Skylane Construction Services Inc.

General Contractors
Toronto ON M5V
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
General Contractors
Skylane Construction Services Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winnerBest of 2021winner

Reviews for Skylane Construction Services Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Rosa
Rosa
0 reviews Whitby, ON
9/10

Master Ensuite Bath Renovation

Skylane Construction was hired to renovate our ensuite bathroom and we are very pleased with the outcome.

Reza, the owner of Skylane, was always an excellent listener as we described what we wanted and provided ideas as well. He was always quick to respond to our calls or messages and to address our concerns until the end of our renovation.

Reza and his team were punctual, polite, respectful and they usually kept the area clean and swept.

Our only complaint is that the job took longer to be completed mainly caused by some issues (resolved by Reza) with his cabinetry provider.

Excellent work, fairly priced, quick to respond. We recommend Skylane Construction and we will use their services again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We at Skylane Construction like to say thank you for your glorious review and for your business. It was a pleasure working with you and we are looking forward working with you in the near future and thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Angus, ON
10/10

Home addition

Skylane Construction was hired to raise our home to create a walkout basement and to build an addition for the entrance of our house. SkyLane Construction did a fabulous job, very professional. Rez helped us with all the drawings, engineering and getting our building permit. Skylane worked with our budget of 135K. For the exterior finishing Rez suggested to go with stucco, to keep the house much warmer and insulated in winter and cooler in summer that makes our house more comfortable and efficient. We are extremely happy with Rez and his team very transparent and honest and we highly recommend Skylane construction for all of your home renovation project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We at Skylane construction like to say thank you for your glorious review. It was a pleasure working with you on your project and we are looking forward starting your interior lower-level renovation.

Shannon in Milton
Shannon in Milton
1 review Vaughan, ON
5/10

Bathroom Renovation... 5 months in the making!!!

We re-hired Rez and his team of contractors after they did a beautiful job renovating our kitchen in July-September 2020. The bathroom reno started in March 2021 and due to covid we had to wait 8 weeks to get all of our fixtures and bathtub. Finally on June 5, 2021 we had everything and thought we'd be finished by the end of the month. Unfortunately Rez has spread himself and his team too thin because the project sat with NO PROGRESS for 8 weeks!!! After continually promising to complete everything, including having his subcontractors (plumber, electrician, tiler) in on set dates and having no one show up, we got fed up. I don't trust Rez to complete work on time, and he's taken on too much work for him to oversee the work he's promised to do. The plumber made the tub no longer level and did a brutal job installing the taps in the tub (hot and cold taps not in line with each other and too close to the wall so the tiling wouldn't fit!). He also told us that the plumbing rough in was wrong so I spent more time searching for that... but what we had on June 5 was correct all along - now I have to return a $200 part purchased online (after verifying with Rez that it was correct). Countless times there were excuses for why he or his subcontractors weren't coming or the work was being pushed further and further ahead. The end product is beautiful but the toilet already doesn't work and the lights in the tub don't turn on - Rez didn't take the time to Project Manage his own subcontractors. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We do not sub-contractor our projects and I am involved in all of my projects. Managing our team and meeting the deadline was not the issue here. And as you mentioned above we did a beautiful job with your kitchen and completed on time. That's why you hired us again. The issue here was that you ordered your own tub and faucet from Montreal and you purchased your own toilet from Home Depot. After the toilet was install the pump mechanism was not working was right you needed to return it and get a new toilet. Once you received your tub, my team and I came to your place on three different occasions and on all three occasions that we were there, we found that the parts were wrong and you kept sending it back. It took you 2.5 months to get this parts in order. Unfortunately with this type of tub we couldn't move to the next stage till we had the tub and faucet installed first. I have all the emails and text messages in case you need to refresh your memory. You expected us to jump back to your project after 2.5 months waiting and not realizing that we had/have other projects on the go. There was no respect and no understanding from your end, but I still booked you in with a tight schedule to complete your batbroom as I promised.
Bottom line your bathroom was delayed for your own mistakes and not because of Skylane Construction. I should have invoiced you for all the times we wasted and for all the free work that we did. And I still did NOT receive the last payment of your balance.

