Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business

Handyman Services
Toronto ON M2N 1R1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Handyman Services
Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Not a good experience

Brett had made a trip to my home to replace a bathroom fan. He had quoted maximum of 2 hours at 55/hr. When he came in, he took a look at the unit for approximately 10 minutes, took out electrical housing in the unit, then he mentioned that it wasn't possible to install a new fan but would have to find the exact model, or I would have to open up the entire ceiling which could cost a lot more. He said he wouldn't charge me for just coming in for now, so I just tipped him $20. Thereafter he told me that there is a supplier 30 minutes from my home that could supply the parts I need, if I brought in the part that needed replacing. I had decided to take the trip and bring the part in, but they had no matching parts or found one for me. When I confronted Brett about this, his reply was, "They told me they could". I went on to say I will be finding someone else to have my fan modded to be installed, instead of opening up the ceiling which could cost me thousands. I then asked him to come back and at least install back the electrical housing which took him 10 minutes to take apart, to which he replied, "That would be $110". Maybe he was hoping that I would go for the big job I am not sure, but asking $110 (2 full hours) to put things in original state which took him 10 minutes to do, to which I have no electrical knowledge on, was quite frustrating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

You should be ashamed of yourself Justin...if ever there was a circumstance of no good deed going unpunished, this is it. Let us set the record straight:

I based the initial estimate of two hours on grainy photos you sent me of the existing fan housing. I explained to you that I charge a two hour minimum and you were fine with that. On examination of the housing I found that the original installer fastened it to the brackets from the outside of the enclosure which meant that the housing could not be removed without cutting out a section of the ceiling to provide access to the fasteners. I have no idea where you got the impression that to do so, and then patching the ceiling, would have cost thousands of dollars...certainly not from me. As you did not wish to do this I offered to search for a replacement fan that would mount into the existing housing. I also stated that I would not charge you for the initial visit even though I spent an hour (not 10 minutes) at your home. I also stated that although the fan switch had been disconnected inside the housing that the wires were capped and that it would have had to have been removed to install the new fan anyway - there was absolutely no point in reconnecting a switch that would need to be removed again.

The search for your replacement fan took me to a supplier in Scarborough - a trip I made in order to try to help you out...remember, I still haven't been paid. The HVAC specialist at the specialty HVAC/Plumbing store stated that they could not match anything based on the measurements I had taken but that if the original unit were brought in they would be able to do so. Just like you, I sometimes have to rely on the advice I receive from other professionals. I relayed this information to you and even went as far as to offer to stop by and pick up the original unit to bring back to them when I was next scheduled to go to Scarborough. You said "please and thank you". You then decided to make the trip yourself and, unfortunately, the store was not able to find a matching fan for your enclosure. You then had the audacity to become aggressive with me via text message and to blame me for the fact that they didn't have a suitable part!? You then demanded that I return to reconnect the switch even though I had explained that it wasn't necessary. I told you I would do so but would have to then charge you for the two hour minimum - remember, I still haven't been paid! You refused this and then decided to attack my business and reputation on Homestars. Again, shame on you. Unfortunately, Homestars is not designed to protect business owners from malicious reviews...anyone can say anything they like and our only recourse is to sue for defamation and/or libel. Unfortunately, I have neither the time nor the resources to do this but, if I did, I would certainly do so in this case.

In the future, I suggest that you be aware that the people you hire to perform work for you expect to be paid. I would also suggest that you disclose all of the facts in your reviews. Renovations and repairs can be frustrating at times but attacking a businessperson that has done their best to assist you is unconscionable.

Good luck with the fan replacement.

Sincerely,

Brett Tague, Owner
Call My Handyman.

Midtown Toronto in Toronto
Midtown Toronto in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Miscellaneous Home Repairs

Brett took care of an arm-long list of miscellaneous home repairs we had been putting off for too long. In one day, he had them crossed off the list! He is now our go-to guy!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. Call My Handyman always strives to be efficient and provide 100% satisfaction. Glad we could check those boxes for you and eliminate that list. All the best! Brett.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Call My Handyman

Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business
6478507543
Toronto
ON
M2N 1R1
CANADA

Brett is the last handyman you will ever need! He recently completed a project to get my house ready for sale on the market.
He promptly provided me with a detailed quote that was very fair.
He did some repairs on the walls and painted most of the house.He repaired flooring and installed new tiles.
He is very organized, an excellent communicator,sends progress reports by email if we didn't happen to connect during the day.
Brett is extremely professional, and meticulous in all that he does.
He completed the entire project exactly as scheduled.
I highly recommend Call My Handyman.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to post a review. We're very pleased that you were happy with the results and timeless of completion. Best of luck with the sale...hope we helped raise the bottom line!!

