Setter Home Services

Handyman Services
Toronto ON M6K 1Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Handyman Services
Setter Home Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

78%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Setter Home Services

Average customer rating:
8 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

Sean in Toronto
Sean in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Shady practices

I recommend proceeding with caution when using this service. I paid for a site visit and then they charged me an additional $257 for five minutes of labour.

They also gave me coupons (from previous mistakes they made) but wouldn’t apply them.

Was this review helpful?
Alex2020 in Old Toronto
Alex2020 in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom and Kitchen Reno done - these guys are just extraordinary!

The entire Setter team provided a very seamless process in helping me complete the much needed renovation for our kitchen and bathroom. The communication from the beginning to completion was a game changer because they provide you updates every step of the way. Their Pro's are completely on top of their game providing me with a clear expectation before their job starts. They seek daily feedback to ensure that the field work is going well!! I would definitely use their services in the future! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?
Amanda in Toronto
Amanda in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Installation of railing

Setting up the quote and getting the job done went very smoothly...the breakdown in communication started after my credit card was charged the total quote price even though I had been assured that the invoice would be adjusted, because less work had been done than initially quoted. I ended up being charged the whole quote and have received no invoice 2 months later. I have called 4-5 times and each time I am told that the person I need to speak to is not available and that I will get a call back that day. I have received no call back. I paid out of pocket to get this work done for my dad’s landlady who will pay me back once I give her the invoice. I am so annoyed that something so simple is not being delivered to me and leaving me out of pocket over $300 with my hands tied. I will never recommend this company!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Partial Bathroom Reno

Came across Setter on the internet and it appeared they could meet my needs. Have heard some horror stories re contractors but Setter sure reinstated my faith in them. Setter was right on top of any question I had and that included Meghna who would even contact me on the week-end. They sent me Yoni and his assistant to work on my shower and the finished product is amazing. Of great importance, I'm a senior and their price was extremely good compared to other quotes I received. Enjoyed working with this company and my contractors. If you need work done, I would highly recommend them. Thank you Setter!

Was this review helpful?
William23 in Toronto
William23 in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Appliance Diagnostic

Was having issues with my dishwasher and had trouble finding someone to come to my home and figure out the problem asap. Setter Home Services was able to come same day and diagnose the problem. Everything was clearly explained to me and fixing the problem became a breeze!

Was this review helpful?
Shilpa in Toronto
Shilpa in Toronto
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Terrible Communication and Customer Service!

I got to know about this company via homestars.com for rangehood installation. Until I paid for the service the team was great in following up and communication but the moment I paid at 10 pm on that day no call or email after that, I had to call them back multiple times and thats when the salesperson returned my call telling me issues installing hood in our kitchen. Even though I provided all pictures where rangehood should be installed and measurements of everything before making payment. I am being told when I called them back(they never called me) that rangehood installation requires some electrician to come in and check eveyrthing is fine for the technisian to install the hood. I was not able to understand if there was already an old hood installed they had to just come and install new one, why electrician was needed. I asked them to make me speak with the technician as I need to understand what will he check and why is he needed. No one returned my call on this one too. Then I had to call them multiple times to understand why electrician is needed and will that be extra cost to me, no one really confirmed me the extra cost and kept on giving different reasons for the same. Then one of the salesperson while explaining the issue to me tells me that electric wire hole going to hood should be moved up so now reason was new and now I am required to first move the electric wire hole up then call them to install hood. I lost my confidence in these guys and asked them to initiate my refund. The salesperson sent me manual email that fund will be initiated in 24 hours and I will receive refund email within 24 hours. I never received any email I had to call them yesterday as usuall to follow up to ask for my refund, a lady picks and says Meghna(the lady who provided me the quote) is on another call I will ask her to call you back in an hour and gives me status that my refund was not processed due to some technical issue. One more BIG COMMUNICATION GAP here, they keep your money for the service you never took from them for 8-10 days and then give you excuses like these. I have not received any call untill today and I am trying to reach them and guess what now no one picks my call.

I have two concerns here:
1) Why a customer is asked to pay upfront full payment and after making payment you are telling me this is the issue that is the issue. Why was this all not brought up before payment?

