Golden Acre Renovations

Renovation Advisors
CALGARY AB T3A0Z9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Renovation Advisors in Calgary  >  Golden Acre Renovations
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

72%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Golden Acre Renovations

Average customer rating:
8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

vAVZR2L4 in
vAVZR2L4 in
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Full Home Renovation

Golden Acre turned our typical suburban house in to a wonderful, modern home.

Jay Doty and his team of subcontractors worked well with our design team prior to and throughout the renovation. Golden Acre's subcontractors were a great help in helping us understand all their work scopes as well as (in numerous occasions) helped us reduce costs and stay practical while maintaining the high level of quality we demanded. We also upgraded a number of features (such as lighting, some bathroom items) using Jay's recommendations while staying within our budget plan.

We used Golden Acre's suppliers for the bulk of our materials without any reservations. Some of our flooring requirements were supplied by alternative vendor as the material was not available elsewhere. We appreciated that Jay and his team was able to work outside of his normal vendor selection without complaint or additional challenges. Prestige's cabinetry work always get our home compliments from visitors.

Golden Acre delivered a full home renovation on time and within our budget. Due to the needs of our children, Jay was pressed to complete the work in a firm time frame. The home was delivered within one week of our commitment date made prior to any work. This more than reasonable completion time kept us from exceeding our budget and negatively affecting our family life as we moved out to rental accommodations during the project.

We only had 1-2 unplanned costs arise during the project. We were able to manage these as Jay had prepared us ahead of time as some unknown issues when we started (condition of sub-floor etc. - which had to be replaced). To be honest, we added a number of features we had never thought of during the project. Jay helped us keep us grounded and not get off track.

In the subsequent year since our renovation, Jay has always been available to discuss and rectify any concerns that arise (all have been minor, such as a cabinet door replacement, shower head alignment and the odd paint touch up etc.). It should be noted that we had an independent, 3rd party review of the work prior to accepting the home back and no significant issues were identified. Minor corrections to paint and some cabinetry was made and we still turned the home over back to us within 24 hours.

We expected more issues and are happy to be wrong on this.

For what it is worth, Jay had promised up front that his goal was to not just deliver our renovation but to ensure we were friends at the end of the work. Jay was right. I do consider him a friend and highly recommend his services on whatever project you might have.

Was this review helpful?
Janice in Calgary
Janice in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Right from the beginning Jay was business like, authentic, and respectful to his workers and to us, his customers. The contractors hired seemed more interested in doing a proper job instead of doing it as fast as possible which I appreciated. If problems arose they were attended to rather than covered up. The work schedule was explained and we were kept informed of any possible changes. He was constantly in contact arranging for the trades to be ready at the appropriate time resulting in the kitchen being done ahead of schedule. I could tell the trades people respected Jay as he was fair and lent a hand when needed.

Was this review helpful?
Gary in Okotoks
Gary in Okotoks
1 review Okotoks, AB
10/10

Completely Thrilled with our Kitchen Renovation

We met Jay Doty while looking for kitchen ideas at the Calgary Home Show and decided to hire him to do our kitchen at our acreage home. We feel VERY fortunate that we chose Jay. Try as we might, we can't come up with one negative thing about the experience. We love our new kitchen and laundry room. We haven't found one flaw in the year we've had them. Jay guided us to great cabinet and granite sources and helped us make good choices. He came in slightly under budget. The tradesmen he hired were all cheerful to have around and trustworthy. The quality of work is exceptional. And Jay kept us up to date on progress and costs every step of the way. As far as I'm concerned, it's a 100% perfect job, and I would hire him again in a second. Thank you Jay for making our home gorgeous!

Was this review helpful?
golfergirl  from Calgary
golfergirl from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

townhouse renovation

Jay was my general contractor for the renovation of my townhouse
(new fireplace, carpet, paint, tile, bathtub and surround, dry wall) I found Jay to be considerate, patient and knowledgeable. He has high standards on the quality of work performed and this is reflected in the subcontractors he used. They were professional and did great work. They knew exactly what work needed to be done and all work was done on time. I would certainly use Jay again for any future renovation projects.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB

First Review

0/10

Bathroom renovation

Jay Doty passed himself off as the General Contractor and in addition to the overall quote he changed us $1000 fee to manage his subcontractors and the project. Manage he did not! His knowledge and ability as well as his contractors was armature at best with many mess ups, damage to products and property, incorrectly installed items and overall poor quality of work. Jay refused to step up and take responsibility for any of our concerns no matter how minor they were or how significant!. The project in the end took far longer and cost much more than he originally estimated and left us with a product we now need to get someone in to fix. If you are considering Golden Acre Renovations run, don't walk away!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

With respect to the foregoing comments posted by Kevin McAuley, we are sorry that you as the homeowner feel this way. Any cost overruns were solely due to additions/changes made by you to the original scope of renovations. Regretfully, completion of the project was indeed delayed primarily due to lengthy out of country absences on the part of you the homeowner. Numerous steps were taken to address your concerns (eg. new drywall was installed in the bathroom and painted 4 times). Other concerns raised were addressed by including the involvement of factory reps who validated our work and processes. Unfortunately, we were not able to resolve all matters to your satisfaction despite our willingness to come back and address any outstanding issues. As a general contractor, it is my ongoing desire to meet all of my customers’ expectations and our offer to resolve your outstanding concerns with respect to any products/work provided by us remains! Note: several of the concerns raised pertained to products purchased directly by the homeowner which were not supplied by us as the general contractor.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.