Laird & Son Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Toronto  >  Laird & Son Heating & Air Conditioning
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Laird & Son Heating & Air Conditioning

Average customer rating:
9 10 (224 reviews)

Sort by

Elizabeth C. in Scarborough
Elizabeth C. in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellent Job on July Long Weekend Air Conditioner Repair!!

When I called Laird & Son for an air conditioning repair on Friday before the July long weekend, I was impressed when they answered the phone and booked an appointment for me on the next day. Charley, the service man, came twice on the July long weekend to fix our air conditioner which was leaking water on the floor. He fixed our problems on a timely basis and at a reasonable cost. He was very personable as well which helped in the stressful situation. This July long weekend had record high temperatures and we would have suffered greatly with no air conditioning. Thank-you to Charley and Laird & Son for coming to help us on a long weekend. Thank-you Charley for your cheerful attitude and quality repairs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to give this review, we will let Charlie know your kind words!

Glenn in Toronto
Glenn in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Repair of Attic A/C

Kudos to L&S's Charley for repairing our leaking attic installed A/C unit. Although it took 4 visits to finally fix, Charley went out of his way to identify and finally fix the leaking PVC drain piping that had undergone hard to identify hairline cracks likely due to freeze-thaw cycling during the winter months. His final appearance was an 11pm visit to our home during which time he worked in the darkness of our attic until successful completion. Always cheerful and very resourceful, I'll be sure to request Charley's services in the future

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the note Glen , we will pass this on to Charlie . Have a good summer .

melissa  in Toronto
melissa in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

combo boiler/hot water on demand system installation

We have been happy customers of Laird and Sons for many years, so when we recently renovated our basement, we called to have them quote a new system. They recommended a top of the line, new unit that has saved us space, and after a few tweaks, works like a charm. Special thank you to Ryan and team, who did the installation and worked hard at solving an unforeseen issue, and to Mac for ensuring all was running properly. These guys really care that the job is done right!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for letting us know , that's great !! Will pass it on to the team .

Heidi in Scarborough
Heidi in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
6/10

Issues with furnace maintenance

After many years of good service with Laird & Son, I am planning to try a new HVAC company. This is with some regret because I have found the work of some technicians at this company really good. However, others have a more negative attitude and do not seem to genuinely care about my house and my HVAC system. What has sealed my decision to leave, however, isn't whether I had one or two bad experiences with maintenance. It is what I perceive to be the entitlement of company managers. All you have to do, to notice this shift is read their reaction to negative reviews. The tone is defensive, and in some cases even aggressive. A manager even suggested one review could be "fake". They don't seem to get it -- they don't respond to phone calls then blame the customer. They don't meet customer expectations, and blame the customer. They overcharge, then aggressively defend their "great" service. Customers have other options. I will buy a new furnace with a different company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Heidi , I am so sorry to hear what you think . Please reach out to me by email or call
me personally . I assure you I will address your concerns .
Neil Laird

S and M. Manna  in Scarborough
S and M. Manna in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

High-Efficiency Boiler

Having dealt with LAird and Son for the installation of our air conditioner , we naturally referred back to Laird and Son when our boiler was sadly on its last leg. Mack made the experience so much less painful as we could at least look forward to a professional installation and a more efficient boiler. When presented with the various brands and costs, we couldn’t quite make a decision. Rather than being quick or short, Mack patiently explained the pros and cons of each in detailed emails (outside of business hours) so we could ultimately make our decision with confidence. Knowing that it was the busiest time of year (mid-December), we thought the installation would be delayed, but again, you made it happen. Thank you Mack, Ron and the installation team. It’s always a pleasure to deal with an honest, reliable, professional team such as yours. Best Regards, Susan and Mike

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much . We will pass this on to Mack and the staff that were involved getting this sorted out for you .

Ian Graham in Toronto
Ian Graham in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellent Service

We intended to put up this post some time ago, but kept putting it off. It's a good news story and we owe it to Laird & Son - they earned it! So here it is:

Last year we needed to replace our (rental) water heater, but it turned out that there was not enough space between the furnace and the wall to get the old water heater out.

