Green Works Contracting Inc.

Landscape Contractors & Designers
2680 Overton Drive Ottawa ON K1G 6T8
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Ottawa  >  Green Works Contracting Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
98%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
10
0
0

Reviews for Green Works Contracting Inc.

Average customer rating:
10 10 (12 reviews)

Sort by

gturcotte in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Our yard was a mess... overgrown trees, poor drainage, failing shed, more moss than grass, awkward slope... the list keeps going. We needed a large makeover and needed help with a vision. We spoke to a few people but Green Works won us over. Kellaway was open about the challenges we faced and the likely cost; and was frank about areas where we would regret cutting costs.

We had a lot of questions and a lot of design input – we were amazed at how well the initial design matched our wants and needs. Getting to the final design took a few months in large part because work requires us to travel. Throughout the process Kellaway always had constructive feedback… even when we were asking for things that defied the laws of physics. In the end, we cut some scope to stay within the budget but the main vision stayed.

The work started and finished on schedule despite some last-minute design changes. Green Works’ teams were a pleasure to have. They were polite, kept us informed of progress and walked us through any minor changes that were required. Given the amount of material and equipment we never had any issues with parking or access.

The final results are amazing - could not be happier. Our only regret was we didn’t do this earlier. I'll have to get some better pictures after the snow melts - these ones don't show the multiple retaining walls.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Guillaume, thank you for this amazing review. It was a pleasure working with you. We are pleased to hear you are happy with our work.

10/10

Greenworks and its staff impressed us from the first with their knowledge and professionalism. Very client-service oriented design and work. We had our front completely re-graded, sodded and the driveway widened and re-paved. The work was done quickly, without long stoppages, on schedule and well. Very happy with the result. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Emily!

Redkestrel in Ottawa
1 review , ON
10/10

I contacted Green Works to have my front and backyard completely overhauled. I was extremely impressed with the professionalism and design work, and relieved to find that the attention to detail they have is the same as mine. My front yard needed a new lane way, resodding, downspouts fixed, and a new walkway. My backyard was in dire need of a new set of stairs, and a new patio design to incorporate a small garden.

The workers were pleasant, professional, and able to answer any questions I had. They were efficient, and cleaned up after they were done each day.

The work was so well executed that several of my neighbours also contracted them.

I would highly recommend Green Works to anyone (and have). It's comforting knowing there are still companies out there that take pride in their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you! We really appreciate the great review.

Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Spectacular design. Unwavering professionalism. Superior quality. After completing both the back and front yard renovations with Green Works Contracting Inc. (GWC), we are absolutely pleased and extremely impressed with the service and quality of work they provided us with. We originally hired GWC to redo our backyard as the landscaping was in dire need of help, with overgrown and un-kept vegetation, rotted tree stumps, poor water drainage and, above all, zero liveable outdoor space. With time, persistence and patience, Kellaway navigated through our wish list, created a beautiful vision and made it become a reality. Kellaway worked with us to prioritize our needs and create a realistic budget. We appreciated his quick turn-around on the latest design proposals that always included an upfront detailed cost breakdown. Sure, there was a little apprehension on some of the design ideas such as the colour of the pavers or paying what seemed to be a lot of money just to cover your original back patio step with veneers… but Kellaway’s design was always proven to be the right choice. After seeing the new backyard patio we soon increased our scope of work to the front yard patio, lawn and driveway and we were very pleased with how quickly GWC made it happen. The crews for the hardscaping and the sodding were exceptionally hard-working, always positive and represented their company very well. They were equipped with the right tools and knowledge to get the job done, and they welcomed every question we had along the way. Our exterior is now one masterpiece that we are truly proud of, as it reflects who we are and provides us with peace of mind. We trust GWC and highly recommend their services to anyone who wants to get their jobs done right, fast, and with satisfaction guaranteed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words.

Caroline in Ottawa
14 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

I hired Green Works primarily to fix the grading around my house and in the backyard. I've lived here for three years but the house is 37 years old and it didn't look like the grading had ever been maintained. All the ground, including that under my deck, was draining towards my home. I contracted Green Works to fix the grading around my house, in the backyard and under the deck; to install a new interlock pathway and some river rock; to install pop-up drains from all the downspouts; and to lay new sod in the backyard.

From beginning to end, all went smoothly. Kellaway arrived at the scheduled time to look at what I wanted done and I received a very detailed estimate via email in a timely manner. I decided to go with Green Works and was given an estimated start date. They were two days late starting due to torrential rains which was understandable and out of their control. What I did appreciate a lot was that I was regularly kept informed by Kellaway as to the status of the start.

