Sterling Homes Edmonton

Builders
3203 93 St NW Edmonton AB T6N 0B2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Sterling Homes Edmonton
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

69%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sterling Homes Edmonton

Average customer rating:
6.2 10 (93 reviews)

Sort by

Andie in Edmonton
Andie in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Poor Service

Prompt reply if you are looking to purchase a property but STERLING will definitely IGNORE you when it comes to REFUND. We have been patiently waiting for almost 2 months now for our hard earned money. Followed up several times thru text messages , online CS and phoned the office, the lady who answered just told us they just mailed a bunch of cheques but could not guarantee if one of those cheques are ours. If STERLING can not look after a simple refund process, how much more with bigger issues? Glad we cancelled the contract. It only shows, they are fake and really does not care about their clients.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andie, thank you for your feedback - I sincerely appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. I'm sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience trying to get your refund processed. Our online payment processing system is new, and was perhaps deployed too early - as it has clearly had a negative impact on you, and for that we are sorry. We have processed your full refund and you should see this reflected in your account in the coming days. If you ever have additional questions, please don't hesitate to email me at customersupport@sterlingedmoton.com

Tracy Goddard in Spruce Grove
Tracy Goddard in Spruce Grove
1 review Spruce Grove, AB
0/10

DISAPPOINTED IN LACK OF CARE

I had sterling out last year due to water leaking from my roof and was advised the issue was fixed. With the rain last week my ceiling was leaking in the exact same area however the problem was worse. When I contact Sterling I was advised that it is no longer there issue and they have pretty much washed there hands of it and didn't even offer to come and look. There mission statement " a good builder will be happy to help no matter the circumstances" not at all true in this matter. To say disappointing is an understatement

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tracy, we are sorry you feel this way about your experience with us. Unfortunately your home is well outside the warranty timelines and when we came out last year to assess we did some repairs, again outside of warranty, and then performed a water test once the repairs were complete and did not find any further leaks.

Mathew  in Edmonton
Mathew in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Lots of issues

Some of the issues still need to be fixed. Side envelope coming out in multiple places not properly fixed . Painted house 2nd time after complaining for weeping paint after doing it for second time still the same problem . The quality of paint used is not good i guess . Concrete broken in driveway and garage . Space under the stairs , soil not set properly before putting stairs and moisture in corners in basement in winter and spring . tap
and bathtub had issues. And lots of issues within 4 years . I am totally frustrated . Would never recommend sterlinghomes to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mathew, we are sorry to hear you are frustrated with your home. Our Customer Satisfaction Manager would like to know more about your story if you'd be willing to reach out at customersupport@sterlingedmonton.com.

Thanks!

olabode in Edmonton
olabode in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
8/10

Hot water tank replacement

The Warranty Manager " Randy' assisted us to replace our defective water tank at no Cost..He is very professional.
Keep up the Good job Randy. We are very impressed with his excellent customer service and professionalism.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words! Glad you are enjoying your new home, please let us know if anything else comes up.

Bungalow in Edmonton
Bungalow in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Bungalow

Chantelle is very knowledgeable, patient, always there to answer any of our questions or concerns. the design process was better than I originally thought, they were knowledgeable, offered suggestions. So far the process has been a very good experience. Now excited for the finish product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words! Glad you are enjoying your new home, please let us know if anything else comes up.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Service

The service from the sterling homes representatives was great! We felt we are in a safe hands and okay with the buying process. The location was great and awesome too. I love my home and thanks for makingbour first home buying pleasant and beautiful! ❤

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words! Glad you are enjoying your new home, please let us know if anything else comes up.

Ace in Edmonton
Ace in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
7/10

new home built- Sterling Homes Edmonton

Bought from Chantelle at Sterling Homes, she was very knowledgeable, professional and advocated for us with her head/back office. We have had some repairs done to our house and have dealt with Ben. Ben’s response time is excellent and he is really great to work with, Sterling is lucky to have such a caring, hardworking employee. Having said that, Sterling Home Builders head/back office can definitely improve when it comes to customer satisfaction and doing what is right for their customers!

Specific example: We paid for our garage and our garage cement pad/driveway to be increased by 2’ thinking it would go to the edge of our garage. Our friends also built with Sterling at the same time and did not pay extra but got the same width (same amount of cement) for free. Later we found out that that the “concrete crews also fell victim to and were just simply going with what they are used to in the area.” (Quote from Randy). We asked Sterling if they would do what we figure “is the right thing to do” and maybe give us a little compensation as we paid for what maybe other got for free. Sterling reply was “We cannot compensate you…. The cost error is solely on the concrete crew that did the work”

Every time I look at my drive way, I feel a bit uneasy. My next-door neighbor and my friend also constantly remind us that we paid for something that they got for free. Sterling had the chance to make this a win, win… but instead decided to just follow the contract. So for now I respectfully just live with it…they were allowed to change the contract conditions because of change of suppliers and also our Island was not placed in the proper spot (it was off by about 2 inches) and we let them off the hook… too bad it did not work both ways in this particular case.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Ace, thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are very glad you are happy with Ben's service, we think we are very lucky to have him around too!

We did review all your communications with Randy on the concrete, and we are unable to issue you a refund for the extra concrete that you requested, paid for and received for your home. Yes, another home in the area was mistakenly given the same extra concrete on their driveway but it was at no cost to Sterling Homes or the home owner(s) in that case and was an error on the concrete suppliers side that the home owner(s) agreed to keep. Most homes were pre-planned for the area with the additional concrete width being added in, of which the costs are accounted for and included in the spec home pricing.

If your island is indeed in the wrong spot, we would be more than happy to get that resolved for you, and all you need to do is reach out to your warranty team. Please let us know if you need anything else in the future.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

House maintenance

Ernesto fixed all of the problems quickly with high quality. He tried his best to fix every problem and follow up if someone else came for the maintenance which made me feel he is very responsible and organized. You can reach him by text, phone, or email; and he reply you immediately. He is knowledgeable in house maintenance, which is very helpful if you have any questions about your house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us! So very glad to hear Ernesto has been able to help you out and handle your concerns to your satisfaction. Please let us know if you need anything further!

Cookhorne in Edmonton
Cookhorne in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
8/10

Warranty

We bought a showhome from Sterling homes and after a few months contacted them for a few repairs we noticed. The office sent off an email to their warranty team and gave me Ernesto's number to follow up if I needed to. A few days later Ernesto contacted me and dropped by the house to have a look at the claim. He's a really nice guy, we chatted for a bit then he got to work. The bedroom door was more difficult to than he anticipated because he didn't have all the tools for the task. He was very clear as to what he would be doing next (I appreciate clarity). Anyway, a few days later he sent over James to fix the problem. James was a real professional. He assessed the task, got his tools and in no time he had it done. I must say I am impressed by Sterling's Warranty program. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us! So very glad to hear Ernesto has been able to help you out and handle your concerns to your satisfaction. Please let us know if you need anything further!

Dhruv in Sherwood Park
Dhruv in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
8/10

Allard SW Edmonton

Found a perfect home that I was looking for. They have a great team. A few Warranty issues are being taken care by Ernesto. He is a great guy and always available when needed. Keep it up! Cheers!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dhruv, thanks for the kind words! Glad you are enjoying working with Ernesto, please let us know if anything else comes up. Enjoy your home!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Sterling Homes Edmonton

With over 60 years of building experience our goal is to provide superior customer service, uncompromising craftsmanship and design excellence. It is an award winning formula that has made us one of the industry’s most respected new home builders and a customer favourite. Sterling Homes has been one of Alberta’s ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Edmonton?