Adam in Courtice
Adam in Courtice
0 reviews Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Ensuite Bathroom Renovation

Rez and his team made our vision come alive! You can really tell that Rez cares about his work! He went out of his way to make sure we were happy every step of the way and was so nice to our young children - they were always so excited to see him! We are extremely happy with how everything turned out and highly recommend Rez and his team!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

My team and I at Skylane construction like to say thank you again for your business and the glorious review. It was a pleasure working with you. Our goal is to ensure that our clients are always satisfied and happy with our workmanship and services that we provide. Seeing you're adorable beautiful children every time did put a 😊 big smile on my face. The sad part to my job is when I'm working on a project and I develop a relationship with my homeowners for the term of my project I feel connected then when the project comes to the end I don't get to see them anymore.
Looking forward hearing from you soon thank you again Skylane Construction Services Inc.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement and Master Bathroom Renovation

My wife and I planned and discussed to finish our basement and master bathroom for at least a year. Finally this year we decided to hire a experienced, detailed, professional contractor to take on our project. As much we knew what we like, and purchased all the material and finishes, but we were not sure if the outcome will be the same. We interviewed a good handful of contractors and Skylane Construction was one of the companies that we interviewed as well. We decided to hired SkyLane Construction. Rez and his team did a fantastic job. Rez walked us through the project from the start to the end, communicated with us answered our questions and concerns that we had. This was a big project and Rez made it easier than it looked. SkyLane did beautiful job building and designing our bar for our basement and the vanities with two towers on each side for more storage. Overall we are very pleased with Skylane Construction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your glorious review it was a pleasure working with you and it wasn a very exciting project. We are looking forward to working with you in the near future.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Exterior painting

We hired SkyLane Construction to paint all our windows, backyard deck with railing and staircase. First my wife and I was thinking to change all our windows cuz we didn't like the white window frames. Rez suggested to us instead of changing the windows costing us $20,000 plus to paint them instead. Rez was very helpful and made it very easy for us to choose the color and communicated with us through the painting project. Rez and his team did a great job. We are impressed with the quality of work and the finish and never thought that it would look this great. After the painting was completed the next day we noticed some areas that needed touch up. My wife contacted Rez he booked an appointment for us right away and send his team to touched up the spots we pointed out. Overall we are very pleased with Skyland Construction service. We are looking to paint the interior of our home and looking forward hiring Skylane construction to paint our entire interior home. We highly recommended Skylane Construction for any home remodeling.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We at Skylane construction like to say thank you again for your business and for your glorious review. We are looking forward to start your interior painting soon.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation

Skylane Construction services Inc. did a fabulous job converting our 60 year old bathroom to a very clean modern bathroom. We are very pleased with Rez and his team finishing our project on time and stayed within our budget.
We are now planning with Rez to do our kitchen renovation and are flooring throughout the house. In the past we did work with other contractors, but with Rez and his team, we had a great experience... Always punctual, clean, no mess left behind and when they were done with our bathroom Rez sent his cleaning crew through our home and had it cleaned from top to bottom since there is always a bit of dust with any renovation. We've been really impressed and happy that we hired Skylane Construction. We highly recommend Skylane Construction Services Inc.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure working with you. We at Skylane construction like to say thank you again for your business and the trust that you have in us and your kind review. We are looking forward starting your kitchen and your flooring in the coming weeks.

Sameer
Sameer
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

Whole Home Renovation

In January 2021 we requested Skylane Construction Services Inc. to provide us with a quote for a full home renovation. We were attracted to Skylane due to the high rating on Homestars. Rez came out soon after and quoted us with an $80k cost along with an 8-week timeline, commencing in April with a June 1st move-in date. As May approached, we were told that there would be a delay given that certain materials such as MDF were in shortage. Due to the pandemic and our own research, we understood and paid an extra month of rent elsewhere. We provided a move-in date of June 22nd with over 30 days’ notice.

As we entered June, this is when we noticed significant red flags. There was a change in communication, saying we never had certain conversations even though they happened less than 24 hours prior. If emails were sent with information pertaining to project work, somehow they were not received even though all previous communications and invoices went through this email account. Work was continuously over promised and under delivered putting us in situations where we continually had our backs against the wall due to the fast approaching move in date.

We can deal with the lack of communication and even making quick decisions like being told to choose our vanity and kitchen counter tops less than a week before move-in (we had no choice and had to choose what was in stock); however, it was the actions the week before our move in date that changed everything.