Laird & Son had installed the furnace in 2003. When we contacted them to complain that the placement of the furnace had caused this problem, they were surprised. However, after looking at some of our photos, they came and assessed the situation and determined that indeed the furnace was in the wrong place. So they moved it! They moved it (back about 4") within a week AND AT NO COST TO US. That was some 14 years AFTER they'd installed the furnace - excellent service under any circumstance! The furnace, by the way, is a Lennox and it has been absolutely worry-free. We are very happy with it.

Thank you Laird & Son for standing by your work and fixing this problem so quickly, neatly and at your own cost. We appreciate your integrity, as well as the quality of the product we purchased from you 14 years ago. We plan to use Laird & Son again when we need to replace this furnace.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Mr Graham we appreciate your business and for taking the time to write !!

A_Ma2020
A_Ma2020
1 review St. John'S, NL
10/10

Emergency Heating Service Call

Our boiler decided to stop working on one of the coldest days so far this year (-16 with the wind chill -20+). We called Laird and Sons at 5:30 p.m on Friday evening and their after hours technician was at our home within an hour and our problem was solved on the spot. We have called upon Laird and Sons in the past and they have consistently provided excellent service. A big shout out to Noah who got our (very old) boiler working in no time. Thanks so much Noah!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for letting us know . Will pass it on to Noah .

Catherine
Catherine
6 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Annual furnace service

I am beyond disappointed with my experience with Laird and Sons on December 22nd.

I had been using Laird and Son for my oil delivery and maintenance for many years. In March of this year I switched to gas. Laird was more expensive for the actual furnace, so I went with another company, but because I had such a great experience with Laird over the years, I decided I would give them my annual service / maintenance business going forward.

I called a few weeks ago to make the appointment. I explained my situation (new furnace, not installed by Laird) and I asked if I would void my warranty by using Laird. She said no.

When the technician came out, I explained the situation to him. He laughed at me! I asked “am I wrong to use Laird”? He said no. I asked if I was voiding my warranty. He said no. I left him in the basement.

A short time later the technician came up to explain to me that if my furnace breaks down, the parts are covered by warranty, but the labour is not. I checked my paperwork and I saw that I have a 12 years parts and service warranty. I went down to the basement to explain that and he said I MUST use the same company that I purchased the furnace from otherwise it will void the labour portion of my warranty.

This did not seem right to me… if I buy a car, I don’t void my warranty going to a licensed mechanic, instead of the dealership, but I did not argue further. He was the expert. Or so I thought.

That said, I took his advice and told him to stop working and to charge me for his work to date. He charged me $159 + tax – full service price even though he did not complete the service.

I came into work and emailed the company I purchased the furnace from. They confirmed (as I knew) that I can use any licensed technician.

The technician was NOT educated, gave me incorrect information, wasted my morning AND charged me $159 + tax for NOTHING. My furnace has not been serviced.

I have emailed Laird and Sons and received no response to date.

This has left a horrible taste in my mouth. Laird and Sons has gone from being a company I wanted to give my business to for many years, to me finding an alternative because of this one employee.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunate breakdown in communication . You were not charged the $ 159 , we will assume you did not know this before you wrote your review .
We hope you have a good winter !!

K chandler in Toronto
K chandler in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace died at the WORST time!

Just home from surgery I realized my furnace wasn't working. Called laird & sons and Mack W was at my door within half an hour! He even brought plug in heaters so I wouldnt freeze while my furnace was being fixed. Replaced 1 part and cleaned another and the furnace was working within an hour of my call! Very happy with my service today!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for letting us know we appreciate it . Have a great winter .

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Emergency Furnace Service

Our furnace stopped working on a cold night December. I called Laird & Sons late into the evening. Max called me back and arrived at 2:00 am to fix the furnace and I have not had any issues with the heat since. Thanks Max and the Laird and Sons team!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Laird & Son Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Toronto

HOME COMFORT SINCE 1948
Family owned and operated for over 60 years, Laird & Son has stayed true to its founding principle: making sure that every customer is completely satisfied with our heating and air conditioning services.

"Laird & Son has always been 100% dedicated to customer service with trained and qualified service representatives,high quality products and proven incentives. As a third generation owner, it is my commitment to continue this tradition of product and service excellence."
Neil Laird, President, Owner

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
SERVICES
Heating and Air Conditioning, sales and installation
WEBSITE
http://www.lairdandson.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1948
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
RETURN POLICY
Unknown
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Credit Card
LICENSES
Gas and Air conditioning
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.