Homes By Avi Inc.

Builders
245 Forge Road SE Calgary AB T2H 0S9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Builders
Homes By Avi Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Homes By Avi Inc.

Average customer rating:
6.5 10 (95 reviews)

Sort by

Eric in Toronto
Eric in Toronto
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Refuses to fix their mistakes, makes a woman bring out a ladder for their painter

Sell you premium home but act like they are going broke with warranty. Told me right in the face that "we are not going to tear all that up to fix this" while the conduit I paid for is not even connected. Then went on to tell the technician do what he could making the hole in the wall as small as possible disregarding concerns from the technician himself. Then made my wife to bring out the ladder so they can paint over the mistake they didn't fix. "Well mine is dirty do you want mud all over your floor?" the guy said.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our goal is to provide a consistently reliable product and superb aftercare service. Please follow the communication provided by our customer service team to resolve any outstanding issues you may have.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Poor customer service, work and denial to fix the issues.

I will not recommend this builder to anyone. We got our home possession in Feb 2018 and after 3 months follow up we notified builder issues we noted after move. Some of them resolved but for others they are willing to do the fix. i.e. walls on both sides of fridge not vertically align, tiles is master washroom not adjusted properly, garage door panels was sticking out and they hasn't fix it. They promised to do the grading work by end of June but completed at end of August. Deck stairs hasn't been put.

It's nightmare to deal with their office. They don't keep their promise. Very poor customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As a company, we pride ourselves on delivering quality products and great customer service to our homeowners, and we would like to address your grievance, where possible.
We strive to provide clarity and operate with transparency, so we would like to clear a few things up. As per grading schedules, the work is to begin in June – at times, weather and other external factors impact the timing. Rear stairs can only be put in after grading is complete, and yours are on site and will be installed next week. For the concern of your fridge wall, we’ve worked with Alberta New Home Warranty (ANHWP) and it is within their guidelines. Unfortunately, as the warranty manager has told you, the garage door panels are on back order, but we will replace them ASAP.
We abide by strict builder guidelines and undergo numerous inspections on each home we build to ensure the safety and integrity of your home. If you would like to have any of these issues reviewed by ANHWP, our warranty department can coordinate that with you – please contact us directly.

unhappy home owner in Calgary
unhappy home owner in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

New Home nightmare

We have had numerous problems with poor workmanship in our home and have had to keep hounding AVI to make repairs, after numerous phone calls and emails some of our concerns have been fixed, however many remain unsolved. I am only listing the issues that to date have not been resolved.
1. Defective window not repaired. We purchased a brand new Home built by AVI. Possession date was 25 July 2017. On possession day we reported a defective window and were told that it would be repaired under warranty. When it was being replaced it was dropped and caused damage on the outside of the house. The damage on the house was repaired, however when winter weather came we discovered that the window was frozen shut. When we were able to open it we found ice buildup inside the window frame. We reported it and they came back several times to try to repair it. Every time it turned cold the window continued to freeze up. The last time they were here for an attempted repair was March 2018. On March 31 2018 the temperature outside dropped and we took a picture of the frost build up inside the window frame and sent it to AVI to request another repair. The response we got was that the window had already been repaired and we would have to wait until the winter of 2018/2019 when the temperature was cold again. We corrected AVI and explained that the photo we sent was dated 31March2018 and was factually taken after the attempted repair. We told AVI that when the window was repaired the person who did the repair told us to be sure to contact them if we had any further problems. AVI responded by saying that the manager Peter would contact us after he returned from holidays. We were never contacted by Peter and when we contacted AVI again with our concern we never received a response. All of this correspondence took place VIA email and can easily be verified. It is now September and the window still has not been repaired.
2. A small crack on the sidewalk has turned into an uneven chunk about 1 inch deep and about 6 inches long. When Al was here on July 23 he assured me that it would be fixed. When he returned on Sept 7th for other repairs he denied telling me that it would be fixed.
3. Parging was missed on a section at the back of our home about 8 feet long and 6 inches at the highest point. Our request to have this repaired has been denied.
4. AVI provided the landscaping and water ponds in our back yard and on the ground between our two homes. Photos were taken and repairs were made in the back yard, however no repairs were made on the ground between our two homes. Our concerns were going unanswered by our contacts with AVI so we went to our AVI sales person with our concerns. We received a phone call from Peter a few days later and he was upset because he said that he had pictures of our yard and the landscaping company had repaired both the back yard and the area between the two homes. I correct him and said that the neighbours had replaced the sod between the two homes, but that the landscaping company had not done anything to address our concerns about the drainage. He insisted they had fixed it and said that he would contact the landscaping company and get back to us. That was several weeks ago and we still have no response from him.
5. Splattered paint on deck railing. This was reported and we were told that it had been removed but we found that it was still there. We have been told verbally that it will be replaced; however we did not get anything about it in writing and due to the pattern of dishonesty that we have experienced from the AVI employees we have concerns that it also will not be addressed.
6. Garage door leaked water and does not operate smoothly. The weather stripping was replaced and at that time we noticed that two door panels are defective and that could possibly be the reason the door does not operate smoothly. We were told that the panels would not be replaced because they would not be covered under warranty because they were installed 1.5 years ago. AVI told us that they should be replaced because the warranty period should be from date of possession. Again due to the lack of honesty and response we have had with AVI we are not confident that this will be fixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Marcia,
We hear your concerns and have been working with our departments and with the Alberta New Home Warranty Program (ANHWP) to rectify your concerns, where we can. We hold your concerns to a high regard and encourage you to contact Peter Johns our warranty manager directly or like we mentioned on your other review, await his call as he will be in contact with you within the week to further discuss.

