Stonemark Design & Construction

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Newmarket  >  Stonemark Design & Construction
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Stonemark Design & Construction

Average customer rating:
3.7 10 (3 reviews)

Sort by

Rocco Cerrelli in Orangeville
Rocco Cerrelli in Orangeville
1 review Orangeville, ON

Front Enteance

Stonemark Design did our front entrance - drop front custom inlay with blue stone landing . We are so thrilled with the scale, proportions and overall design. We really weren’t sure what exactly would work and they were great at communicating and consulting us on a design that fit our style as well as home. Great customer service . Very pleased

Was this review helpful?
Trevor in Caledon
Trevor in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON

Outdoor Landscaping

BUYER BEWARE! In the summer of 2015, we chose Stonemark to do our landscaping work, after meeting with various companies/people. We liked Chris and trusted him. This work was important to us because we were spending $13,000.00 of inheritance money to have our property nicely landscaped! Chris completed the job in August of 2015. We were initially very happy with the work that was done. But now, we have been trying since April of 2016 to get Stonemark to honour their two year warranty on repair work. We have tried contacting them through phone, text, email and Facebook Messenger. In 2016, we were promised twice (April and September) by Chris that he would come “within two weeks”. This year, we have been dealing with Kaitlyn, and again, we were promised numerous times that the work would be done. Again, they have not shown up and now they are not answering our messages. They came once in May (while we were out) and fixed a gap between the steps, which is now crumbling away again, and ignored all the other glaring issues. While the interlocking work was mostly well done, the natural stone front patio started crumbling six months after it was completed. The grout was never sealed, so it is absorbing all the water when it rains and during the winter months. It has turned from a very light grey into a dark brown mess. As it dries, which usually takes days, it is crumbling off. There are many spots that need re-grouting. We are extremely disappointed and upset that Stonemark had no problem taking our money, but have not fulfilled what they promised with our purchase! These are apparently minor fixes (according to Kaitlyn), and yet they still haven’t done them. Don’t be fooled by the beautiful work when it’s first completed…it won’t last…and then you’ll have to hire a real professional to fix it. Unfortunately, we aren’t the only ones that have been misled by Stonemark. There are other negative online reviews regarding the lack of communication once they get your money. Shame on you, Chris and Kaitlyn!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our clients satisfaction is very important to us as most of our projects are referral based. We honor all requests for repairs and there are very few clients who have reached out with concerns. It is evident that your natural stone had been salted during the winter months which impacts the integrity of the stone and the mortar acting as the glue to adhere it to the concrete landing. This is why we advise our clients not to use hard salt on their landings. However, we still sent our team members to repair as promised. No other issues had been shared ahead of this visit and we asked our team to look around while they were there and address anything else visible.
Communication has been a focus of ours and we pride ourselves on our current response times and follow ups with our clients. As new businesses start up there are often bumps in the road and we appreciate your feedback to help us get better.

Private User
Private User
1 review Oakville, ON

First Review


Totally unreliable

Be aware. Very unprofessional. We needed to have our project completed by a certain date so that the next contractor could start, we were told that this would be no problem at all. But everything changed after the deposit was given. Totally avoided me and did not return emails or msgs to let me know that they were running behind. Extremely hard to get in touch with once you agree and give a deposit. They need to learn some customer service skills. Due to their lack of communication other businesses schedules were affected.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We were originally contacted to quote your entire front and backyard project and even provided you with a design free of charge. When you decided to go with another contractor we respectfully wished you all the best with your project. You contacted us again in early spring asking us to complete a portion of the project. We accepted even though we were much busier at this time and we were upfront with you regarding the earliest start date.

We apologize for being unable to adjust the start date to an earlier time to coordinate with other business trades you had scheduled, however provided the very rainy spring it was unfeasible as it would require us to push back clients who had booked their projects ahead of you. When you decided to cancel our services based on this we immediately refunded your deposit in full, even though it was non-refundable, as we truly want all of our clients to be satisfied to the best of our ability.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.