Bellevue Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Toronto  >  Bellevue Landscaping  >  Back yard patio, garden installation
Kathy in Toronto
Kathy in Toronto
1 review East York, ON

Back yard patio, garden installation

I met with Ron in early March after a referral from a contractor. We discussed what I was envisioning for the backyard - removal of a portion of current garden material to replace with a new patio and new garden beds. Ron expressed interest in taking on the project making it clear that the project would not start until the end of June specifically June 24. I wasn't in a huge hurry as long as it was completed early July. We proceeded to discuss design, plant options, stone options making decisions as the June 24th start date approached. Ron provided a contract for my review in the meantime. I discussed the plant details listed in the contract and noted that they were not all suitable for the deep shade conditions in areas where they would be installed, otherwise I was ok to sign. Ron agreed and said he would look at alternative better suited options, revise the contract details and return to me. He also said he would look at his files for pictures of more stone options as well just to be certain of final decisions, although we had identified on a most likely option already. Ron said all would be provided by the evening of Saturday, June 22 in time for the start date of June 24 which he confirmed over and over was a go. June 24th came and went and no word from Ron. Not a peep, no revised anything. Were there red flags that I missed? Yes, there were, but I didnt miss them, I decided not to sweat the small stuff and trust. What were they? During the March to June interval, Ron came over to take measurements, discuss design options. If he made a commitment to provide some detail, whether design review, stone options etc, he always missed delivering on his own commitment unless prompted by me a few days later. A red flag? Maybe. I decided life is busy, not to sweat the small stuff. My mistake. Whats my take? Ron felt obligated to take on the job given the referral from an associate. The job was not complicated, but logistically labour intensive with unique factors that he probably was not up to taking on. June 24th came and went, and Ron decided the easiest way out was to ghost the commitment. Maybe he was signalling all along with his misses on deliverables to force me to make a decision (which itself would be unprofessional). When I didnt respond as he expected, he was left with no alternative, (so he thought), but to ghost the job. Unprofessional to say the least.

I fully expect Ron to respond with some sort of defence for a level of unprofessionalism that is indefensible.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for posting your comments. We did speak about a late June start but after going through our emails and text messages I wasn’t able to find any promise or confirmation of a June 24th start date. This came as a surprise.

We typically schedule projects once we have a signed installation contract in place. We were still finalizing details recently so your project hadn't yet been scheduled.

We do want to work with you Kathy which is why I made several visits with you to discuss options and drop off samples. However, in order for your project to proceed smoothly we need to be clear on the details before beginning as we require more information to perform the good work we are known for.

Please contact us at (416) 884-1486 so we can resolve your concerns. I've tried calling you and texting you since I heard about your review, but have had no luck connecting with you and I certainly don’t want to pester you.

If you don’t want to work with us that is ok. Kindly give us a call so we can either continue development on your project or wrap things up on a good note.

We look forward to speaking to you.