Sincerely,

Brett Tague, Owner
Call My Handyman

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Painting and odd jobs

Brett is a great communicator. He answers phone calls and emails promptly and shows up on time. He painted a bedroom for me and did various other small jobs around the house, all of which were done very well. I highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Carol. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again. All the best! Brett.

Will from Koreatown
Will from Koreatown
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Various Odd Jobs

I have used Brett on quite a few odd jobs (big and small) over the past 6 months. He is great at communicating, making sure to ask questions and that he always exceeds expectations. He is also very organized which I love and provides detailed quotes and confirms all costs before proceeding. No surprises! He also present options if there's ever a better value / easier solution.

Spending the time to do tasks properly, there is no activity that I would not ask him to help with. It's his positive and responsible character that gives me this comfort.

The tasks that I've asked him to help me with to date:
- Building a beautiful deck with step
- Removing an old fence and building a new horizontal panel one
- Fixing frozen plastic plumbing
- Patching and colour matching an old hardwood floor after a wall was removed (this is after the floor guys I contacted on HomeStars told me it couldn't be done!)
- Removing and installing new trim (+ paint) for the 2nd floor
- Staining and painting stairs / window boxes throughout the house

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you for taking the time to post a review Will. Working with clients such as yourself are why we do what we do. We always strive to exceed customer expectations and I'm glad the, in your case, we accomplished that goal. Can't wait to see what the next 6 moonths have in store! All the best, Brett.

Ruby
Ruby
14 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front entrance & powder room renovation

Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business
6478507543
Toronto
ON
M2N 1R1
CANADA

Our front entrance, closet and powder room were the last phases of our major renovation, and we were looking for a professional and reliable person to finish the work.

I found Brett (Call My Handyman) during an Internet search, and he was able to stop by and provide an estimate at our convenience. We waited one month for Brett to finish a project and we were so glad he was able to start on time with ours, as promised (and he was definitely worth the wait)! A few days prior to the start date, Brett called to confirm his start date, explain the timeline for our project, and check that we had the materials required. I was blown away by his organizational and client service skills!

We just had hardwood floors installed so we laid down a lot of drop sheets to protect the floors and nosings. Imagine my surprise when Brett arrived with thick, clean protective pads of his own! I have to say, that was a first!

Brett removed our bi-fold closet doors, toilet, pedestal sink, and two layers of old vinyl flooring. It was a lot of work and he didn’t take any short cuts when it came to sanding the floor to remove all the adhesive. He screwed down our sub-floor and installed Ditra as we had requested. He redirected the water source for our toilet from the floor to the wall which required more plumbing work than expected. Regardless of this, we were not charged extra.

Brett’s tiling was meticulous, and he took the extra time to lay out the tiles one by one, ensuring a beautiful pattern without duplicating any similar tiles in one spot. Our tiles had about six different variations and out of all of them, there was one pattern that looked absolutely horrible. We showed it to Brett and he took extra care to inspect the tiles and use the ones we didn’t like in the closet area. We also wanted to use TEC products and Brett again took his time to ensure the products were mixed properly; he even brought his own measuring cups! Imagine my shock when I heard a timer go off! Brett really followed the instructions for using the TEC products, and I’m so glad that he did. TEC products are excellent and produce great results, but only when used properly!

The results as you can see are stunning. I can’t express how relieved we are to finally have our renovation completed. Brett knew we had been through a lot with setbacks and disappointments, and he went over and above to make sure we were happy. Brett’s work ethic, attention to detail and professionalism truly blew us away. He’s punctual and worked tirelessly every day, sometimes not even stopping to take lunch. He was never rushed and we felt he applied the same care to our home as if it were his home. His work style is meticulous, methodical, and he always kept the job site super clean. On top of this, Brett is very friendly, honest, knowledgeable and treated us with the utmost respect. He was extremely patient with all of our never-ending questions!

Our only complaint is that we wished we had found Brett sooner. We would have loved for him to have renovated our home when we started last fall. I know we would have been extremely satisfied and the experience wouldn’t have been so stressful!

In any event, we were are so happy with Brett and would highly recommend him for any of the services he provides!

Thank you so much Brett! We’re so glad to have met you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ruby. Hope all is well with you! I am so happy that, despite the issues you experienced throughout your reno, we were able to end it with a positive experience. It was a pleasure working with you and I hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future. I also want to say "thanks" for taking the time to post a review...it's very much appreciated. Hope to hear from you soon! Brett.

Kona in Toronto
Kona in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Painting of many rooms in my home

Repainted most of the rooms in my new house, as well as patching of holes in the drywall. Excellent job, very good work on keeping clean and ensuring the painting was done quickly but professionally. Rates were very reasonable considering the number of rooms and the paint coats required. Will call again!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks so much for your review Kona! It was a pleasure working with you and we hope to have to opportunity to do so again. All the best in 2016!!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Call My Handyman - No Longer In Business

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Handyman Services pros in Toronto?