2) No communication at all after payment was received from this company on the issue these guys told me I had to follow up multiple times.
3) Its been almost 10 days my refund is not even initiated yet.

Note to Company Owner: I got the hood installed with the same hole and same hood, so your company does not seems to have expertise on installing hood then please do not fool customers and kindly return my money.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Shilpa,

We're incredibly sorry that this interaction took so much of your time. We've been wrestling with a new phone system, which is likely at the heart of why it was so hard for you to connect with our team. Generally we're incredibly responsive. It's part of what sets us apart.

In terms of why we ask for credit card authentication up front: we've found this ensures that customers will hold up their part of the bargain, and in return we offer a 100% service guarantee on every job (something you experienced when we refunded you the charge).

The miscommunication you mentioned about "being unable to install the range hood" is unfortunate, and not reflective of the expertise which we have in this space. We install hundreds of these a year, and it looks like our team miscommunicated internally, which is at the root of the issue you experienced.

We'd love to make things right with you. If you have another job you need done around your home down the road, we'd be happy to offer you a credit towards getting it done.

All the best,

Oliana from Vaughan
Oliana from Vaughan
6 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Fixed dryer

Excellent service. They were very responsive from the beginning. Within an hour a Pro was scheduled to come between 12-4pm. He arrived at 12pm. Fixed the dryer and was going within 1 hour. I couldn't ask for better service. It's been 3 weeks since the repair was completed and the dryer is still working.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the kind words Oliana! Please do let us know if there's anything else we can help with around your home in the future! We strive to provide the same quality of service across everything we do, from decks and fences to plumbing and electrical.

Tinaskingdom in Toronto
Tinaskingdom in Toronto
11 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

A variety of electrical and plumbing jobs

I pre-arranged a 4-hour slot for fixing things around the house, including installing a new generic light kit on a ceiling fan, a new light set in the bathroom, replacing a kitchen faucet and installing a shower door. Roberto did it all in the time allotted. I'll be calling Setter back!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! Glad to hear Roberto did a great job, and hope we get the chance to work with you again!

Preeya in Toronto
Preeya in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Dryer Repair

My dryer was making an awful screeching sound. I talked to Home Setter on Saturday and got an appointment for that Monday. The Pro, Alex, arrived in the scheduled window. He was very courteous and professional. He identified the problem very quickly and was able to service the machine on the spot. He had a lot of helpful hints to help keep my appliances working in good order. He was very conscientious of being tidy while he worked.

All in all, I was very happy with the service and would hire them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us Preeya! It's always great when our technicians can solve a problem on the spot Do let us know if there's anything else around your home that we can help with down the line!

abuzzolini in Toronto
abuzzolini in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Terrible communication.

My gas range needs repairing and I decided to contact these guys after reading the reviews. Communication at first was amazing. They replied within minutes and sent a quote promptly.
They have a system where they send you a link with the quote and if you are ok with it you approve it and then you get prompted to enter your credit card information and get charged right away.
I did all this and that's when everything went downhill. Once they charged my credit card the communication stopped. 24 hours after my credit card was charged I hadn't heard from them so I sent a message asking when the technician was going to show up. They apologized and said they would get back to me shortly. Another 12 hours went by and sent another message asking what was going on. They apologized again and the story repeated itself once again. When I had to message them a third time I ask them why something that should take 10 minutes to schedule was taking 3 days and why I had to chase them for an answer after I had been charged, they apologized again and explained that Summer is a busy season and their technicians were busy. Are you kidding me???
I asked for a refund and they were very nice about it. I got my money back but the frustration of dealing with such an unprofessional company and the time wasted are not refundable.
Never again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey A. Buzzolini,

Incredibly sorry you had a negative experience. Just took a look at our logs for your job, and you're right that the four-hour delay in reply between when you purchased the service and we got back to you was longer than what we strive for internally.

I can imagine that it would feel stressful not hearing back from us during this four hour period, and have empathy for the inconvenience we caused you.

If you'd like to give us a try for a second job, we'd be happy to offer a small credit off this next interaction as a thank you for giving us another shot!

All the best,

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Handyman Services pros in North York?