserve. Customer focus is a big part of what is important to us at Mr Rooter as team from the office to the technicians that are out on the road. We appreciate that you would recommend us to others as well. Thank you for choosing Mr Rooter and have a great day!