Harding Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning
2210 Cavamore Road Ottawa ON K0A 1L0
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Harding Heating & Air Conditioning
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

49%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Harding Heating & Air Conditioning

Average customer rating:
4.1 10 (22 reviews)

Sort by

Gina Gosse
Gina Gosse
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Outstanding Service

From the professional and personable customer service, to the knowledgeable and tidy installers, Harding continues to impress!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Don in Toronto
Don in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New Daikin Furnace

From the initial contact by the sales rep Brian Chartier, to the communication with Kirsten Neumarker, to the installation by Dan and Roy, I could not have been more pleased.
Their collective competence and professionalism were beyond reproach.
I would without reservation, recommendation the Harding Team to anyone considering a new furnace or air conditioner.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
BJM
BJM
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Extremely poor customer service/unresponsive

We moved into our newly constructed Minto home in September 2017. Harding Heating's Certification sticker on the Furnace indicates our ventilation ducts were thoroughly cleaned in September 2017, prior to our move in. This definitely wasn’t the case.
Although we had no reason to doubt Harding’s quality of work, however, due to on-going dust build-up in the house & allergy issues, we decided to have the air ducts inspected/cleaned by a different company, in May of 2021. To our shock & dismay, we were told that ducts were never cleaned properly, as certified by Harding. There was lot of original construction debris in the Mainline and this was quite evident from the before/after pictures taken on May 8th, 2021. Furthermore, Mainline required access cut-outs, to insert the dust/debris suction pipe, were never made. As result, only a small section of roughly 30% ventilation area was ever cleaned by Harding Heating.
I sent an email to Harding Heating on May 15th, 2021 & received a phone call from L.M. We discussed the issue & I questioned as to why the sticker on the furnace indicated ducts were cleaned, when in essence, the work was not thoroughly done? L.M. mentioned she would “look into the issue & get back” to me. I offered to send her the before/after pictures of the Mainline & I did so on May 19th. Not hearing back, I sent a follow-up email on June 8th & again no response. On June 24th, I sent another email requesting an update & advising her that I would be initiating a complaint process. L.M. did reply & indicated “she would talk to her manager & get back with a solution.” As of today, February 4th, 2022, there has been no response or a follow-up & no resolution.
After my repetitive attempts to resolve the matter, it is quite evident that Harding Heating does not believe in providing reasonable customer service or to address the issue. Furthermore, I am quite shocked that a local business that prides itself as a “family-owned” would perform below par service & then ignore the issue & treat a customer in this manner.
I most definitely would not recommend or do any type of business with this company, because they do not believe in looking after their customer. In my case, it is obvious Harding Heating considers acceptable to perform low quality work and then not rectify the situation. Their action speaks way louder than words here. And, Harding’s website indicates that they are “Dedicated to doing the best they can for every client” and I for one most certainly haven’t experienced it.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Gerald in Toronto
Gerald in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Charge $400 for a 5 minute battery change

I thought there was a problem in my thermostat circuitry. I call Harding and it takes them 2 hours to arrive. The employee proceeds to take check the batteries which appear to be dead (I thought my thermostat was powered through AC). He then asks me for batteries (which he should have had but asked my to provide). after 5 minutes of service, he charges me $400.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sending us your concerns. I’m happy we were able to attend to your service needs quickly. May we ask was if the call was after hours? Did we replace the thermostat? We do offer Club Memberships to help with repair costs as well as annual maintenance. We would be happy to review your concerns. Would you be able to contact our Service Manager Christina at 613-831-2257?

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Bad customer service

After giving the issue details she took my number gave service time and hanged up in middle of conversation, I called back and after-hours message was on. Of course no one came or called at promised service time.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for letting us know what had happened. We apologize for us mistakenly dropping the call. If you can provide us with your address, we would like to investigate as to what happened. You can contact us through our service department email at hmservice@teamhardingcomfort.com or call us at 613-831-2257.

