Monarch Kitchen Bath & Home

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
6-1020 Brock Road Pickering ON L1W
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Bathroom Renovation
Monarch Kitchen Bath & Home
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2017 winnerBest of 2017winner

Reviews for Monarch Kitchen Bath & Home

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (64 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
0/10

Kitchen Renovation

We hired Monarch to redo our kitchen. They came into our house to start the job Aug 27, 2018. My husband had everything ripped out and prepped for them so all they had to do was install the cabinets, measure for counter top and install. This was to take approximately 3 weeks. They finally finished the job March 8, 2019. To say they put us through hell is no exaggeration. They measured wrong so everything was downhill from there. Their installer is anything but professional. Most of what he did had to be redone. I would NEVER, NEVER hire this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You are correct! We made an error when measuring your kitchen for the new cabinetry. Your project was scheduled to commence the week of September 24th and we started the installation on September 27th. We attended a site meeting and at that time the error was discovered. We immediately ordered new cabinetry to correct this situation. Furthermore, we added additional cabinets and countertops to configure your kitchen the way it was supposed to be. This was done at no additional cost to you. Unfortunately, we had lost your trust and we had to work under the time constraints that you put on us to complete your project. At no time did we shirk our responsibility to you, our valued clients. We would not rest until your beautiful new kitchen was complete and we had honored our commitment to you. Thank you for considering our position. Now that your project is complete, we wish you and your family many years of enjoyment in your new kitchen.
Neil Samson

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

3 Years & Counting

It's now 3 years of enjoying our renovations to our Kitchen and 2 Baths.
Up front detailed plans and cost estimates were provided and changes made on the itemized cost estimate.
Minor deficiences were corrected at no cost or fuss.
Warranty was clear and adhered to.
Having been in the constrution/development business for over 30 years I would encourage everyone to secure a price from this company no matter the size of your project.
The old saying "You only get what you pay for" ia 100% applicable for this company.
The President Neil is a renovation expert and watches every penny of your renovation as if it were his own.

KW

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much. We are honoured that you chose to work with the Monarch team, and proud that we met your very experienced expectations.

Karen from Toronto
Karen from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom and Kitchen Renovation

We did an extensive amount of research to determine the company we wanted to partner with for our bathroom and kitchen renovation. Monarch came out on top during our review and once the work started they maintained that standard. Partnering with Janet our designer to help us through the initial process was a great experience. She has an exceptional eye for design and understands her clients style after visiting the home and meeting in the showroom. The team of project managers, plumbers, electricians and the rest of the support group were knowledgeable and professional. They were on time, and on budget. When things did stray from the plan, Neil (the owner) was on the phone with an explanation and a solution immediately. I would highly recommend this team

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with our team. We've enjoyed working with you as well!

ron.pfaff in Pickering, ON L1X 1V2, Canada
ron.pfaff in Pickering, ON L1X 1V2, Canada
3 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Full Kitchen Re-Design and Renovation

Monarch Kitchen and Design came highly recommended to us when we decided to go ahead with a full kitchen design and renovation. We were not disappointed. Our designer was outstanding, working with us to come up with an excellent layout with special attention to the important details related to final fit and finish.

The members of the construction team were excellent showing great respect to our home and quality of the fit and finish of their finished work. All required permits were obtained, and the project was generally finished on time and on budget despite some hidden and unforeseen obstacles. We have been enjoying our new kitchen ever since and highly recommend Monarch to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate that you chose to entrust the Monarch team with your renovation. Thank you for sharing that our team was respectful of your home as that is our greatest goal.

Karen in Toronto
Karen in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom and Kitchen Renovation

We just completed a Kitchen and Bathroom renovation with our partners at Monarch. Renovations are a large undertaking so we did extensive background homework to make our final choice. Right from the start Monarch exceeded expectations. Our designer Janet met us at our home on the weekend to better understand our space and our needs. We then met at the show room where she had already prepared several design concepts and corresponding materials. She was amazing and made this process easy and fun. Once the team got started with Ryan as the lead every crew including tear out, electrical, plumbing etc was super professional and great to work with. While no renovation is perfect we did have a few small glitches but Neil was on top of this, calling with updates and solutions when something did need his attention. Overall we are thrilled with the work and the team at Monarch

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Karen, for choosing Monarch to work with you to transform your home. We know you will enjoy your new spaces for years to come, and don't hesitate to call if there is anything else we can help with.

CNovy in Ajax
CNovy in Ajax
2 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Family Room Built-Ins and Fireplace

We used Monarch to install some cabinets around our family room fireplace and install tile on the fireplace and up the wall behind. We worked with Chantal to go through an extensive design process; Chantal was great to work with and was very helpful in settling on our final design despite our very detailed questions.

The cabinets took approximately 8 weeks to be delivered, well within the estimate provided. The installation process (done by Randy) was generally smooth and clean. He always cleaned up as much as possible at the end of each day.

While there was a hiccup with the order itself (we had ordered doors on the cabinets and they were delivered with drawers), Monarch immediately rectified the error and ordered the proper doors for us. They were delivered and installed within a very reasonable time frame.

