Crucial Roof Services Ltd

Roofing
11526 81a ave Delta BC V4C 2A6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Roofing
Crucial Roof Services Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

98%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 4 timesBest of 2019winner 4 times

Reviews for Crucial Roof Services Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (127 reviews)

Sort by

Maria B. from Vancouver
Maria B. from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof and deck repair

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

These days it is really hard to find someone who provides not only great workmanship but also extraordinary customer service. I would definitely recommend Crucial Roof Services to anyone that needs a roofing contractor.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Maria. As a contractor we never know what we're getting into when the leak is hidden behind balcony walls. Your leak was especially surprising as the extent of it was, unfortunately, larger then expected. Thanks for your kind words and I'm glad we were able to help. Cheers!
Greg

Judy from Vancouver
Judy from Vancouver
7 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof repair

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Greg and Randy came to the rescue by fixing a leak in our concrete tile roof, on short notice, and just in time before the monsoon set in. Greg provided photos and a crash course in concrete roofing issues for us and did a very thorough inspection of the roofing system. They fixed the leak, shored up some slipped tiles, caulked a cracked tile, and pointed out an issue with a plumbing pipe which we were completely unaware. Excellent work at a reasonable price and extremely professional and pleasant. Six stars out of five!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Judy. That attic space vent was definitely a leak-waiting-to-happen.... and it didn't take much persuasion for you to recognize this.Thanks again and I look forward to coming back and giving you a no charge re-inspection in a couple years.
Greg

Mary L.  from Vancouver
Mary L. from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof repair

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We appreciate the transparency of the work done. As well, Greg was very good about keeping us informed about the progress.
Excellent work in general. I will recommend Crucial Roof.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mary. When you're spending the amount of money you did with my company I would expect nothing less then to keep you fully apprised of developments and progress. I'm so happy you're pleased.
Cheers
Greg

Handy in Vancouver
Handy in Vancouver
6 reviews Port Coquitlam, BC
10/10

Roof repair

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

I went with Greg and Crucial Roof Services because it was clear from our first conversation that he was committed to doing excellent work. Although not the cheapest quote I received, it was clear that the workmanship and materials would be superior, along with a better warranty. Greg wanted me to understand the structure of the roof membrane and why certain features were necessary. He recommended improvements to the ventilation to prolong the roof's life. At all stages he kept me informed of the schedule and their progress through telephone calls and email. When a small break in the weather opened up, he brought in extra crew to get the job done faster. He invited me up to the roof several times during the work to show me the progress and answer questions. After the work was completed the site was left clean. I would definitely recommend Crucial Roof Services to anyone wanting a good roofing experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Tim. A roof is a major investment so I want the owner to be comfortable in the quality and process of what he is buying. It was great that you were able to come up on the roof. Seeing is believing!
Your positive experience is worth sharing.
Cheers
Greg

Sarah from Vancouver
Sarah from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof and Sunroof

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We bought our house and soon began seeing water staining on the ceilings around the bathroom fans and skylights. There was obvious moisture in the attic but we couldn't determine where it was coming from. We called in several companies. One company told us we needed to replace our entire roof. It didn't make sense because our roof wasn't that old or in that bad of shape.
We were referred to Greg by another roofing company who recommended him as an expert on our type of roof (concrete tile). He immediately determined the roof and the sunroof was not leaking. He began investigating and discovered the problem, an easy fix that was much less costly than a new roof. The previous owners had obviously never been able to find the problem and had paid other companies to have things done that didn't fix the problem.
Greg is the lower mainland's 'Holmes on Homes'. He figures out the problem and fixes it the way it should have been done in the first place.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Sarah. I love the challenge of resolving problems and issues other contractors have not been successful with. I hope you enjoy your new home for many more years!

Soo from Vancouver
Soo from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

EPDM gutters

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Crucial roof has excellent customer service and reasonable prices for sealing seams of EPDM gutters. I had 3-4 quotations given to me but was most impressed with the knowledge, professionalism and honesty of GREG. He even threw in a couple of free seals that he hadn't quoted for at the beginning. He also came back promptly to check the gutters when I had questions and performed some minor work which wasn't related to the gutter seams for free. I highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Soo. I feel it's important to give a customer more then what they expected whenever possible. I'm glad we could do so for you!
Greg

Jamie from Vancouver
Jamie from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof and Gutters

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We have a concrete tile roof with built-in gutters. The gutters were leaking in several locations (typically at seams or near downpipes) resulting in water dripping through the soffits. I originally spoke to another roofing contractor, but was not confident they would do the work to our satisfaction. I then contacted Crucial Roofing, and immediately noticed a huge difference in the level of professionalism.
I was very impressed with Greg's level of customer service. Unfortunately, this is sometimes a quality that is hard to find in the world of contractors. His availability to answer questions, and the level of detail (including the photos) in the explanation of any issues or repairs was excellent. The initial price was competitive, and did not change (they even threw in a couple of additional items at no charge). Most importantly, the work was done promptly and the leaks stopped.
I would definitely recommend Crucial Roofing to others.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jamie. We strive for the utmost level of customer service and it sounds like you feel you got it. I'm very happy.
Cheers
Greg

