Homes By Avi Inc.

Builders
245 Forge Road SE Calgary AB T2H 0S9
HomeStars  >  Builders in Calgary  >  Homes By Avi Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
69%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
12
1
5

Reviews for Homes By Avi Inc.

Average customer rating:
6.8 10 (85 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

My wife and I had a near devastating experience with a prior builder. We were skeptical to build again, but were very impressed with Sylvia representing Homes by Avi. The entire experience was positive and they built us a beautiful home, near flawless, with expert craftsmanship, closely monitored by Dave, a true master of his trade, our site super. We believe in merit, where merit is due and it most certainly is due here. Thank you guys for delivering a safe and beautiful home to us and our three kids.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks you for the review and giving building another chance with us! We love hearing that our customers are happy and our staff made the process easy. We wish you all the happiness in your new home!

Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
6/10

We received possession of our new home in April 2016. Our sales woman who dealt with all the structural components of our home was amazing, and is primarily the reason I would recommend building with Homes by Avi, from start to finish she was hands on, always available, and really took the time to go through everything with us, which we really needed as it was our first home we were buying. However, we had a less than stellar experience with the selections team, our designer was going away on holiday's and the whole process seemed rush and not well explained, our sales lady once again saved the day and had to step in and explain what 90% of the items we had selected even were, as we had no clue what had been added. That being said our home is beautiful, and all in all the process went fairly well. My main issue at this point is Warranty, minor things such as nail pops or doors not closing properly were all corrected in a timely manner at the close of our first year. But, other things such as our garage floor not being sloped properly, or siding falling off hasn't been so easy. We've requested our garage floor be corrected for months, always being told "I've asked the company to come and take a look", but never any follow-up. It feels as though we are no longer a valuable customer now that they have our money and are in no rush to stand by their workmanship. That is the major reason why I would hesitate to recommend this builder to friends or family, our home is beautiful, but constantly trying to get someone to come out and correct the issues with the build is extremely frustrating.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As a company we pride ourselves on delivering quality products and customer service to our homeowners, whether they are a first time or repeat buyer, so we would like to address these issues, if possible, so you can enjoy all of your home. If you would please email [email protected] in our warranty department with your job number or address and contact information, we can look into the matter and contact you directly to rectify and discuss further. The teams hold your concerns to a high regard, and we do wish to rectify your concerns.

Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Bought a quick possession home before it was finished. Final product was full of cheap finishings. Paint job was terrible. The way the doors opened didn't make sense. Cheapest carpet possible was installed and before we even lived in for a year they look like they needed to be replaced, which isn't cheap. Many other issues. Would not recommend this builder at all.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As a company we pride ourselves on delivering quality products and customer service to our homeowners, whether they are first time or repeat buyers, so we would really like to address these issues, if possible. If you would please email [email protected] in our warranty department with your job number or address and contact information, we can look into the matter and contact you directly.

Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Bought a townhouse from Avi. No issues prior to buying, totally different story once contract signed. Many issues. They are ignoring us.

Very disappointed with them and would no longer recommend them. Be careful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We welcome feedback and will work hard to rectify customer issues, where we can. Further to that, our staff always aim to be as transparent with home owners as possible to avoid any miscommunication throughout the purchasing process and provide documentation along the way to further reinforce the standards of our product.
We’re sorry you have felt the need to reach out to us on this platform to have your concern assessed. We urge you to work with our warranty department directly - when issues are brought to our attention, our teams address them and provide solutions.

Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
3/10

We had our new house built in 2016. All score given was towards their sales, the reps were great and helpful in a timely manner. Our experience with their selection center was absolutely terrible. "Designers" were giving nearly 0 advise, you will be on your own and be ready to pay tons of money for for most of "upgrade" item in full overpriced price on top of your agreement, no credit back. We've been dealing with two of their designs, one left the company in the middle and all the second wanted is to kick our case to the construction.
When it turns into after service the lady we deal with mainly now is "Nicole". You have to follow with everything reported, several times, and wait for her to receive the response from others. After two or three emails if the problem still can't be solved, you will either be told "confirmed with xxx and that's the way it is" or directed to call their sub trades customer service. Aren't we only having only one contract that is with HBA only? Now we're planning to do some work in our backyard and was told that the grading hasn't been approved by the city yet and was not supposed to touch anything or you have to take care of the rest. No one from HBA mentioned the permit hasn't been granted, not when we were asking about the final grading report and found out there could be some problem. If you don't ask, it could be on your own. Be careful!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your experience with us. When issues are brought to our attention, our teams work diligently to address them and provide solutions where we can. You are no exception.
To clear a few things up, any finishing’s that are upgraded are subject to additional costs. That is standard practice and we do not provide credit for any upgrades made in the selections centre.
We would like to sort out your concerns with our service department. In instances where customers are outside of the warranty period, we direct them to our sub trades to see if there is an extended warranty (although extended warranties are not always available). We agree, you are supposed to have only one contact while building, and that’s with us. If we haven’t done our job, we need to make it right.

It would be helpful for us to be able to look at your customer file, so we invite you to call the Edmonton office to discuss further and work towards resolve.

Oh, and your initial designer, Kelly, left on maternity leave and is due back in a few months. Her and baby are healthy and we can’t wait to welcome her back to work.

Chinekwu  in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

March 2016 we were shopping for house. November 2016 we passeased the most beautiful house in the world! Courtesy of homesby Avi. We went to the Nolanhill office 30 minutes after the sales guy remembered our names after 30 minutes without asking us to remind him our names. We knew we will buy from him. Every other until possession felt like we are working with family. Every modification we requested was accommodated. The warranty coordinator has been very responsive to our needs since possession. In fact warranty guys make us feel like she works only for our house given the speed at which she responds to our concerns. We live 5 star experience daily in our new home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chinekwu,
Thanks for the review. We're so happy you've enjoyed your buying experience and every step along the way. You deserve nothing less than the 5 star experience!

Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Loved the experience, bought in nolan hills. Cory is awesome. Very professional and prompt, always kept us in the loop at every step. Xenia from warranty is prompt to reply and awlays with ways to make is work for people.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks you for the review! We love hearing that our customers are happy and our staff made the process easy. We wish you all the happiness in your new home!

Kailash & Kalpana in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

We bought our home from Home by Avi. They did a great job keeping us informed of the progress, and kept in touch with us to ensure that everything was working well and that we had no areas of concern. Great job from start to finish and even after-sale service.

Now the grading job is left to be done, and we are eagerly anticipating that Avi will provide this job by earliest.

Hats off for everyone: Cory Ferguson, Cathy Wang, Nonie Warin, Xenia D'Souza, Chad Taylor, Nel and Nichole Kemp; all are excellent folks who left no stone upturned for any help. Truly, Excellent Service. You guys rock!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kailash and Kalpana,
Thanks for the feedback! We're glad your buying experience was what we aim for, and we wish you many years of happiness in your new home.

Mario in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Excellent service and advice given by Anita and Susan at the Carrington Showhomes. Timelines have been met, thorough planning and discussions have happened and the product they build is of the highest quality. I cannot wait until my home is built! Thank you Anita and Susan for everything you have done for me. It has been a pleasure working with these lovely ladies and Homes by Avi all around.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mario, Thanks for the kind words. Our sales staff always aim to be as helpful with home owners as possible throughout the purchasing process. We hope your enjoy your home... once it's ready!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Homes By Avi Inc.

After more than three decades of building award winning new houses in Calgary, we can look back and say that we helped build homes and communities and made a significant contribution to the city. It is very rewarding to leave a lasting legacy and to still see happy homeowners after all these years. We are proud of our reputation as one of the leading new home builders in Calgary and the fact that we have been, and continue to be, recognized in the industry and by homeowners.
— Avi Amir

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.