Woodchuck Flooring

Floor Laying & Refinishing
161 Nugget Ave Toronto ON M1S 3B1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Woodchuck Flooring

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (98 reviews)

Sort by

Susan in Toronto
Susan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement Flooring

Woodchuck was an excellent company to work with. Their staff was thorough, helpful with suggestions, incredibly neat and tidy, friendly, and finished the work so quickly and professionally. Our basement is beautiful and we're so happy with the results.

I would not hesitate to recommend Woodchuck!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing feedback from our clients!

10/10

Living room/dining room flooring

I visited the woodchuck flooring showroom in Scarboroughultiple times taking with me samples each time until we were confident in our choice. Woodchuck was very patient and provided tips and advice along the way.
Once we picked our flooring, it was in their warehouse within two weeks. We also decided to go with the matching airwoods vent - they had a floor vent made using the exact material of our floors. It was a perfect match.
Installation day was seemless, we prepped the space ourselves and the installers came and did their thing is less than a day. We are very happy with our new floors!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure to work with you, and we are so happy to hear that you are loving the new floors!

Barbara in Ajax
Barbara in Ajax
4 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Carpet replaced with Hardwood

We needed to install engineered hardwood on our basement landing and remove carpeting from our upstairs hallway and replace it with hardwood. Woodchuck did an excellent job of recommending flooring that would match our main floor hardwood which was no longer available. The installation of the new hardwood was flawless and completed on time. We are very happy with the end results and will definitely use them again for replacing our bedroom carpeting in the future. Highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you! We look forward to working with you again on the next phase of your flooring project!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Family room nightmare

I brought a sample of my current hardwood flooring to the showroom. The sales representative helped me match it. What I received wasn’t even similar! I was told I received exactly what I ordered. NOT! No REFUNDS or EXCHANGES. The sales representative said that once installed it would look fine. What happened to customer service? What a waste of $2000!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate that you are unhappy with the floor you selected. We are very forthcoming with regard to our return policies, and aim to set realistic expectations for clients who are trying to achieve a colour match (often very challenging).
You brought a single board from your previous flooring purchase from years ago in order to make your selection. We recommended more than once that you take home samples to see them in your lighting, and right up next to the existing floors you wanted to match. You declined to do so.
When you made your selection and purchased Wheat Nuance, we explained our return policy. However, you later changed your mind and wanted the ProSeries Santa Fe instead. We are very accommodating where possible, and were able to change your initial order per your request to the ProSeries Santa Fe. Timing was on our side as the order had not yet been produced by the manufacturer. We also issued a credit for the difference in price despite our return/exchange policy.
To date we have not seen a sample of the floor you purchased. The boxes we shipped you identified the product as ProSeries Santa Fe, which is what you purchased. If you believe you have received something else in error, please reach out to us.

g in Toronto
g in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Subcontractor Unprofessional Installation

Worked for our contractor Elite Construction during basement renovation. Went with Torlys as floor brand as we wanted a premium look. Woodchuck delivered an unlevel poorly finished vinyl plank installation. Gaps at the sides of walls. They took the approach that things were close enough. One should not have to try to conceal poor installation with quarter round on a new floor. DIY would have been more professional. After complaints they pulled it up and laid the planks a second time. Still not level. No underlay used to stop flexing. Still gaps around doors. Would not recommend

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your basement floor.

We were contracted by Elite Construction to install a Torlys vinyl floor in your basement. Our written agreement with them expressly indicated that preparation of the subfloor and leveling of the concrete was not within the scope of our work.

After we finished the installation we were contacted about unlevel or hollow areas in the floor. At that time we explained to your contractor that this was due to the concrete subfloor not having been adequately prepared. We were instructed by Elite Construction to remove the floor so they could correct the uneven concrete and then we would reinstall the floor. This was a separate contract with Elite and was chargeable. To this they agreed.

Upon returning to reinstall the floor we found that very little work had been done to correct the subfloor deficiencies. We contacted Elite and were instructed by him to continue and that he would take responsibility.

The work we were hired to do was completed according to the arrangements made by your contractor. We have made numerous attempts to make contact with them and discuss further, but have not been able to reach them.

With regard to your comment that we installed quarter round in order to conceal unnecessary gaps, I have included the follow directly from the Torlys installation guidelines for your floor:

"A minimum of 1/8” (3.2mm) expansion wedges must be used at all walls and vertical obstructions, to allow for proper expansion/contraction space. The wedges should be removed after the flooring installation has been completed, and the expansion/contraction space should be covered by baseboard, quarter round, and/or drywall (if wall is undercut)."