PS in Calgary
PS in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
4/10

Worst customer support

They earn billions but very cheap in treating customers and their issues. We bought brand new house, but everyday there is new issues. You send in an email and sometimes even videos, but they still do not believe in you. They will send their trades, god knows what they do but the problem arrises again, you send an email again and the circle continues. Worst thing never pick up a phone call or replies to your call. They do not believe the customers but believes in the non truth words of the third party contractors or people.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The last thing we want is unhappy customers. We apologize if it seems that we’ve been unconcerned - that’s not the case. As with any new home, there are so many moving parts, departments, and trades involved and we have processes to ensure a solution will be provided. If you would please email nwarin@homesbyavi.com in our warranty department with your job number or address and contact information, we can have a representative be in touch with you.

Randy C in Calgary
Randy C in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

New Home Build

From the initial decision to build with AVI to final possession and even after the team at AVI has been exceptional. Ashley Schneider, Area Sales Manager and our first contact and consultant throughout, Becky Lowe, Interior Designer and Nonie Warin, Customer Relations Manager, were very supportive and helped us through every stage of development design and final closing process. We could not have been better served.

We entered this process very apprehensive having heard of so many bad experiences with builders. However, as we researched builders AVI came up as one of the best. Lawyers we knew had little to say about AVI as they didn't see or hear of the problems raised with some of the other builders. Once we made the decision, all the stops were pulled out and the AVI team kicked in and help, supported, answered questions, raised issues, handled all our concerns and questions and gave us great insight into how to help them work for us.

By the time we moved to construction we were exhausted! Yet, we felt so included in every aspect of out new homes design we would have had it no other way. The team we worked with didn't miss anything through the entire process and we were involved in every decision and detail.

As we've now taken possession of our new home we are dealing with all the little things that can happen that could leave a bad taste in your mouth, the items that got missed or damaged or back ordered. As before AVI has been exemplary. These things do come up, they in so many ways are unavoidable, however, AVI has been ready willing and able to walk through them with us and resolve them to our satisfaction. We even damaged a few things during our move in and they repaired them at no cost to us!

We highly recommend AVI to build your new home and if we were to ever build again we would most definitely use AVI.

Randy Crosson

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for the feedback Randy! We are very happy to hear that your buying experience was what we aim for, and we wish you many years of happiness in your new home.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

driveway and garage concrete, paint, dry wall

We moved in the end of November 2017, driveway starts to corrode and chipping including part of our garage concrete by the end of the year. I address this to the builder and unfortunately homes by avi can't fixed as per their contractor say due to what the city salt was using. one of our neighbor had the same problem and had the same builder but they got his fixed. I address it again to the builder an I got the same response because of their contractor says. By the way, this is the only builder that was having the same problem in our neighborhood. This builder homes by avi was builder of the year for couple of years yet contractor was the one dictating what they can do to make the client happy and satisfied. YES I DONT REOMMEND THIS BUILDER AS I DONT WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO ANYBODY.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback.

