Sterling Homes Edmonton

Builders
3203 93 St NW Edmonton AB T6N 0B2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Builders in Edmonton  >  Sterling Homes Edmonton
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

41%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sterling Homes Edmonton

Average customer rating:
3.4 10 (35 reviews)

Sort by

M Webb
M Webb
2 reviews Stony Plain, AB
0/10

If you are in search of a nightmare this is 100% the builder for you

If you can do one thing for your mental wellbeing and finances STAY AWAY FROM Sterling Homes!! If you are planning to purchase a New Build Home PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE keep reading! I realize the sales people are very convincing and you well be shown many pictures of happy families BUT don’t be FOOLED!!
Don't assume just because its new, or they do a lovely possession walk through with you and promise to fix anything that is wrong, that they are telling you the truth!
Sterling Homes DOES NOT care about their customers or the quality of their products. Be SMART and spend your money wisely! I would hate to have anyone have to deal with the headaches we have had!
We moved into our home at the end of October 2015, and have had issue after issue ever since, we mistakenly thought we were buying a home for our young family of 5 but instead, we bought a disaster! Every time we turn around there is something breaking, poorly done, falling apart, or just down right dangerous.
We have had more issues that I even wish to recall but for the sake of this review, I will attempt to list them as best I can remember.
1. Flooring issue 1 – The wrong carpet was installed on our stairs, it was a different pile, colour and texture than that of the rest of the house! After a MASSIVE hassle and 3 wasted days over the course of 2 weeks to get this confirmed they finally conceded it was the wrong carpet and replaced it!
2. Window – damaged during install and after warranty departments attempt to remove the massive scratch with a cloth and rubbing it was finally replaced.
3. Ice build up on the interior of our drywall – after a social media S storm of frustration this was initially addressed quickly however after our walls were torn down in -40 weather and all the incorrect R value insulation removed we were essentially abandoned! Weeks of appointments and various NO SHOWS by Empire Drywall, it was finally repaired! Oh and a threat by Sterling’s warranty guy that if any future issues should arise we MUST go through Alberta New Home Warranty!!!
4. No insulated Rim Joists – After taking Sterling’s kind advice to file a claim with Alberta new home warranty, and paying for our own home inspection it was established and confirmed (despite having been previously discussed with Sterling and ignored) that a section of our basement was NOT insulated and NO insulated rim joists were used!!! We are now having to vacate our home for 24 hours, but lucky for us Sterling is putting us up in the cheapest hotel available that can accommodate 5 people and offering us an extremely generous meal allowance of $4 per meal per person, too bad we can’t even get a happy meal for that! In addition, we have to vacate at 10am but cannot get into our lavish accommodations until 4pm, so I get to try and keep a 2 year old and 4 year old entertained and safe in 27 + degree weather for 6 hours!
5. Garage Door Anchor Plate – This is the point at which the mechanical parts of a garage door are anchored too and is installed by the framers! It didn’t have enough screws or whatever and blew off the wall, causing our garage door to be damaged and blocked by the wood, which ripped out of the wall. We are paying for this one ourselves because despite having been negligently built we are past our warranty period for this type of failure.
6. Staircase – After carpet was replaced it was noticed the staircase wasn’t square; it was removed pushed over and re attached.
7. PAINT oh lord paint!!! This has been a never-ending disaster that resulted in us repainting the entire main floor ourselves!!! Which seemed like our only option until 20 million other things went wrong and needed to be repaired, which then resulted in drywall repair, and the “old” paint being reapplied over our new stuff because Sterling WILL NOT paint with anything other than what was in the building contract. Anyway, needless to say after 1000’s of dollars in paint and only 2.5 years of living here we will once again have to repaint. Also it was established our home likely only got a single layer of paint to begin with, so that was great.
8. Broken Benches- Our home has built in benches in 3 locations, all of which were damaged when we moved in, some were not painted and only primed, and the “fixes” they provided to repair the broken trim were pathetic, as they used putty and dap to rebuild the broken sections rather than just replace the trim! Obviously this has since broken again and looks terrible.
9. Damaged Cabinets- while this was noted in the possession walk through, it took over 18 months for it to be fixed!
10. Flooring issue 2 – Our laminate flooring was moving when we stepped on it and was seriously dangerous, it had gaps showing up some in excess of 18 inches and moved suddenly when you stepped on it! After MANY calls to complain and being told it was completely normal to have the planks move they finally sent 2 guys to GLUE it down!!! Yep, glue the laminate flooring??? Anyway, after all of 3 days the glue failed and I had to start all over to get this fixed! FINALLY after another 2 gluing attempts and damaged cabinets in our kitchen, the flooring company whom originally installed the floor came with yes you guessed it MORE GLUE!!! Upon entering my home the flooring tech informed me he literally did not have enough glue with him to deal with the mess our floor was in, so we would be getting a new floor! Now you may think after 14 months in a new home you’d be ecstatic to get to drive for an hour with 3 kids under the age of 5 to select new flooring!! Well at least Icon Flooring in Edmonton felt I should be ecstatic, since after all, rather than just having a floor that was installed correctly to begin with I get to pick from a whooping 3 new choices for a whole new floor LMAO!!! Anyway, after selecting from their meager options we waited for close to a month and finally had an appointment set for 9am!!! People came to disconnect and move our appliances bright and early and then… we waited and waited for the flooring people to come…. Finally after 3 phone calls to icon a single gentleman arrived with his 14-year-old son! Yep just one guy 3.5 hours late to remove and replace close to 1100 sqft of laminate. Mean while we have no way of making food, and my 3 children and I have to be imprisoned upstairs till they completed at 11PM. After that, it was too late for the appliance people to return and we were told it wouldn’t be until after the long weekend they could come and reinstall our appliances (fridge, stove, dishwasher, washer and dryer) Thank god my husband is handy and we could just re install them ourselves. Additionally I should mention, when our flooring was replaced they never took the baseboards off to ensure a proper expansion gap, as a result fast forward 1 year, we are currently fighting again, March 5th the manufacture of the flooring inspected our floors with 2 other managers of Icon Flooring, we were told a report would be presented in 2 weeks, it is May 24th, we have NO REPORT and no resolution!!!! PS. AVOID ICON FLOORING Edmonton.
11. Truss Lift and Drywall Messes – this one was actually addressed in a fairly reasonable time frame but still has taken a total of close to 3 full weeks of appointments to address since the time we moved in! It’s a good thing I’m a stay at home mom because NO EMPLOYER on EARTH would allow anyone to take off the amount of time I have had to waste/ invest in getting this house even part way to how it should have been built to begin with, but please keep reading because the issues just keep getting better and better, I promise!
12. Carpet that stabs you – this concern was addressed countless times from our original possession walk through, each and every time we were told it is completely normal and acceptable and oh I love this one TO CODE, for your carpeting to cause to BLEED on a weekly basis. We just need to learn how to walk up our stairs differently if we don’t want to be stabbed by razor sharp nails! We are still bleeding fro

