TOK Construction

Formerly TK Contracting
Bathroom Renovation
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Bathroom Renovation in Oakville  >  TOK Construction  >  Renovation Nightmare
12 reviews Toronto, ON

Renovation Nightmare

I hired Omer and TOK based on their good reviews but Im sad to say this renovation was a nightmare from beginning to end. Throughout the renovations, I never got the feeling Omer was very experienced in home improvements. He never seemed to know any of the questions I asked him on how things were supposed to be installed or what kind of material I should be buying. Every time I asked him anything about materials, his reply was always He only handles the installation, materials are not his problem. All his measurements were off by a large margin. I had 11 extra boxes of flooring. 3-4 I could understand but 11?!? Multiple extra boxes of tiles and trim as well. Thousands of dollars worth wasted. A lot of days, I would go to the house and no one was working. The estimated completion time Omer gave me was 7-9 weeks so I gave Omer a dead line of 15 weeks because I sold my condo and I had to move in the house. 15 weeks later, Omer was no nowhere close to completion. The house was unliveable. Flooring wasnt even installed, kitchen was still bare. I had to move my wife and 2 small children in with my parents, which was another nightmare in itself. Omer threw constant overages at me for a lot of things that should have been included in the original quote. $1500 to install 4 electrical outlets, $1350 replace the tips off 3 pipes. He wanted to charge me an additional $1750 just to replace all the outlets and switches, material not included. Just insane prices for extras that should have been included in the quote. I ended up paying 25% more than originally quoted. I paid him always thinking as long as it was done right, I wouldnt mind. I couldnt have been more wrong. The last straw was getting a countertop with the wrong cutout for my sink. Then Omer blamed me for not presenting the sink to him. He ordered the countertop without sink measurements and he blames me? It was going to cost me $3000 for a new countertop with correct cutout. Omer made it clear it wasnt coming out of his end. It was a long time coming, I had to let Omer go. After I fired Omer, I got a few of certified tradesmen in to finish the work and I find out nothing Omer completed was up to code. I find out that Omers painter uses a cheap spray method to paint the house, not brush and roller. I had tons of overspray paint all over my windows and floor. Took hours upon hours to clean. Sloppy grout work on my tiles, more hours to clean and chip it all off. I find out what little materials Omer provided were cheapest material on the market. $5 pot-lights, bottom of the barrel ceiling paint. I had to redo all the plumbing and painting. Re-Renovating my renovations. I lay awake at night about all the money and time I wasted hiring TOK construction. The constant headaches. My wife and parents reminded me of that every day I lived with them as well. I wasnt going to write this review because I like to see companies succeed, Ive never written a bad review on Homestars. But I wouldnt feel right if someone hires TOK without knowing my experience with them. Do yourself, your wallet, and your family a favour, hire another company to complete your renovations, literally any other company.

Approximate cost of services:
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Mark,

Sorry you feel this way about your experience. We take pride in all of our work. Any left over material can always be returned rather then delaying the job in sake to save money. We were not off by 11 boxes.

There was additional work orders that were added onto the contract and signed by you. These were never a part of the agreement. Therefor, any extra work that is not part of the scope will cost additional time and money. You were well aware of this Mark.

TOK made sure to outline what type of materials would be used in the agreement. Besides, you were granted workmanship warranty in case anything were to go wrong.

We understand a renovation can be quite expensive, and stressful. As long as you didn’t breach the contract TOK was willing to accommodate and help you out. We wish you all the best

-TOK Team