As you can see, expansion/contraction space is required, and so quarter round or other trim is used to conceal that space around the perimeter of the room.

We take customer satisfaction very seriously and are disappointed that things have turned out this way. Should your contractor who hired us wish to re-visit this project, we would be happy to discuss that with them.

william m.
william m.
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Engineered hardwood bought and installed through Woodchuck.

The product was excellent and the price better than expected. The company had quality people evaluating the project, suggesting ways to improve the finished product and the installation, while a bit longer than anticipated, was carefully done with a commitment to exactness. We would use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you are so pleased with the final result!

JD
JD
4 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

New hardwood floors and stairs in 2 levels of the house.

From the first dealings with Woodchuck we were impressed with sales staff helping educate us about the products, so we could make decisions for our home. Mike did a great job explaining options when he visited to prepare our quote. We were extremely pleased with the flooring and baseboard installation that was completed in less than 2 days by Victor and the other 3 men. We were very impressed with the skills and the great level of customer service.

For the next phase of the project we were so impressed with Clinton and he took great care of the project details. He was always communicating with us about next steps. He prepared a perfect colour stain and did amazing baseboard installation in challenging areas. He also did a wonderful job managing all those involved in the project. We are very grateful for all his hard work!

A great experience and high quality job. We love our new floors and would certainly recommend Woodchuck Flooring. Judith & Dean

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your comments! It was a pleasure working with you and we look forward to helping on your next project!

Fort Y.
Fort Y.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Replaced carpet with hardwood

Downtown Toronto Condo; Mike was awesome and asked all the right questions at the start (unlike other flooring folks that “left out” items to make their quote look cheaper). Very professional, installers were great / personable, quote matched actual bill, and we recommended to family looking for flooring too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed working with you, and hope to help out with your next flooring project!

CM
CM
3 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Ground Floor Hard Wood Install

Great installation with lots of attention to detail. I didn't want to remove the baseboards but after speaking with Clinton we agreed it made sense to remove the ones that were along the wall where the last piece of wood would be installed. This still saved me a lot of time vs having to remove and then reinstall all of the baseboard. Thanks to Holli for working out a minor discrepancy on the final bill. All in all a great experience.
Thanks Woodchuck!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your comments!

Frank
Frank
18 reviews North York, ON

First Review

10/10

Wood floors replaced in whole house

The team did excellent work. Clinton brought in 49 boxes of flooring himself ... we were impressed. Walter and his team were quick and thorough. This was especially important as I am in a wheelchair and we were in the house through the renovation. Walter made sure at every step that my ability to get around smoothly was not compromised. Things are actually easier now after the renovation than before.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your great comments, and are very pleased that the team made the project go smoothly with minimal disruption to your home. We enjoyed working with you!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Woodchuck Flooring

We want you to love your new floor. We promise if we wouldn’t use it in our home, we won’t sell it to you.

At Woodchuck Flooring we offer our clients 45+ years of expertise in the hardwood flooring industry. We offer a large showroom just off the 401 in Scarborough, where our expert sales team will help you choose new flooring to transform your space. Choose from solid hardwood, engineered, laminate, parquet or vinyl flooring. We deal with reputable manufacturers to ensure you will have a quality product, while respecting the budget. Our professional full service team is ready to assist should you choose to have us install your new floor, or refinish your existing floors.

Many of our clients call on us for their next flooring project…and then the next. As your family grows and changes, we want to work with you to keep your floors beautiful and functional.

CATEGORIES
Floor Laying & Refinishing, Floor Retailers, and Railings
PRODUCTS
Prefinished Hardwood Flooring, Unfinished Hardwood Flooring, Engineered Hardwood, Laminate, Parquet, Vinyl Flooring, Baseboard, Trim, Plywood, Stain, Finishing Products and Sundries
SERVICES
Full service showroom, free estimates, retail, wholesale, installation, refinishing
BRANDS
Mirage, Preverco, Kentwood, Armstrong, Goodfellow, Torlys, Lauzon, Satin Flooring, Sunca, Beaulieu, Bruce, Vintage, Mercier, Sheoga, Coswick, Revue Laminate
STYLES
We work with our supplier partners to ensure our showroom is a reflection of their best offerings. You will find classic choices as well as current trends in colour, wood species and unique finishes.
SPECIALITIES
Large showroom focused on quality, variety and value, detailed written estimates, installation, refinishing
WEBSITE
http://www.woodchuckflooring.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1970
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MC, and Interac
LICENSES
yes
MEMBERSHIPS
NWFA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 year on labor, manufacturer's warranty on product
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.