13. While the list goes on I simply don’t have the energy to keep going, so here is a point form list of all the other issues which have either been addressed in a really pathetic manner or completely ignored; disintegrating counter top, island that moves significantly when bumped, counter tops dropping and leaving gaps between back splash and counter, window casings falling out and cracked, walls cracking in various locations, endless drywall issues, floor squeaks, outside tap that was never screwed in, drain spouts not secured, deck supports with soil instead of rocks against wood, broken tub surround, rough railings poorly painted and not sanded

As it stands this is just what we have found and fought for (many never addressed) on our own so far. I have no doubt the issues will continue to pile up, and I doubt very much this home will remain standing for even the duration of our mortgage! If you have made it t this point in my review I applauded you because this was a novel. If you want a home, please just learn from our mistake and DON’T build with Sterling Homes!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi M Webb,
We would like to apologize that the service you've received before and after entering into our warranty care has been less than satisfactory; I understand that you would have liked to have seen more prompt replies and solutions to inquiries. I have been in touch with the warranty department and they have assured me that your file is presently being looked at and that you have been contacted to discuss all outstanding items and solutions for remaining repairs. I have also forwarded your feedback over to my management team for review. I hope that this will help to tie up some loose ends.

Derek in Saint Albert
Derek in Saint Albert
1 review Spruce Grove, AB
10/10

Fantastic Home

My wife and I bought our home in February of 2017. We had searched throughout Spruce Grove through every Show Home and were unable to find the layout of home we were looking for in a decent price range. Then we came upon Sterling and found the perfect floor plan for our family with a price range that was well below other builders we looked at. There were very few issues during the building process and any issues that came up were taken care of immediately and most of the time before my wife and I even noticed them by our Building Site Manager Alex. Alex was amazing to deal with as he was very knowledgeable and eager to make sure we received the beautiful well built home we played for. Alex quickly fixed any minor issues that were located on our walk through before we took possession in December 2017. To date Alex always makes the time to say hi when I see him in the area and always checks in on how we are enjoying our new home and if there are any issues. Overall this was a great experience building with Sterling. I would definitely recommend Sterling to any other family looking to build a great home at a decent price.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow! We truly appreciate your positive feedback Derek. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with Alex and Sterling Homes.

Private User
Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Home

We are excited to move into our new home in Spruce Grove. Thanks for all your help. Excellent rapport with their clients.After sales support and service are wonderful.Very nice people. Amazing job!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great feedback. Congratulations on your new home, continue to enjoy it.

