Great Canadian Van Lines

Moving & Storage
669 Ridley Pl, Suite 203 Delta BC V3M 6Z7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Dreadful

Great Canadian Van Lines
1-800-665-0055
669 Ridley Pl, Suite 203
Delta
BC
V3M 6Z7
CANADA

We went from Vancouver to Calgary. The worst company I've ever dealt with:

- Misquoted us by about $1,000
- Broke valuables and only paid for half of, after much conjouling
- Told us they'd deliver for a particular date and time and ended up being days late with no apology or proactive communication. We took time off work for this!
- I constantly had to check in with them to ensure they did their job and scheduled us in. This was after them taking our deposit.
-Charged us for putting back together equipment but put it back incorrectly

We also watched as the movers opened up their truck door and our precious fitness equipment crashed onto the cold concrete ground. They didn't have the skillset to pack our gear effectively.

Getting our money for damages was a huge hassle and negotiation. I had to threaten legal action. Do not be fooled by their "included" $9,000 insurance policy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Lindsay, as you are aware your settlement for your claim which you agreed upon on August 10, 2018 was mailed out to you. There was a delay for you to receive the cheque because you submitted an incorrect mailing address on your claim form.

Based on your written email correspondence you indicated that your concerns were resolved. There was no threat of legal action to come to a conclusion of the settlement.
Now more than three months later you have surfaced with false accusations.

We have a copy of your original moving estimate provided to you May 24, 2018 by our agent A to B Moving and the estimated weight was 2877 lbs based on the list of goods you provided. Then on May 25, 2018 you requested a revised estimate (without any of your gym equipment or weights included) which came in at 1500 lbs. You advised your salesperson on June 13, 2018 that, “the weight may be bumped up to 2000 lb.” Here is the email you sent:
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
From: Lindsay Bonnett
Sent: Wednesday, June 13, 2018 8:51 AM
To: A to B Moving ; Jas Manhas
Subject: Re: Payment Receipt for Registered Move 48457

Hi,

Can you tell me the time you’ll be coming on June 26? My partner will be flying in to supervise.

Also, the weight may be bumped up to 2000 lb.

Thanks,

*end of email*________________________________________________________________________________________

Your actual scaled weight of your shipment was 2645 lbs. which came in lower than the original estimated weight of 2877 lbs which included the gym equipment and weights (that were shipped).

Your pickup date on your contract was June 25, 2018 and your delivery period on the contract was July 1st to 3rd. Unfortunately, due to the driver having trailer brake issues he arrived one day late (July 4th) which you were notified of.

On your claim form you never stated that any valuables were broken and that a piece of equipment was put back together incorrectly. You only indicated a ding and scratch on a metal garbage can, a desk was scratched and that a barbell was scratched – which you were compensated for and agreed to. Here is the email of the revised compensation offer and your agreement:
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

---------- Forwarded message ---------
From: Lindsay Bonnett
Date: Fri, Aug 10, 2018 at 2:26 PM
Subject: Re: Reg 48457
To: GCVL Customer Service

That's better for us.

Thank you.

On Fri, Aug 10, 2018 com> wrote:
Hi Lindsay,

The Claim Review Team, using an average of 9 Rogue Barbells, have authorised an increase in compensation to $378 which is $108 more than the valuation you purchased and qualify for.

A cheque in the amount of $707 will be forwarded to your mailing address.

Thank you.

Customer Service
*end of email*_________________________________________________________________________________________

We tried to contact you but the number we have on file is no longer in service so we reached out to you by email to call us to discuss.
We can be reached at 1-800-665-0055.

Thank you,
Great Canadian Van Lines
Customer Service