The crews who did the work were some of the hardest-working contractors I've ever seen. They arrived before 7:30 AM every day and didn't leave until between 5:30 and 6:00 PM. They were unfailingly polite and respectful of my property. All the work was done without disturbing any of the established plants in my back garden.

The first crew did the major grading of the backyard, took apart my deck and graded under it by hand, installed pop-up drains from the downspouts, and laid the interlock. When they were digging the foundation for my interlock (17"!), they came upon a very large section of boggy soil. They could have just ignored it and gone ahead and done the interlock. I would never have known until a few years down the road when the interlock started to sink in spots. They took the time to show me what they'd found, explain what would happen if it weren't fixed and to tell me how they could fix it. Fixing it put them quite a few hours behind schedule but doing the job right was obviously of utmost importance.

After the interlock was done, another crew arrived to do the final grading along the sides of the house and to install the new sod and river rock. The sod order was put in after they arrived at my house so it was cut and delivered fresh. New topsoil was installed, starter fertilizer put down and some seed was spread before the sod was laid. All of this was done to ensure a thick, healthy lawn. I'd wanted my garden beds left a little bigger and they were very helpful in determining a nice shape.

I was also impressed with how careful the crews were with all their trucks and machinery so as not to block neighbours' driveways or park for long periods of time in non-parking zones. There have been a lot of paving and landscaping contractors on my road this year and not all companies were as considerate as Green Works! After the job was finished, they cleaned up very well around my property and on the road.

The whole job was done in 4 days and looks wonderful! I would not hesitate to hire Green Works again for any future landscaping work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for this amazing review, Caroline! It was a pleasure working with you.

Rexalie in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

We were looking to have our sump pump run-off re-directed from the side of the house to the front ditch. Green Works provided really excellent customer service (both from Kellaway during the estimate and from Graham via phone/email from the office)!! The two men they sent to complete the work were amazing as well! They were very personable and knowledgeable about the requirements of the job. They even moved the leftover fill to our chosen location on our yard. I was most impressed by their clean up efforts -I was expecting a muddy lawn after, but they did such a great job of putting the sod back and cleaning up the soil that you can barely tell a trench was recently dug! We also appreciate how they placed the gravel with the larger stones in an artful shape! We will definitely plan on using Green Work's services in the future!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rosalie!

10/10

Thank you to Green Works… Their very professional and courteous team did a great job on our large back yard, without damaging any of our many flower beds and patio areas… They were efficient, quick, and the quality of their work was excellent… When they were done, they cleaned all the work areas… I highly recommend them… Cathy and Armand

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review, Armand. It was a pleasure working with you!

Michele in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

The team were all extremely professional and polite. Work was completed as explained and expected. We love our makeover, thanks! I would/have recommended them. we will reach out for our next project!

Was this review helpful?
Ann in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Green Works has just finished transforming the precarious walkways on either side of my house into seamless borders of interlocking that curve around to the back garden. They also took up my sunken and discoloured patio stones and replaced them with pavers to match the walkways, cleaned out the vegetation under the deck and filled in the area with river rock. Now I can sit out on a stunning new patio and watch my freshly laid sod grow!
This is the latest of three landscaping projects Green Works has done for me and each has dramatically improved the appearance of my home. Working with Kellaway and his crew has always been a pleasure. A contractor’s integrity is of vital importance to any homeowner, especially if that homeowner is a woman. I have never felt uncomfortable or disregarded. Everyone assigned to a project has been courteous and respectful of my property. They have always paid full attention to the work at hand and have never left me hanging with a half-finished job to start something else. Kellaway fully preps his on-site supervisors and checks in regularly to see how the work is progressing. When everything is finished, the final invoice matches the original estimate. These are the reasons I have stayed with Green Works and would recommend them for any landscaping project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow, thank you very much for the kind words! It is always a pleasure doing business with you, Ann.

Karen in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Our backyard was a complete mess before Green Works transformed it entirely. Our yard was uneven, had poor drainage, and our sod was non existent. The professional crew work extremely hard to ensure our yard was even more than what we hoped for! We are so excited to be able to enjoy our yard. We're going to be tackling the front yard next and will be calling Green Works to do the project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review, Karen! We look forward to working with you again, on that front yard.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Green Works Contracting Inc.

Green Works Contracting custom builds! That means we design landscapes to fit your lifestyle. Our 3 designated teams specialize in: Interlock & Asphalt, Decks & Fences and Sod & Landscaping.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.