Stonemark Design & Construction

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Orangeville ON L9W
Write a Review
Write a Review
Trevor in Caledon
Trevor in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON

Outdoor Landscaping

BUYER BEWARE! In the summer of 2015, we chose Stonemark to do our landscaping work, after meeting with various companies/people. We liked Chris and trusted him. This work was important to us because we were spending $13,000.00 of inheritance money to have our property nicely landscaped! Chris completed the job in August of 2015. We were initially very happy with the work that was done. But now, we have been trying since April of 2016 to get Stonemark to honour their two year warranty on repair work. We have tried contacting them through phone, text, email and Facebook Messenger. In 2016, we were promised twice (April and September) by Chris that he would come “within two weeks”. This year, we have been dealing with Kaitlyn, and again, we were promised numerous times that the work would be done. Again, they have not shown up and now they are not answering our messages. They came once in May (while we were out) and fixed a gap between the steps, which is now crumbling away again, and ignored all the other glaring issues. While the interlocking work was mostly well done, the natural stone front patio started crumbling six months after it was completed. The grout was never sealed, so it is absorbing all the water when it rains and during the winter months. It has turned from a very light grey into a dark brown mess. As it dries, which usually takes days, it is crumbling off. There are many spots that need re-grouting. We are extremely disappointed and upset that Stonemark had no problem taking our money, but have not fulfilled what they promised with our purchase! These are apparently minor fixes (according to Kaitlyn), and yet they still haven’t done them. Don’t be fooled by the beautiful work when it’s first completed…it won’t last…and then you’ll have to hire a real professional to fix it. Unfortunately, we aren’t the only ones that have been misled by Stonemark. There are other negative online reviews regarding the lack of communication once they get your money. Shame on you, Chris and Kaitlyn!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our clients satisfaction is very important to us as most of our projects are referral based. We honor all requests for repairs and there are very few clients who have reached out with concerns. It is evident that your natural stone had been salted during the winter months which impacts the integrity of the stone and the mortar acting as the glue to adhere it to the concrete landing. This is why we advise our clients not to use hard salt on their landings. However, we still sent our team members to repair as promised. No other issues had been shared ahead of this visit and we asked our team to look around while they were there and address anything else visible.
Communication has been a focus of ours and we pride ourselves on our current response times and follow ups with our clients. As new businesses start up there are often bumps in the road and we appreciate your feedback to help us get better.