Reviews

10/10

Total rebuild (renovation) of our house in Bloor West. Only thing we kept were the two side walls. Extended back about 12' (basement too). Paul was fantastic to deal when we were looking around at companies. We met with about 5 and Paul was the only one to visit the house and talk w/ us. We went w/ M@W and weren't disappointed. Matthew was our PM and he was great to deal with. The construction process was delayed a bit due to foundation issues but the solution implemented was exactly what we we preferred. We were always kept informed, given lots of options and always knew what was going on. Natalie assisted us in the design and she and her team were also very good. Very happy with the choices made and the options we had. Long story short - we came inside our budget, got what we wanted and are very happy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Nicholas,

Thank you so much for this review and the kind words. We enjoyed working with Barbara and yourself very much, and are so pleased to hear you're loving your home! I'm sure we'll be seeing or speaking with you soon.

The Men At Work team

10/10

We were referred by a friend to use them to refinish our upstairs floors. The quote was for ~3K however that was for replacing the hallway (which was tiled and they couldn't guarantee the qualify of the floor once the tile was removed). Once they removed the tile, the floor was in good shape and they sanded and refinished the floors for the hallway and 3 upstairs rooms. They also repaired a few planks, and installed 1/4-round. We dealt with Phillip who did the actual work. He was professional, friendly and showed up on time every day (3.5 days total).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the positive feedback and thank you to the friend that referred you to us.

2/10

We purchased an older home in Toronto and it had K&T wiring. We were required (by insurance) to replace the wiring. We called in Astron to quote and Ted came and provided a fixed price quote. The price was good (but we did not check Homestars) so went ahead with them. We were told it would take about 5-7 days to do the work. We had 20 days between taking possession of the house and having to move so we told the company they had to do the work in that time period. They said no problem. The first week they came 4 days but on the 2nd week they came only 1 day. We called and were told they were busy on other projects, or that the "other guys" weren't available so they weren't able to do the work. We had to move in on the weekend and they still weren't done, and needed to come back for the 3rd week (only showed up for 2 days that week). Still had to come back again (now the 4th week) In addition, despite a fixed-fee quote, we got two price changes because of "unexpected" things which were never fully explained. We had Ted come in and he reassured us they knew about old houses and what to expect. Guess not. The first price change was for ~1000. The 2nd price increase was for ~900. We were given a 3rd price change but didn't want them to finish by then. They were also contracted to repair/patch the holes in the walls. They barely did 50% of the patching, and what they did do was so poor I had to re-do most of the work. The new switches and plug boxes put in were almost all not square, with gaps with the original walls. And older junction boxes were left etc.. Overall, poor work. In summary: * > 4 weeks (with showing up 1 day a week sometimes) to finish something that would take 5 days. * Fixed fee quote yet three different price increases because of "unexpected" difficulties. * Poor, almost non-existent patching of work. * Poor workmanship with wiring and leaving old boxes etc. in walls. I would suggest you look elsewhere for an electrian

Was this review helpful?