Quality is a top priority in each of our homes, so we take these concerns very seriously and would like to apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. In order for us to investigate this issue further, please contact Gary Schmold, our warranty manager, at 403-536-7058 or by emailing gschmold@homesbyavi.com. As soon as he receives the necessary information regarding your home, our warranty team will work with you to resolve the issue.

Again, our apologies for any frustration this may have caused.

Disgruntled in Calgary
Disgruntled in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
4/10

QUICK POSESSION NIGHTMARE

I purchased an AVI home with a “quick posession” date. Well it has been almost 4 MONTHS since I gave them my money and they haven’t even started drywalling my house. A promise of moving in by late July early August has now turned into me possibly not moving in until December. The house has sat for over a MONTH with zero work being done on it. This has been the worst most stressful experience of my life. I would NEVER EVER have bought an AVi home or quick posession home if i knew quick posession meant 9 or 10 months. Now my kids will not be in our house before school starts, i have to rent storage, I have furniture i bought that i now have to pay for storage, and I have to look for a new place to live. EXTREMELY ANGRY and FRUSTRATED

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We apologize for your frustrations. We know this is one of, if not the biggest purchase you’ll make in your life and we take that seriously. While the beauty of a quick possession, is just that, it’s quick, however, when structural changes are implemented, it does at add a bit of time with re-drawing, permits, etc.
In the past month, your homes siding, insulation, taping, rough in’s and City inspections have been conducted. We know that at times during the build process it can appear as though no work is being done. But in fact, crucial work and inspections are happening during this time for the safety and integrity of your home. Rest assured we’re working to get you into your house ASAP. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations and encourage you to contact your Walden Sales Representative for continued updates and a firm possession date.

Scott in Calgary
Scott in Calgary
7 reviews , BC
8/10

Building a new home is stressful

We recently used Homes by Avi to build a new house. It was a stressful 11 months but Avi does a lot of things well and for us a few things very poorly.

The worst part of our experience was the designer they assigned us for interior selections. This person was just bad at her job. She made numerous mistakes. We would catch one and then another and when she fixed the second mistake the first one would show up again. She cancelled meetings at the last minute and wouldn't be able to reschedule for weeks. Her design input was negligible, so I'm not sure why she was even necessary. A decent website could have done her job just as well.

Once you start the build you get access to a website for your house. The website looks and feels like it was developed by the manager's nephew 14 years ago. The nice thing is that it has a bunch of exploits so you can see how much your neighbors paid for their build. The downside is that they can see all your information if they're so inclined. Information security is next to impossible for companies that specialize in it and I'm betting there isn't another builder out there that does any better in that capacity.

Once things got moving they were generally pleasant to deal with. They did a good job of responding to issues and working with us when we ran into something that we were unhappy with. The quality of the work in the house did vary from trade to trade with some doing very well. We had some issues with tile that was so bad it must have either been the guy's first day on the job or done last on a Friday but they were able to address our concerns and fix the problem tiles. The HVAC contractor they hired made a couple very large mistakes are refused to admit anything was wrong. Fortunately I was able to troubleshoot and fix that issue myself.

Generally we're pretty happy with the home Avi built for us and with their willingness to fix deficiencies. It's not something we'll likely do again anytime soon but it wasn't nearly as bad as the builder horror stories you hear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Scott,
Thank you for your reply. While we aim for 100% satisfaction, there are a lot of moving parts and people when building a home and we appreciate your mindfulness and patience with that. We are here for our homeowners - even after possession, so please do reach out to warranty if you feel the need to.
Thank you for choosing us to build your home - we wish you all the happiness in your new home!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Homes By Avi Inc.

After more than three decades of building award winning new houses in Calgary, we can look back and say that we helped build homes and communities and made a significant contribution to the city. It is very rewarding to leave a lasting legacy and to still see happy homeowners after all these years. We are proud of our reputation as one of the leading new home builders in Calgary and the fact that we have been, and continue to be, recognized in the industry and by homeowners.
— Avi Amir

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.