Drywall Guy

Drywall Contractors
3436 Courtice Road Courtice ON L1E 2L7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Drywall Guy

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (39 reviews)

Sort by

Doug E.
Doug E.
5 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

0/10

Main Floor Reno

At first we were very impressed with this company. We had a lot of drywall replaced on the first floor as we remodeled our space. Starting on Tuesday August 6, Dan and his partners worked quickly and efficiently on getting the drywall up. The taping and mudding took longer, as it should, and the result on first appearance was really good. But after the job was done, and we got to the painting phase, we found many uneven patches on the walls, a lot of "pores" in the mud that were too big to fill with paint and a couple of the electrical boxes were not drywalled close enough, meaning the switch cover didn't mask the holes in the wall. We had to do patching and re-filling, which we should not have had to do. Not a terrible job, but not a great job either.

Added November 5 2013: I feel I must reply to the comments of the company below. They appear to have forgotten doing work at our house! The work was done in the week of July 27. I'll attach a picture of one of the drywallers, in the hopes it will help the company remember the job. As they did not provide a receipt for the job, they probably don't have a record of it. I stand by my comments on the job. On the basis of the company's response I have downgraded my satisfaction/recommendation rating to zero.

As for the e-mails, mine were certainly not nasty in any way. Here they are:

Nov 1
to danielveilleux
Hi Daniel--
It's Doug Earl at (address).
We bought and installed a fireplace now and have boxed it in.
Need a mudder to finish it off.
Can you help?
What do you think this would cost?
(See photo attached.)
Thanks,
Doug

Daniel Veilleux
Nov 1
to me
Hi Doug,
My Finishers are very busy right now, you will have to find someone else, unless you can wait a few weeks.
Regards,
Daniel

Doug Earl
Nov 1
to Daniel
Okay, anyone you can recommend?
d

Daniel Veilleux
Nov 1
to me
No, the only ones I deal with are mine, I do not know anymore. I hope you find a good one to help you out.
Daniel

Doug Earl
Nov 1
to Daniel
V. surprised at your reluctance to entertain repeat business.
I know it's a small job, though so probably not worth your while.
Why don't you give me the number of one of your mudders and I can see if he might be interested in this small job in his spare time? What do you think?
thx
Doug

No reply received.

Review has 2 previous versions
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I do not know why you are lying, I have never done work for you. I received an email from you on November 1st, 2013 asking me for a finisher for a fireplace, I have never hung drywall for you let alone have a finisher come in, I have all your emails requesting the phone numbers of my finishers for you to personally contact them which is something I do not do is give their phone numbers out when I do not even know who you are. I explained to you how busy we are right now and you sent me a few nasty emails which I still have and do not know why you got so upset because I did not drop everything for you, it was not even a request to hang any drywall so why are you putting it on here as we replaced a lot of drywall on the first floor, it is a shame that people like you get angry and can write whatever they want just because they get an attitude with me when I did not even work for you and write things that are not true.

Bob in Scarborough
Bob in Scarborough
5 reviews Scarborough, ON
9/10

Drywall and tape kitchen

Dan installed about 16 sheets of drywall in my kitchen during recent reno. Completed the work very quickly and efficiently. He was able to work around the variations in some walls without any problem. The taper that he assigned to the project was very good technically. The joints are tight and very square. My only constructive feedback would be that the taper should have called to let me know of delays he was encountering and when he'd arrive.
I have already recommended Drywall Guy to 2 other people. Be sure to line up the skilled trades like Dan well before you need him.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Drywall Guy

Heather from Toronto
Heather from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

removing walls and drywalling

the inlaws are coming...the inlaws are coming, suddenly starting a demo project was the wrong idea...dan arrived one day after we called him with his team, helped to finish what we started and left beautifully smooth walls and ceilings in our open office space. the entire team was a pleasure to deal with, the work was perfect and they accommodated our rushed timeline with a fair price. highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Drywall Guy

joe seifert from York
joe seifert from York
2 reviews York, ON
9/10

kitchen reno

Dan and his team did a great job from start to finish.
I was very pleased with all the work that was done, and I even received some good painting tips!

The clean up was great. It is nice when people come to work when they say they will.

thx Guys.