On Tuesday June 15th we connected with Rez to ensure that we were on track and ready for a move-in on June 22nd because we were one week out. At that time, our stairs were not painted/stained and our railing was not in (because of the delay on the stairs). The kitchen and bathroom were not completed. Due to so many moving pieces, we expressed genuine concern with valid points and were verbally dismissed continuously with answers such as “it’s going to get done”, “I’m not running away”, and the most ignorant comment being “everyone has a choice my friend”. During this same conversation we were shocked when we were asked for the remaining balance as this directly went against the terms of Skylane’s contract. When we addressed the contract verbiage, we were met with the statement “No payment, no work”. Skylane’s contract clearly stipulates that 50% of the payment is due at the beginning of the phase and 50% upon completion (see pic below). Our bedroom, bathroom and kitchen were listed as separate phases in the contract. Costs for the renovation had risen and was in excess of $95K, with a remaining balance due being $5616.20. We had already paid 94% of our owing balance. Remember, the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen among other things were not completed by this point.

The second red flag was the insistence on having a walk-through of our house on Saturday, June 19th. Why would we do a walk through of the house when the project wasn’t complete? There was still work being done, dust and equipment everywhere and no ability to thoroughly review a COMPLETED project to point out any inconsistencies. During the walk-through, we found many areas that required work along with missing items (ex. The shower niche that was in the contract from day 1). Right after that walk-through, we sent an email outlining the outstanding items discussed to make sure we were all on the same page. After we sent the email, we messaged Skylane to confirm receipt with no response.

We followed up again that evening to ask Rez whether he had reviewed the email and again we did not receive a response. The night prior to our move-in, knowing that Skylane had yet to acknowledge the remaining work, we posted the same email in our WhatsApp group. We never received a response back there either.

On the day of move-in, we were shocked to find that the project had been abandoned. The key and garage opener were left in the garage on a box for us to find. There was no heads up or messages prior to us arriving. The moment we opened the door for the movers to begin unloading furniture, the stairs to our second level were taped off as they had JUST been completed that morning. Skylane knew our move in date well in advance and he knew that the stairs would be walked on. It’s clear that the timelines and the project as a whole was mismanaged.

Two hours after arriving at the house, we received a long Whatsapp message stating that all the work in the home was completed and that the steps should not be walked on for 2 days.

Below you’ll find inconsistencies, incomplete work and the lack of attention to detail related to our project:

1) Tiling in areas of the shower wall are rough and sticking out. There is no silicone/paint on the edges of the shower wall and vanity. The trim around the hardwood was not cut properly revealing a gap between hardwood and wall in master bedroom (picture #1)

2) Inconsistencies with electrical outlets throughout the house were observed. Outlets are missing screws and there are gaps between some outlets and the wall. Outlets are also different throughout home and are crooked/damaged (picture #2)

3) Missed paint job in the living room above our bay window, spare bedroom and foyer which was given up on. We were told there was nothing more that could be done. (picture #3).

4) There is an outlet right in the area where we need our 60” vanity mirror put up. Those measurements were shared well ahead of time to match the measurement of the vanity we ordered through Rez (picture #4)

5) Door hinges were missing screws, door stops were not put in and screws were different colors throughout the house (picture #5)

6) On Thursday, two days post move-in, as per instruction (picture #6) was the first time we could walk on the lower stairs (which were finally dry). I put my hand on the railing to walk down the stairs and it snapped off the wall. We immediately brought this issue forward due to the fact that this is a safety hazard and we were blamed for this. We are two adults and no one’s pushing themselves on the railing. We do however have grandparents who would need the railing for support. Imagine if one of them used the steps before I did? (picture #7)

Finally, there is still a contractually obligated item that has not been fulfilled, even though it was in the contract from day 1. We require a new electrical panel box casing. We are unsure why it wasn’t ordered well in advance of our move in date.

