HSA

Handyman Services
586 Third Line Oakville ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for HSA

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (22 reviews)

Sort by

Mark H in Oakville
Mark H in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
8/10

Honest and helpful

Lou came by to inspect a leaky bath; I was sure it was a leaking drain which would have cost $1,000 to repair with all the drywall to pull out and replace etc. He advised some tests to run and I decided to replace the bath caulking myself... presto - solved. Very pleased with Lou's honesty and integrity.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for the review!
We aim to provide honest customer service
Regards,
HSA Team

Maggie in ??????????
Maggie in ??????????
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Shower valve replacement & drywall

Our master bath shower would scald you if anyone flushed the toilet or ran water anywhere. Lou sent Mike to do the plumbing job and Dilan to repair the drywall and paint. Excellent job, shower works great now and no one has to worry about turning on the water. Cannot see where the hole was cut in the wall
...great patch job.

We've used HSA for 20 years in 3 different houses and we do not use anyone else. Totally trustworthy in my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Outside and inside house painting and plumbing.

We have used HSA a number of times over the past five years; most recently for a large job to paint most of the outside and inside of our two story home , and do some plumbing work. The painter (was in our home for three weeks - it was a large job) did an excellent and thorough job and was very pleasant to have around. Plumber and his work also very good. I would recommend HSA to anyone.

Jennifer and Andy in Mississauga

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Susan
Susan
7 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Remove and Replace Damaged Kitchen Cupboard

A water leak had caused damage/deterioration to wall behind the kitchen cupboard and to the wall mounted cupboard itself. Mold had also spread behind the cupboard. Dilan did a terrific job removing the damaged unit, repairing the wall, and installing the new cabinet box I had purchased. Modifications to the new cupboard were required to make it fit and Dilan did these nicely. I am extremely happy with the finished result.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
John from Toronto
John from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace Repair

In the middle of one of the coldest winters (2013) our furnace unfortunately stopped working and the temperature inside the house was unbearable (we had to stay at a hotel!). Lou at HSA recognized how desperate we were to have the situation remedied as soon as possible and put us in touch with a contractor named Mike who was able to help us out. The furnace was repaired in no time and we were able to check out of the hotel! Thank you HSA and Mike for truly caring about your customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for the review always a pleasure to help out.
HSA Team

Henry from Mississauga
Henry from Mississauga
1 review Oakville, ON
2/10

Complete home Reno

Not a good experience at all. Phil totally under quoted the job and Lou will side with contractors at every opportunity. Scope of work and pricing nightmare Do not use for any big project. They take "unforeseen" to a whole new level.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It's unfortunate that this customer is unsatisfied as there was no problem working with them and getting them back into there house on a tight schedule. With the process of building there are always unforeseen circumstances that need to be dealt with. Our customers are given quotes from the trades and it is up to them to accept or refuse an estimate.

Brewster from Ridgeway
Brewster from Ridgeway
6 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation

We have used HSA for several small renovations and have always been satisfied with their work. They hire qualified tradespeople who are efficient, prompt and professional.
We have deveoped an excellent relationship with Phil and find him completely trustworthy.
We will continue using HSA and would recommend them to others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Dino Di Saverio in Burlington
Dino Di Saverio in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Flooring/Backsplash replacement & Painting

Phil Noble and the HSA team were a pleasure to work with. Phil handled every detail of our renovation project with diligence and care. He is honest & sincere, and above all take the time to explain things to you in detail. His knowledge and expertise are an asset to the renovation business and to anyone seeking professional work. Our marble floors were installed flawlessly, and careful attention was paid to every detail of the job from start to finish! We would recommend HSA to anyone looking to tackle a renovation project, big or small. Phil can assist you every step of the way, and help make your dreams come true!
Dino & Karla

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Kayla in Burlington
Kayla in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
9/10

Roofing

After purchasing my new home in Burlington I called HSA to get a quote for the roof. When the manager, Lou, came out to meet me he was very helpful and after finding out I was a first-time homeowner he walked me through the house to ensure that I knew how everything worked. I learned how the furnace worked and how to do some house maintenance myself to save money. Lou showed me where all the water shut offs are and what to do if there is ever a leak. After spending time walking around with me and teaching me about the house we talked about the roof and Lou told me that a "tune-up" was all that was needed and would give me another 4 or 5 years before needing to be completely replaced. HSA referred Dave Teare to do a tune-up and inspection and I was again very pleased with the time Dave spent explaining his work to me. I will certainly call HSA when I need another job done in my home.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Unsatisfied Customer in Oakville
Unsatisfied Customer in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Renovation & Repair

This company should not be granted access to a home let alone any contracting work. An HSA recommended contractor was sent to my home to lay a tile floor in my laundry room, extend a vent from my clothes dryer to the outside, insulate and drywall a portion of a wall. This contractor was rude, belligerent and obnoxious. Every aspect of the contracted work was an argument and it was unfortunate that the Management of HSA tended to side with this contractor instead of me, the customer. Work done on the dryer vent was evaluated as a fire hazard. The tiled floor was a disaster with tiles so uneven that some were jutting out by almost a quarter of an inch. The debris left over from daily work as seen on the attached picture is what needed to be cleaned up over a week’s period of time and prompted aggravation to an already existing medical condition. An absolute nightmare !!!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

HSA referred several contractors to this homeowner.

For the tile floor indicated in her review: the homeowner purchased her own tiles at a discount warehouse and when we advised her that they were the wrong type of tiles for a sloped floor application she indicated that she could not return the tiles. We advised her that the contractor would do his best to level the floor and use the tiles she was supplying, but that the floor would not be perfect. We discussed other options, but the customer was very limited by budget, and in the end she chose to have the work begin with the understanding that it would be done as good as possible given the situations.

The dryer vent became disconnected shortly after the work was completed. It was not viewed by any expert to determine that it was a “fire hazard”, this was the customers’ self-described condition to others. Once our company was aware of her concern we immediately went to her home with a new contractor to investigate and repair the vent.

After seeing this post we called the customer and tried to arrange a meeting to investigate what she is unhappy about. She indicated she was very happy with the plumbers we referred. She indicated she was very happy to have the dryer vent repaired and she was happy with the contractor we referred for that work. We discussed the floor tile and she indicated that the floor is out 1/8 inch or less (less than indicated in her review) and that even though we were willing to replace the floor at our expense she said she was now ok with the floor. In fact she said her issue was really only with the contractor who had installed the tiles on a personal basis. She didn’t like him. In the end she has declined to meet with us and has paid her invoice in full.

As a referral service we guarantee the work done by all referred contractors. This guarantee is on our website. This customer has indicated to us that she is happy with the work but not the person. If she wants to negatively criticize the person “This contractor was rude, belligerent and obnoxious” she should also post that she was happy with other contractors.

In conclusion, I believe that posts that are personal attacks should not be posted here. If people want to comment with praise or criticism on workmanship, that is OK, however general attacks on a person or person’s idea should not be tolerated. Constructive criticisms to assist our community in a proactive manner should be what this website is about, not comments that are abusive, hateful, inflammatory, harmful, tortuous, libelous or defamatory. Nor should comments posted here be used to harass, stalk or otherwise threaten a person.

It would be nice to see a photo posted of the final work as opposed to only a job in progress.

Philip Noble,
Owner, HSA

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about HSA

For all home repairs HSA will ensure your job is done right, on time and within budget.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Handyman Services pros in Oakville?