Private User
Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Home

Great experience with Sterling. We are very happy with our new home. Sales staff was very helpful during the entire process. They made the home buying experience enjoyable a stress free.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the positive review. We value your feedback and if there is anything we can help with in the future let us know.
Enjoy your new home!

Zen Zui in Edmonton
Zen Zui in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

New home sale

Can I just saw WOW!!! I cannot believe the service and professionalism I was treated with from the Team here in Langdale while purchasing my Brand New Watson Model home. If I had questions they were sure to get them answered ASAP we just recently moved into our house and we absolutely love it. It is such a nice community and we are loving every minute of it with our growing family. We will definitely be sending some family and friends your way soon!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Congratulations on purchasing your new home! It is great to hear you home building journey Sterling Homes was a pleasant experience. We hope you continue to love your home. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at [email protected]

Private User
Private User
1 review St. Albert, AB
0/10

Worst experience facing with warranty department

Bought home in 2016 and started facing trouble within two months. Cheap granite got cracks and colour changing .It seems like water soaking inside granite. Sterling delaying by saying wait till 1 yr inspection and after 1 yr inspection done even two months after that they didnt pay attention and stop taking calls and never return my call. Whan i did call from different number and chase the responsible person at show home then also giving excuse and blaming that it happened due to lack of care , now manager offering me to repair that on my cost... and saying i signed the disclosure saying it might happened. And now warranty beacsue the 1yr is over...
I am unsatisfied what they are saying as problem was highlighted withing 2 months then on 6 month inspection and than 1 yr inspection but sterling is worst home bhuilder I ever seen.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, I have read your review and am sorry you have not had the best experience. I will look into the detail and I will have the manager get back to you.

Private User
Private User
1 review Spruce Grove, AB
10/10

New House - Wanting something different without the custom pricing

My family was on the hunt for the perfect new home. We had not had any luck looking at the used home inventory, which lead us to considering building a new home. While touring all the new show homes in our area we came to one conclusion. We didn't want to have what everyone else had. We needed to find a builder that could fit our custom needs. While in Stony Plain we came across a Sterling Homes show home. We had been through about ten other builders homes at the time when we meet Deborah from Sterling. She was very motivated and enthusiastic to work with us. She found us a plan to work from for the base of our new home and we worked together to make some custom changes to the whole home, both the inside and the outside. Deborah had to put a lot of extra time and efforts into our custom plan, working with drafting and other departments to get our new plan pushed through. We couldn't be more happy with Deborah as a sales person and we we're very pleased that Sterling was able to meet our custom needs to make our dream of a new custom home a reality. Thanks so much Deb!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review. We hope you will be very happy in your new home.

Private User
Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Warranty Department it Awful

I'm convinced the warranty department of sterling homes is bonused on how many phone calls they avoid... if you don't call the customer back then you don't spend money to fix it. We leave message after message with no return calls. 6 months after my 1 year inspection I still have outstanding issues and no one will call me back.

They literally cut corners - the outside corners in my home spilt with settling. Which is totally normally easy fix with some mud and tape. Apparently sterlings contractors think that silicone is an even easier fix. Oh and painting over wet silicone is even better. They did a crap job and it looks awful - brought this to the attention of the warranty person and they "trust their contractor and it's an acceptable fix". Which is funny because in the warranty
binder we were provided it actually advices
against using silicone. I'd bring that point up
with Chris but well he lacks the ability to return calls...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, thanks for letting know about your concerns. Please contact me at [email protected] with your contact information. We would like to address these issues.
Thanks

Goofy7 in Edmonton
Goofy7 in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Everyingthing

Sterling Homes Edmonton
780-461-8369
3203 93 St NW
Edmonton
AB
T6N 0B2
CANADA

hi there, so I have moved in my house on September 29, 2016 and everything with my house I seemed like me and my wife got the most terrible service reason being cause almost everything we told sterling to change hasn't really been done, the sold sign had not even been up when we bought the house, there was no protection on the back door so if we opened it we would fall, our neighbour just got there keys has the wood on the back door for protection and know that our neighbour had gotten treated better than we did and money had been missing which no one knows where that is. I am just frustrated and upset because no one had no clue what is going on here. i will not be recommening sterling to anyone i know because of this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi,
I am sorry that your experience has not been great. We would like the opportunity to discuss this. Can you email me at [email protected] with your contact information and address?

Thanks

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Sterling Homes Edmonton

With over 60 years of building experience our goal is to provide superior customer service, uncompromising craftsmanship and design excellence. It is an award winning formula that has made us one of the industry’s most respected new home builders and a customer favourite. Sterling Homes has been one of Alberta’s ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.