Tech Squad Inc

Computer Repairs and Support
713B 14 Street NW Calgary AB T2N 2A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

31%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Tech Squad Inc

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Wendy in Calgary
Wendy in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Computer not secure

A few months ago my computer was taken from the store during a break-in. I was not notified, nor was there any apology or financial compensation. I only heard about the THEFT when I went to pick up my computer - three days after the break-in. Although I was given a police report number, the owner/manager never contacted me to discuss my loss. In the meantime, I have spent hours and money replacing the computer, changing passwords, and downloading back-up information from online. I would NEVER recommend this business.

Was this review helpful?
Kenny Tang in Calgary
Kenny Tang in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Had a virus

These guys were great! Very easy to deal with and friendly. Fixed my issue fast and for cheaper than I thought. Will use again and recommend them to anybody.

Jason your customer service was awesome!

Was this review helpful?
chill in Calgary
chill in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
0/10

took harddrive in for power source replacemnt

I took my system in for a power source replacement.. was told max 2 days. 4 days later system was on the counter as they ran diagnostic testing to make sure it was 'worth it' before they would replace the power source. I went to the store to see what was happening and was told this was procedure and 'policy' and that was that. Very, very, very beligerent, rude and discourteous employee. I had used them in the past and will never use them again. Took the system directly to geeg squad where it was resolved quickly...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We have this situation under review as we are always concerned about any comment made about our staff’s attitude.
If you could kindly e-mail [email protected] with your information, we can then correct any issues found, and communicate with you.
I would also like to explain the importance behind the policy. It is not meant to come across as rude, or inconvenient, it is designed with the customer’s best interests in mind. The reason why we insist on testing out all of your computers components at no additional charge, is so that we do not just repair the item that you think is wrong and then shortly after something else goes wrong with your computer.
It is not a good idea for you to invest money into a computer repair, when perhaps something else is wrong with it, as it will be a waste of your money. In your example of the power supply, we have seen cases where a motherboard will also have blown capacitors as a result of a damaged power supply. So as a result you will pay to have the power supply replaced only to have your computer fail shortly after.
I hope this sheds some light on why this was communicated to you, but it should not have been done in a belligerent way, so if you will allow me the chance to investigate this, we will see if there is anything we can do for you for the future.

Thank you,

Carrie Anne Simons in Calgary
Carrie Anne Simons in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

virus problem

my bf was doing things online that he shouldn't and got my brand new laptop infected with a virus. when i brought it into bestbuy (where i bought it) they told me I would need to have all my stuff deleted to get rid of it and they wanted to charge me over 200 to do it so they could install some program on there.

I took it into these guys for a second opinion and they told me that not only would they not need to delete anything but it would only be a hundred dollars. took them like 4 days or something but they got rid of it as promised. they were extremely professional and didnt lose a single thing on my compy. 4 days did seem like a lot but then best buy said it would take like 3 weeks!!!!!!! sorry but this seemed like a pretty good amount of time to me. definately recommend these guys.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your positive review. Should the need arise we hope to see you in the future.

All the best

-Tech Squad

Don in Calgary
Don in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
0/10

Purchased Computer

I purchased a computer from Tech Squad, north location, in 2009. It has been bake for numerous problems, including replacing the motherboard and the CPU, and rebuiling Window on numerous occassions. They accept no responsibility and hide behind the warranty. Now the RAM had to be changed, which they did with slower memory chips, and charged me again. This thing is a pile of junk or else they don't know what they are doing. I could have purchased another computer for what they ahve charged me since I bought the thing. The Manager does not want to deal with clients and never returns calls herself, not will she meet with you if you have a problem. Not the most professional! My recommendation is don't use this company under any circumstance.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This particular customer actually received a personal meeting with the ownership of Tech Squad. In the end it was explained that the majority of the components were replaced in his computer due to manufactures defects, and in a sense he ended up with a new computer in the end. It was also explained that Tech Squad took a loss for the amount of service work needed to be performed on for this unit. We do not hide behind warranties; they are there to protect customers for lemon hardware. Unfortunately in this day and age computers are built overseas and some computers end up being lemons, we try to recommend the best components to customers in what we see have a low failure rates, but there is always the chance that parts will fail, that’s what warranties are for. What it comes down to us that we will always take care of our customers.

Jes South West
Jes South West
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Brought my work compuer in for a virus cleaning

I brought my computer into Tech Squad and I got it back the next day the whole process / experience was good so I am not sure what happened to the person above but I thought that Tech Squad was good but I got my work done in May and the other review was in December near xmas so that may be why. not sure but wanted to write a review because I really thought they did a good job especially when I saw the review above

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jes

All The Best

-Tech Squad

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Tech Squad Inc

We're Not Geeks or Nerds. Yes, we know the Geek and Nerd naming thing was cute a few years back, but seriously do you really want a Geek or a Nerd coming to service your computer? Wouldn't you want someone who was professional and can communicate in laymen's terms? Plus ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.