Joe. S

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Joe, You did a good job with the demo, it was nice and clean when we got there and that made our job easier, also you and your wife was easy to work with. Dan
Thank you!
Drywall Guy

bryon salerno from Old Toronto
bryon salerno from Old Toronto
2 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

mudroom drywall

Daniel veilleux was great. he is a really nice guy who happens also to be good at what he does & to top it off he is very professional. he shows up when he says he will & makes an extra effort to give his customers what they want. he also is very flexible & easy to work with. hes also easy to contact. he did a great job on our small 100 square foot mudroom project. I would always work with danny for any future drywalling projects. he's now our drywall guy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you I do try my best to listen and give my customers what they want, I'm looking forward to working with you again on your basement project, you have such a lovely home, random people walking by would stop and some even take pictures when I was there working, you did a great job. Dan
Thank you!
Drywall Guy

Denise Dubreuil from Richmond Hill
Denise Dubreuil from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

DryWall repair

I would highly reccomend Daniel and Ed for any required Drywall work. Daniel answered my request for a quote promptly and once I met him I stopped looking for competitive quotes. My first impression was certainly correct. They are honest, polite, helpful, punctual, neat, efficient and hardworking. The kitchen ceiling and the plaster repair in the den look great and were completed on time. Thanks, Daniel and Ed for a great job. This is my first experience with Homestars but will not be my last.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for those kind words Denise, I really enjoyed working with you on this project, we try our best to get the job done quickly so you can experience the least disruption as possible and get back to your normal daily activities, I also wanted to thank you for your great hospitality during this process. Dan (Drywall Guy)

Andrew from Oakridges
Andrew from Oakridges
6 reviews Richmond Hill, ON

First Review

10/10

5/8 Drywall Ceiling installation

Dan and Steve installed our main floor ceiling. They were punctual and finished on time. My first thoughts were great folks who take a real interest in your project. The workmanship was top notch. True professional tradesmen who have pride in their workmanship. They demonstrated care for our home and left the job tidy. Pricing was very fare for the scope of work. Highly recommended! Thank you for a great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the quick review, I'm very happy that your pleased with the work, we try our best to do a good job, not to mention you did an excelent job of protecting the hardwood floor, I did not have to worry about damaging the floor and could concentrate on my work and that made clean up that much easier, It was great working with you. Thanks, Dan
Thank you!
Drywall Guy

Yvonne Gettins in Toronto
Yvonne Gettins in Toronto
7 reviews East York, ON

First Review

10/10

Drywall Repair and installation

We needed a drywall ceiling installed on uneven joists, and large portions of 3 walls repaired. After having several contractors look at the job and give us outrageous quote, and even tell us that one wanna CAN'T be leveled, Dan the Drywall guy was one of the few who said he could do it, and for a very reasonable price. We feel his quote was reasonable, and he was very personable and professional. He showed up when he said he would, and was very understanding and accommodating to fix something that we'd forgotten to mention (he adjusted his price to incorporate this extra work as we expected, but the price was more than fair). His taper, Ed, even came in on Good Friday to finish the job, which was a pleasant surprise.

The only thing we were unhappy with is that we were told all construction waste would be removed from the house, but there was a large bag of garbage left behind, as well as the taper did not use a dropcloth when he was mudding and left hardened mud all over our brand new tile floor. Drywall dust was not swept or vacuumed up either, so we had to spend the entirety of Saturday scraping, sweeping, and mopping the floor repeatedly. We didn't expect anyone to clean the drywall dust out of our whole house for us, of course, but I think it's pretty standard to use a dropcloth, plus one of the other reviews said they'd left the place "cleaner than when they started" so we weren't expecting such a mess. This one small step would have saved us hours of cleaning.

Other than that one small thing--which in fairness I don't think was Dan's fault but his taper's--we were extremely happy with Dan's work, the ceiling and walls look smooth and even, and I can't believe he was able to transition the kitchen ceiling to the living room as cleanly as he did. And the back wall that was left by another contractor with several inches of bulge in the middle that we were told couldn't be fixed and we wouldn't be able to get granite countertops? GONE. I really am thrilled with the work, and would happily hire again and recommend. Thanks Dan the Drywall Guy!