Overall, the work was very well done and we are very pleased with the final product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We enjoyed working with you and think the final result looks fantastic!

The Traceys in Pickering
The Traceys in Pickering
1 review Pickering, ON
9/10

Kitchen & powder room renovation

We are very satisfied with the communication and tradespeople employed by Monarch. The renovation was done in a timely manner by professional and courteous tradespeople. We were pleased with the services that Monarch provided including kitchen design and the outstanding hands-on approach of the owner.

We are very thrilled with our new kitchen and powder room and would highly recommend Monarch to any of our friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing to work with the Monarch team. We're so happy to hear you are pleased with both the experience and the finished projects.

Quality PotLight in Pickering
Quality PotLight in Pickering
2 reviews Pickering, ON
8/10

Kitchen & Laundry Room

We are very pleased with the service, the design and the products. Monarch started on time and finished close to the estimated end-date. The cost was on target, increased only because we had a few extra things done. Our only knock on the project was a wrong measurement in the laundry room and each resulting fix caused it's own problem. In the end, we fixed it our selves (actually, a friend who has the tools, brawn, and know-how did it for us). In fairness, I'm sure Monarch would have fixed the issue if we had waited long enough but I needed a working laundry room over the holidays and so could not leave it. There remains a small issue in this room but I think we will just have to live with it. That's the only disappointment in this renovation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jane & David, we completely understand your position on your laundry room and we are extremely sorry that we were unable to provide the manpower to resolve the issue.  However that being said, you can rest assured that we most definitely would have completed this work for you.  We are sure you would agree that the holiday season is very busy time of year, with all the hustle and bustle that it entails.  At Monarch, all of our team members work very diligently to ensure that all our clients are totally satisfied with their completed projects.  You, our valued clients are our number 1 priority. 

You mention that there is a small issue that you ‘will have to live with’.  We are unaware of any outstanding issue.  Please contact us regarding the issue you are referencing and we will work with you to resolve this matter.  We value the trust you have placed in Monarch Kitchen, Bath & Home and we won’t rest until you are completely satisfied.  We want you both to have many years of enjoyment in your beautiful new kitchen and laundry room. 

Neil Samson

Henry in Pickering
Henry in Pickering
5 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

New Master Bathroom and Exercise Room

We used Monarch to renovate our kitchen several years ago, and they were amazing. As a result, Monarch was the only company we considered for renovating our master bathroom, which was small and still stuck in the 1980's.

An in-home visit was followed by several design meetings, where we were given at least a half-dozen design options to choose from. In the end, we decided to make it a bit bigger of a project, and actually move a wall to make it a bigger bathroom. The adjoining room was included in the renovation, to become a new exercise room.

The designer we worked with took all of our input and allowed us to choose our own finishes, while still providing design direction throughout.

All work was done on time, and the contractors were careful to keep our house and carpets clean. Lots of communication throughout, let us know what was happening when.

There were some small issues, as would be expected for a project of this size. All issues were dealt with quickly and to our satisfaction.

In the end, we are extremely happy that we chose Monarch for this renovation. We would not hesitate to recommend them highly to our family and friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for working with us again, Henry. We love your new bathroom!

L Drennan in Pickering
L Drennan in Pickering
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Customer Service

Even though we had our kitchen renovated back in 2010 today when you call Monarch Kitchens & Bath with a question or concern they are there to answer your questions and even help you solve a problem you might have. Customer service is no. 1 with them, they don't forget about you after the job is done.

L Drennan

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We were happy you chose us then, and are happy to serve you again now. We stand behind our work and will always support our customers.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Monarch Kitchen Bath & Home

Monarch Kitchen Bath & Home's philosophy is straightforward - our commitment to your complete satisfaction. We are a team of dedicated professionals working together to serve you. We use cutting edge technology, keep in tune with local and international market trends and align ourselves with business partners who are also dedicated to your satisfaction.

CATEGORIES
Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design, Kitchen Planning & Renovation, and Bathroom Renovation
PRODUCTS
Kitchen and Bathroom renovations- Kitchen Cabinets, Bathroom Vanities, Design Services,
SERVICES
Monarch Kitchen & Bath Centre offers full design and renovation services for your home. We cover projects of all sizes from a counter top replacement to full kitchen and bathroom renovations.
BRANDS
Cuisine Laurier, Urban Effects Cabinetry, Miralis Kitchens
STYLES
We have designers on staff to help you find your perfect style.
SPECIALITIES
Creative designs, Insured and bonded trades, complete project management.
WEBSITE
http://www.mkbi.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1981
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
RETURN POLICY
N/A
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque Visa Mastercard
LICENSES
Metro License
MEMBERSHIPS
(CGBC) (NKBA) (APBOT) (BBB) (CFIB)
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
(DSPC) (BKDC) (AKDC) (BBDC) (ABDC)
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
15000.00
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Manufacturers Warranty 5 Years-Lifetime./ Monarch Warranty 1 year
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.