Eurodale Developments

Design/Build
1189 Lawrence Avenue West, Suite 7 Toronto ON M6A 1E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Bathroom Renovation in Toronto  >  Eurodale Developments  >  1st floor extension and bathroom reno
emily in North york
emily in North york
3 reviews North York, ON
2/10

1st floor extension and bathroom reno

I am not happy with the work performed by Eurodale at all.
It will now cost me $20,000 to correct what Eurodale has done. In fact inspection on the home has not been passed based on some of the work not done to code and not completed since 2007/2008.
I feel, for the quality of work I received certainly does not justify the money I paid. Project went 40 % over proposed amount quoted.
There is no doubt that I feel the work performed was below sub standard!
Timelines were way off and follow up was like pulling teeth.
Blair was about the only person I can say was great to deal with.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Emily,
We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the efforts of our team. We put in the best effort we could to ensure the project was completed per our agreement in a good workmanlike manner, and followed up on the items you requested we address to meet your personal standards.
Given your detailed claims in the review, I audited the project to gather some background. Below is what I collected which differs from your claims in your review.
1). We carry a full 2 year warranty on every project per our commitment to Renomark code of ethics and conduct, including that of the work at your home. January 16th, 2008 was the start of the 24 month warranty period. January 16th, 2010 it expired. There were no warranty claims filed during that period. Furthermore, failure to pay a contract in full is a breach of contract and voids a warranty provision. There are still monies outstanding to be paid by you on the contract.
2). The original contract budget was $103,318.00 plus gst. Change orders which were signed and approved by you for requests of additional work in addition to the original contract amounted to $18,099.91 plus gst. This brings the total amount of work to $121,417.91 plus gst. While this is 17.5% over the original contract amount, it was for work not initially contracted to be performed. It was all priced and approved in advance of the work being performed per the provisions for CHANGES IN WORK as defined in our contract. Your claim of 40% is more than double the facts, and was reflective of additional work which she requested and agreed to in advance through written change order which becomes an addendum to the contract and cannot be claimed to be “over budget”.
3). All inspections for work performed by Eurodale Developments Inc. were performed and passed by the City of Toronto. The contract scope excluded some project components which you as the owner did not want completed at the time (namely the handrails on the rear porch and exterior basement entry stairwell. We are contracted to have inspections for the work performed by Eurodale per the terms of the agreement. This was all performed. You would then has a duty to perform the work required to complete the project and get the appropriate occupation permit/final inspection.
4). There is no time-frame listed in the contract since there are factors in every project which are beyond the control of Eurodale Developments Inc. We use Gantt Chart scheduling on all projects as a guide for our crews and to advise owners of our intended progress through the project. Items such as additional work requests by the owner, weather, supplier delays on owner selected finishes and existing house conditions can affect the timing of a project, for which we cannot be held accountable or liable for. As mentioned below the project took 5 months. The timing was estimated at 4-6 months, thus putting us right in line with the original suggestion.
5). A final punch list was performed for any and all outstanding deficiencies. It was signed as a letter of intent that upon completion of the items on the list, all outstanding monies ($1,190.24) would be paid to Eurodale by the owner. The list (as well as many other items to make the project and site look great for the owner) was performed immaculately. The client never paid Eurodale and instead has continued to try and defame the name of our organization with false claims.

The BILD Association cleared a complaint long ago given the items listed above, as an inaccurate claim. As 2011 Renovator of the Year in Toronto, we have great pride in the work we do for each and every homeowner. It is the satisfaction of our current and past clients that drives our business and will continue to do so for our future clients.

We hope you continue to enjoy the addition our team built for you and are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy working with us.
Respectfully,
The Eurodale Team.