EDIT: Dan, you did tell us in person that you weren't responsible for "dust protection" and gestured to our electronics, so we assumed you meant to cover them and you weren't responsible if anything malfunctioned because of dust. We didn't realize this meant no dust cleanup at all. Regarding the trash, ultimately we wouldn't have minded taking out a bag of trash, except that you had set an expectation that you would remove the trash. That, combined with what we thought at the time was an unreasonable amount of mess, meant we felt it was worth mentioning. However we will happily chalk all of this up to simple miscommunication, because you are right that the price you gave us was excellent and we were thrilled with the work. Thank you for clarifying, and I'm gladly changing my rating from a 9 to a 10. I maintain that we would not hesitate to hire you in the future.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Yvonne, I'm very pleased that I could do this project even if some other contractors said it could not be done, I loved the challenge and at a reasonable price as you mentioned on your review. As far as the dust goes I explained in my e-mail on March 24th that I was not responsible for dust protection, when I met with Jeremy the first time and he explained he done most of the work himself and wanted to keep the cost down that he would take care of dust protection/floor protection. I never use a dropcloth, that is the painters, it is a safety issue for the taper working off of stilts, I have never seen a taper use a dropcloth in my 28yrs. experience. If you did not realize I did not charge you to straighten up the back wall for that large ceramic backsplash, that was wrongly framed where the door used to be. I did not take the trash out because it was trash from where I done your wall and did not think you would mind taking 1 bag of trash out since you were not charged for the work, and what about all the stainless steel applicances and the hood that I had to move out of the way before I could begin work, just so they would not get damaged. I was more concerned about that. That is the homeowner's responsibility, not mine. And as far as everything being cleaner after the job was done on a previous review he paid the extra money to not have to touch anything, you wanted a price break, and was reflected in the price I charged you, most homeowner's do not mind doing some of the clean up to get a better price. The miscommunication is between you and Jeremy, not me, if you would go over our e-mails you will see what I am talking about. The extra $100.00 was for a pot light that was in the wrong location and we had to cut out the new drywall and retape it. I will try to make sure the homeowner's understand everything before I start, I thought it was clear with you. Always check your e-mails from me, as that is our contract. Thanks, Dan

Drywall Guy

Adam S.
Adam S.
12 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Drywall work

We had a leak in our basement and a contractor told us that a small section of drywall was soaked and needed to be replaced. Given that it was a small job we were concerned it may be difficult to find someone to help. Dan responded to our call in short order and offered a competitive quote. He arrived a few days later and did a great job. We greatly appreciate his assistance and would recommend him to anyone! Thanks Dan!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, I'm glad I could help, I'm also happy that mold is not an issue anymore, that's a cute baby you have and I would hate for her to get sick because of mold. Dan (Drywall Guy)

Krista in Leaside
Krista in Leaside
6 reviews East York, ON
10/10

Living Room & Foyer Drywall

Dan the Drywall Guy was a pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for an honest, polite and hardworking drywall cntractor. Dan hung the drywall and then brought in Saul Cordova to do the mudding, taping and sanding. Overall we were very happy with the end result and he was very accomodating with our schedules, working to complete the job while we were out of town. We will use him again for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Krista for the nice review, I'm glad that you are very happy with the end result, and as far as completing the job while you were out of town worked out pretty good for all of us, I think your husband did a good job framing and paying attention to details, it makes a difference in the end not to mention my job a lot easier. Thanks again
Dan (Drywall Guy)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Drywall Guy

We do framing, insulation, drywall, T-bar ceiling, no job to big or small, clean up after work. Residential or Commercial, 30 yrs experience. We take pride in our work, we treat it as if it were our own, we listen to our customers.

____________________________________________

Drywall, Metal Framing, Insulation, Framing, all types of Ceilings

CATEGORIES
Drywall Contractors
SERVICES
Drywall, Metal Framing, Insulation, Framing, all types of Ceilings
SPECIALITIES
Drywall, Metal Framing
WEBSITE
http://www.drywallguy.homestars.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2011
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque and Cash
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Yes. Kindly ask for details. Depends on project completed.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.