Red Seal Drainage & Plumbing Inc.

Drain Services
Vancouver BC V5M 2W2
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Drain Services in New Westminster  >  Red Seal Drainage & Plumbing Inc.  >  Reliable service with room for improvements
2 reviews Vancouver, BC

Reliable service with room for improvements

This is my first time hiring a plumber, so my review could be a reflection of my own inexperience more than the quality of the company.

I selected Red Seal because it is BBB-accredited and has received good ratings at Google and HomeStars as well. I was looking for a company that is large enough to last many years, but small enough to have little overhead cost, and Red Seal seems to fit the bill.

First of all, the quality of the service I received is satisfactory. The technician, David, removed a garbage disposal unit, and unclogged a slow shower drain; cleaned up the working areas nicely and left nothing behind. He also explained what was involved in the work, and politely answered all my questions about the material used and the pricing, etc.

Second, the owner Alex and the office staff were also very courteous. Alex not only provided quotes over the phone, but also compared my options and made helpful suggestions based on his experience.

There are rooms for improvements, however, in the area of service request tracking and management. First. the technician was late, being delayed at a previous engagement, arriving at 4pm when the scheduled time was between 2-4., and I wasn't notified of the delay until 2:50, an hour after I had called them to confirm. Second, the company mixed up my service request: I requested garburator replacement, they took it as removal. So the technician came without a new garburator and could not do the work. (I didn't want to re-book the service for another day and decided to change my request to removal instead.) These issues could have been avoided if the company had kept better track of their clients service requests, communicated and confirmed (in writing) with the client as well as the technicians sent to do the work.

In summary, I'm satisfied with the work that was actually done, and would consider using their service in the future. Hopefully, my review would help them improve in the meantime.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi An,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you had an overall positive experience with our technicians, David and Alex. As you mentioned, we always provide options and explain everything in detail before we begin any work.
We are sorry that there was a miscommunication with your scheduled appointment. We always schedule in two hour time slots and the technician was scheduled to arrive at some point between 2:00-4:00pm. We notified you at 2:50pm and arrived at 4:00pm which was within our two-hour time frame.
With respect to your garburator, we are sorry for this miscommunication and we appreciate you letting us know. All the best.
Red Seal Drainage & Plumbing Inc.