Christine in Ottawa
Christine in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Unbelievably incompetent

#HARDINGHEATINGANDAIRCONDITIONING OTTAWA. The level of incompetence I have dealt with in the past four days is ASTOUNDING! And still, I have no heat!
I was told an hour and a half ago that someone would call me - I can't say I'm surprised that no one has as that has been consistent with the service I've been receiving. I'm cold and I'm angry!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for the miscommunication with our arrival time. We were trying to work with your schedule as I understand your landlord and yourself weren't able to be available throughout the day. I know we were able to send our tech back later that same evening and have him restore heat at your home. Please feel free to contact us or have your landlord contact us, if you have any other questions or concerns.

Homeowner in Ottawa
Homeowner in Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Contractor for my builder

All my energy has been directed to a resolution. So rather than retype it here I invite you to visit:

https://www.facebook.com/HardingHeatingandAirConditioning/reviews

And read the reviews. If you scour the online reviews you should expect a polite response crafted to hold the customer responsible for any wrongdoing. I like to call that deflection and "un-customer service", and some have gotten good at it. Do your research. Youtube is a good resource to doing things yourself.

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
8/10

Furnace Repair

Because Harding was the company that installed our Amana furnace when our house was built, we felt it was best to give them a call when it wouldn’t start up. However, before calling, we noticed that Harding had posted a troubleshooting sheet on our furnace (which was actually quite helpful). We ran through all the items on the troubleshoot list and still did not have any luck starting up the furnace. Since we weren't up for taking time off work, we decided to take our chances with the afterhours service which costs significantly more than their regular hours. The diagnostic was a flat rate of $160 + tax = $180.80 (normally its $79 + tax). The cost of labour was $125 + tax = $141.25. As a result, in total we paid $322.05. We did not have to pay for parts as this was covered under our 5-year parts warranty with Amana. I was told by the technician that the part they replaced, the control board, would have brought our total bill up into the $500s if it had not been for the warranty. For technical home repairs it’s always best to leave it to the professionals who have the right tools and skills. As per the costs, yea sometimes you feel gouged but everyone has to make a living. However, I felt that the total cost to repair our furnace was justifiable as we knew the diagnostic cost upfront and the tech told me what the cost of labour would be when he discovered the issue.

Approximate cost of services:
$325.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are always up front with our costs. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Emily from Ottawa
Emily from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Furnace and AC repair

We originally called Harding because they installed our heating and air conditioning when our home was built. We were having issues with our furnace. They came promptly and we decided to sign up for their Gold club membership as that made the most sense for the service and potential parts we would need over the next year. It didn't require a lot of work at this time but will in the future.

As summer has begun we have found that our air conditioner is running continuously and the air just doesn't feel as cold as it used to. We caled Harding and decide to upgrade to the Gold combo membership. We did have some difficulty/descrepency at first with interpretation of what the combo entailed. However this was quickly rectified by Service Manager Kristina. We appreciated the fast response and despite the fact that we have had to wait a few days for the part and it has been quite hot, that is not really in their control. They have kept in contact with us and have made the over all experience a good one. I placed 30$ as the cost because our work was covered by the combo.

The part is getting installed tomorrow will update with progress if needed.

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$30.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Less visits would be nice- difficult to arrange to be there on multiple occasions. But that isn't always possible.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Call Harding, be sure to ask lots of questions so that you fully understand what you are getting and they understand your expectations.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I do apologize for the confusion. Our goal is to always to work with our customers and provide the best customer service. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me. Christina

Mike in Stittsville
Mike in Stittsville
14 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

0/10

AC repair

Call after my AC wouldn't send any cool air through... Guy comes, tells me he can't fix it, call back on Monday and then hands me a bill for $180 for 15 minutes and instructions to call back.

Approximate cost of services:
$180.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for reaching out to us. I’m sorry to hear we didn’t have the part that was needed. We try to stock everything we can.
I understand you have had the work completed by another contractor. Let us know if you there is anything else we could assist you with.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harding Heating & Air Conditioning

Quality, Comfort and Commitment. . . The Harding Way
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Ottawa?