After providing Skylane over 95K to complete our home renovation, we have no choice but to pay others to complete the work that should have already been done. In the end, this turned out to be a disappointing and costly experience. I would not recommend Skylane for your renovation needs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I would like to respond to our client who provided the above review:
As their conclusion to their review, the client stated the following: “ We have no choice but to
pay others to complete the work that should have already been done”
All Skylane projects are warrantied for quality workmanship and safety for 1 year. It is
unfortunate that this client felt that they had to go to others within days of their “move-in”
date to complete what could have been better communicated and corrected with Skylane.
Since this client refused initially to sign a contract with us, we began this work in good faith that
a contract would be signed at some point during the project. It never was.
Throughout this project there were concerns expressed about the completion date coinciding
with the client’s “move-in” date. I repeatedly assured them that their home would be “move-
in” ready by June 22 as expected. However, there were some delays in completing the kitchen
cabinets due to pandemic shortages of material. Our client was made aware of this June 1st and
their installation date was changed from June 9th to June 18th.
On June 19th we completed a walk through the home to identify any outstanding issues and to
ensure work was completed to their satisfaction. What work remained at the time was the
installation of the kitchen counters & backsplash and the counter top for the bathroom vanity.
After our walk-through, the client provided an email list of items that they felt must be
completed before moving in on June 22nd. All were completed except those that were out of
our control (the counter tops and bathroom vanity counter top). The pictures shown in this
review were NOT identified or discussed during our walk-through.
The railing mentioned in their complaint was installed by professional installers on June 19th

but no mention of that railing was made in their email to Skylane. I only received texts from
the client AFTER the railing brackets were broken and AFTER the client had been advised to
stay off the stairs for 2 days to allow the varnish to cure. Any moving activities could have taken
place using the side entrance of the home rather than using these stairs.
I should also add that there were areas of uncertainty during the project as the client made
some changes to their requirements after the work was already started. (Example: building a
niche in the bathroom shower AFTER the tiling was completed).
As the owner & operator of Skylane Construction Services Inc, I always take great pride in
providing my clients with the best possible outcome for their project. I regret that this client
feels this was not completed. I have pictures, every step of their project with time and date. However, it would have been nice to been allowed the time to re-
inspect the completed work and address all of their concerns. But we were not given that courtesy.

Todd Rideout from Brampton
Todd Rideout from Brampton
0 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Complete Washroom; additional electrical; and interior door replacement

The cost was broken into several sections based on the work (which I liked); each project was broken down which allowed me to see the value of each; the additional items not on the billing were those items that require our input (vanity; tub; toilet; mirror; lighting; and hardware). Collectively it came out to Approximately $18K.

Considering this job was done during Covid, and manpower was limited; and materials hard to come by I believe Rez did a great job in getting it done. He has professional electricians; plumbers; and tilers within his crew who did good work, and with Rez and his assistant Winnie, they were able to complete the task within a few weeks. Considering Covid, not a small feat.

I would recommend Rez. He is likeable, knowledgable, and committed to his craft. I have other jobs lined up and have no qualms of asking for his help again.

Thanks Rez, for all your help! Till next time.

Todd & Tammy Rideout
Brampton Ontario

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business and this glowing review. It was a pleasure working with you and we are looking working with you in the near future.

Michael
Michael
4 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

Rez did an excellent job with our new bathroom. We started out with a complex project; opening walls, moving around plumbing, lots of electrical...Skylane made it very easy to get done. Pricing was fair and the job moved fast once we started. This job was a complete transformation and it came out better than expected. Rez gave some good guidance throughout the project and we were so happy with the result that we are currently discussing more projects with Skylane this year. I absolutely would recommend. This job will be huge for my property value and completely transformed this part of my house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business and this glowing review! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and we look forward to working with you again. Thank you again from the team at Skylane Construction Services Inc.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Skylane Construction Services Inc.

SkyLane Construction Services Inc. is a full service company that offer a broad range of services for your home, investment properties, commercial and cottage. Our experience and skills backs our ability to successfully complete projects of all sizes, ranging from property maintenance, handyman services, residential & commercial renovation, home addition, basement finishing, home & office detailing. Whether your goal are to improve upon, remodel or to maintain your property, our commitment to you is to make certain that your home, investment properties or cottage needs are successfully met through expertise, craftsmanship and meticulous attention to details. SkyLane provides warranty on all workmanship for a period of 1 year.

CATEGORIES
General Contractors and Basement Renovation
SERVICES
Interior & Exterior painting, Flooring, Tiling, Drywall & Tape, Deck & Fence, Bathroom renovation, Kitchen renovation, Basement finishing, Roofing , Plumbing, Electrical, Home addition,
BRANDS
Benjamin Moore and Moan
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2013
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 year warranty on craftsmanship
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.