BJ from Vancouver
BJ from Vancouver
2 reviews Burnaby, BC
10/10

Repair skylight leak

My home had concrete roofing tiles that required the services of a specialist and we were referred to Crucial. We relied on Crucial on several occasions to diagnose and repair leaks from our roof that suffered from installation deficiencies that we learned about later on. Besides repairing leaky tiles, we used Crucial to resolve a leaky skylight and install a vent. Each of these jobs were completed professionally and with high quality as evidenced by the photos that Greg provides afterward. I can confidently recommend Crucial for concrete roof tile service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you BJ. I am glad we satisfied your needs and left you confident that you hired the right contractor. Peace of mind is worth it :-)

Sandra Li from Vancouver
Sandra Li from Vancouver
2 reviews Vancouver, BC
8/10

Roof maintenance

I needed a roof inspection and to repair/replace some cracked concrete tiles. Crucial was able to provide replacement tiles and expert installation. They provided before and after photos of the work completed. Although they were not able to sweep the roof (not part of contract), they cleaned my roof and gutter with a leaf blower.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Sandra. It was a pleasure servicing your roof. We find the photos we send to customers greatly improve the home owners knowledge about what is up on the roof over their heads and also what they are getting done for the money they are paying us!

David H
David H
2 reviews Surrey, BC
4/10

Roofing and roof repair

I hired this contractor to put a roof on my carport. The roof leaked in multiple places from day one. He did finally come back to repair the installation errors but job looks sloppy. I hired him to do a repair on my house roof and he damaged my fascia in the process and refuses to repair it

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately leaks do happen. I can count on one hand the amount of times that a leak has happened to me and my work. I accept that the carport leaked in two locations, due to a perimeter edge detail. The attempted detail failed and caused ingress. The initial attempt was done with aesthetics being the #1 priority. After failure, we returned and fixed the detail according to manufacturer’s suggested work process. It is not sloppy. We are talking about a 2” x 2” area of perimeter roof detail that occurs no more than 6 times on the entire carport. No rot, no damage and no charges were incurred through this process. The warranty is still full and valid.
Approximately 8 months later I was contacted again by the home owner to help him solve a troubling leak on his 5 year old shingled steep roof. He told me he was no longer talking to the original installer as he was not impressed with his work or business practices. The home owner was upfront and honest when he noted that he was told by the original shingler that the proper way to apply shingles on his house included installing a layer of plywood to cover the existing shiplap wood deck. This, of course, adds more labour and materials to the cost. The home owner was given two prices, for each scope of work, and he chose the cheaper option. He now realizes the mistake he made as nails are popping, and will continue to pop, through the shingles in several places. I visited his steep slope house roof, did some minor caulking and did not charge him for the repair efforts. I was not confident I had found the issue. This service was done, for no charge, as a form of repayment for any perceived inconveniences associated with the leak in his carport. Unfortunately the troubling house leak continued. The homeowner asked me to return stating expectations of charges for the next visit. He had removed some drywall and found the drip location so we had a much more specific area to inspect. The issue, a popped nail, was found and repaired.
2 standards exist in the roofing industry. We cannot absolutely guarantee to always find a leak on an aged roof on the first visit. It’s not always obvious or easy to find so we have to charge for return visits if and when we are not successful on the first visit. The 2nd standard is that minimum charge service calls exist in the roofing industry. Crucial Roof Services Ltd has a minimum charge service call rate of $250. I was not going to enforce that policy in this case even though I had a co-worker with me and was responsible for his wages as well. I asked for $100. I was told he had $80 and asked if I would I accept it. I accepted it. I assumed this home owner was a satisfied return customer, as he had never complained to me through any of our previous interactions, and I was treating him as I would have liked to be treated myself. The caulking I applied to the wet shingle did not suffice. The leak continued. I returned again, on a dry day, and fixed the issue once and for all asking no further payment then the $80 I previously agreed upon. I was contacted a week or so later saying the troubling leak indeed has been fixed but he wanted me to return to repair the broken fascia flashing that he assumed that I had caused.
With regards to the house and its damaged fascia; the issue with the fascia is that it has dropped from its initial installation level in one location. It is not broken or damaged. It is a case of poor installation. I assume it was installed by the original roofer whom the home owner is no longer in contact with. I regret that I noticed the flagging flashing, when climbing up on the roof, and did not alert the homeowner immediately. It was not a major deficiency...and more so it was not my deficiency nor was it the deficiency that was causing the troubling leak.
It must be noted that this review was not posted by the home owner when the carport leaked. It was not posted when shingle repairs were completed. It was only posted after I told him I didn’t damage the fascia and that I was not going to return again, for free again, to repair poor workmanship from a previous contractor. I feel this review was posted out of spite as this frugal home owner was unable to continue receiving his discounted and sometimes free, workers and their services.
Crucial Roof Services prides itself on customer service. Please visit our website for company profiles, roofing photos, blogs, reviews and comments from all other customers.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Crucial Roof Services Ltd

Crucial Roof is a full service roofing company experienced in all aspects of roofing but specializing in torch on, shingles, and the niche market of concrete tile roofs and rubber membrane gutters. Our roofers are experienced and fully trained to provide the best results possible. Repairs, maintenance and re-roofs to and for all kinds of roof systems.

Roofing, Roofs, Roofer, Roofers

CATEGORIES
Roofing
PRODUCTS
Shingel roof systems by GAF. Torch on roof systems by Soprema. Skylights by Velux
SERVICES
Repairs, maintenance, new construction and re-roofs to and for all kinds of roof systems, roof inspections, tar and gravel roofs,
BRANDS
GAF, Soprema, Velux
WEBSITE
http://www.crucialroofservices.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Varies with roof system. Up to 50 years
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.