UPDATE: After discussing the issue and our displeasure with the Gitano team (see initial review below) it is clear that a simple misunderstanding was at play. We were very satisfied with their responses to our concerns. They promptly and thoroughly addressed every one of our complaints and generously offered to remedy any and all issues we had. At the end of the day I would not hesitate to recommend Gitano to anyone.
We had agreed to hire Gitano last week to replace our roof, where we had
explicit and specific instructions about not scheduling the job until AFTER Aug 23rd. Prior to replacing the roof, we were planning for a mold specialist to inspect the attic (we previously had a leak) to see if there was more damage requiring more layers of the roof to be removed.
First surprise: Even though we did not have a scheduled date, Gitano's suppliers immediately dumped shingles on our front lawn, and some other supplies on our front path. We were heading out of town for several days, so I moved the cardboard cartons into our mudroom so they wouldn't get soaked if it rained while we were gone.
Second surprise: Upon returning from our trip on Aug 19th, we find the shingles and materials gone, a section of front lawn pulled up, and our backyard furniture moved (table stacked on top of our coffee table, lawn chairs unstacked). Turns out that against our very specific instructions, Gitano's team came and replaced our roof! So not only did they trespass on our property while we were out of town and prior to our home inspection, we are now on the hook for $4000+ job that we did not authorize, and we are beholden to them if we are to rely on them for the 15-year warranty.
- Company Response
Thank you for trusting us with your roofing project and giving us the opportunity to work with you to resolve all of your concerns. We are glad that you are you happy with the roof and the workmanship and we have used all of your feedback to improve on our admin process. We don't believe that we have earned payment until you are fully satisfied which is why as a policy we don't require a deposit and we don't send an invoice until you are happy. Enjoy your new roof and we have your back for the next 15 years!