Eurodale Developments

Design/Build
1189 Lawrence Avenue West, Suite 7 Toronto ON M6A 1E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Design/Build
Eurodale Developments
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Eurodale Developments

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

Trish in Toronto
Trish in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

1942 Bungalow - Gut and Renovation

I have just completed a 14 month renovation project with Eurodale Deveolpments and couldn’t be more thrilled with the results. I had never gone through a renovation before, knew nothing about building and didn’t have an architect or an interior designer. I had been thinking about this project for several years and had done a fair amount of research. I had talked to everyone I knew who had gone through a renovation or built a house and had heard every horror story imaginable so I knew I had to be extra careful in the selection process. I had to find a design/build firm that wouldn’t take advantage of a renovation neophyte, a builder whom I could trust and that was experienced enough to guide me through every aspect of the process. I had a number of references from friends and family but luckily I found Eurodale right on my street as they were working on a project for my neighbors. The work site was always impeccable and when I was invited in to see the house with a friend who just happened to be an architect, she commented on the high quality of workmanship. I talked in depth to a number of other builders but ultimately came back to Eurodale. Every one of their clients whom I spoke to said they would absolutely hire them again and I was impressed by their word-of-mouth reputation.
To add another layer of complexity I wanted my house to be as “green” as I could possibly afford: solar panels, metal roof, natural insulation, sustainably sourced materials and energy efficient. I knew this would make the process more difficult than normal but Eurodale was able to guide me to the right suppliers and resources to meet those requirements even if it wasn’t always the easiest route.
Jim and Brendan guided me every step of the way through the design and construction processes providing weekly status reports on what had been accomplished, what was on the agenda for the upcoming week and client decisions/actions required. They were professional, organized, resourceful and committed. When problems arose which invariably they did, they would tell me not to stress that they would figure it out and that that’s what I’d hired them for. They were excellent problem solvers and although not the least expensive game in town they were cost-conscious and actively looked for ways to reduce expenditures and find the best systems for my house. They advised me on where I should invest and where I could scale back. They were tireless in their efforts to build a house I would be happy with. Most importantly they never let me down and were always there when I needed them - they genuinely care about their clients.
Clement, the production manager, was incredibly resourceful and endlessly patient as he guided me through window and door selections, plumbing and electrical plans, and a myriad of other decisions that left my head spinning. His attention to details that I likely would have overlooked was phenomenal. He sent photos and drawings whenever I had trouble envisioning something which was frequent. He also reminded me of approaching deadlines and kept a running cost allocation report.
Blair and Dillon, the lead and assistant carpenters, were on site every day and looked after the house as if it was their own. I realized during the process that I was a bit spatially challenged and they went out of their way to demonstrate exactly how something would look. Nothing was too much trouble even when it meant it had to be redone because I didn’t quite get it the first time around or it wasn’t really their job. When the wrong portico corbels arrived from the supplier, Blair made the ones I wanted himself. They were perfectionists in everything they did and it is reflected throughout the entire house.
Jim and Brendan have a passion for what they do, integrity and an extraordinary work ethic which permeates the entire Eurodale team and the trades they work with. They take great pride in their work which is increasingly rare these days and it shows in the end result. Every friend, visitor or trade who has walked through the finished house has commented on the high quality of workmanship and attention to deatil. I would not hesitate to hire them again or to recommend Eurodale to anyone who wants to build anew or renovate their home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Trish,
Thank you firstly for the trust and confidence you placed in us to design and build your home. We were all grateful to have a client such as you and the project was a lot of fun! Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience working with each member of our project team. We are thrilled to hear that you feel we delivered you with the value you were seeking in us. The home is beautiful and we hope you enjoy it for years to come!
Cheers
The Eurdale Team

Jennifer in Toronto
Jennifer in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

High Park/Junction -100 Year Old Home - Gut & Renovation

Our 100 year forever home was in good hands from demolition and rebuild to the finishing touches during this 10 month gut/reno project planned and executed by the Eurodale team. Professional and on time with quality workmanship by all subcontractors on the jobsite. Proactive and positive attention to details including safety, neighbourly relations, and communication. The team treated the project as though they would live in it themselves. A good news home reno story - they do exist.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Jennifer,
Thanks so much for the positive 10 star review! We are always thrilled to read reviews from clients who enjoyed the process of working with our team. Designing and Building an addition and renovation project as extensively as yours is a long and expensive process, but when all is complete and we receive feedback that you are pleased with the investment of time and money and see value in working with us, it warms our hearts! You and your family were dream clients and we hope you enjoy your expanded and remodeled home for another 100 years!
Cheers,
The Eurodale Family

Euan from Toronto
Euan from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Complete renovation underpin and addition to semi detached home

We had Eurodale complete a full Excavation/addition/renovation to our home in the midtown/davisville area that started spring 2015-2016. No project comes without stress, but we can't say enough about this team. They give contractors an amazing name in an industry full of firms that scare many away from renovations and construction. In full disclosure, as happens when trying to keep parts of a 90 year old home some unforeseen things came up. Additional expenses arose. Many of which Brendan did warn us in advance of. Some just bad luck for us (additional concealed asbestos, undermined floor joists etc. Eurodale worked with us and communicated through every stage. No homeowner ever wants to hear about extras but it is a realistic part of the process in Toronto (unfortunately). Every time Brendan and Jim were put up against it with the opportunity to show both their, and their companies character they showed what this firm is all about. Stand up, honest business owners who give you an A++ product.

Brendan will tell you right off the bat... You get what you pay for. We sure did. When I think about what might have been, if I took cheaper estimates we had been presented with.. I actually shudder. We ended up experiencing an absolute neighbour from hell situation (refusing access to his property midway through the project too finish siding, which required right of entry permitted access, calling in an encroachment complaint known to be false, sending threatening legal letters to my pregnant wife... The list really goes on and on. Many man hours were spent on Eurodales part for which I never saw a bill). Any other contractor in their right mind would have walked off the job in the first month but the team at Eurodale handled everything with the utmost class.

In addition to the amazing ownership team the icing on the cake has to be our lead carpenter Blair. It wasn't until well into the framing that I came to really understand the LEAD CARPENTER SYSTEM. Basically he is on your site EVERDAY.... how many people go through a one year Reno and say someone was onsite every single day? He is not just responsible for framing and other carpentry work but management of all other trades ensuring the utmost quality. I remember Brendan telling me early on Blair would be the guy he would have build his house. I understand why!! His attention to detail and passion for what he does shows through every part of my home and even though our constant changes must have driven him mad we love the house he built for us. When I think of the money he saved us by pointing out or recommending changes before it was too late and would have been extra cost my head spins. People ask us what would you change or do different and I think it's a large part thanks to Blair there really isn't much.

This team gave my wife and I, and our newborn son our absolute dream home. Every homeowner needs to go into reno's with eyes wide open. It's stressful, prepare for and expect the unexpected, but when you have people who stand behind there product no matter what, that's what your hiring in Eurodale.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Euan,
Thanks so much for the glowing review! The project turned out fantastic and we sincerely appreciate the trust and confidence you and your family provided in us to renovate your home. We hope you enjoy the space for years to come.
Cheers,
The Eurodale Family.

David A.
David A.
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Home Addition

I would like to give my full recommendation to Eurodale Develpoments based on the excellent work they did in our home. The entire team were very professional, quick to respond to phone calls and emails and made sure the job was completed to our satisfaction. Eurodale showed accountability when needed, provided very helpful insight and went out of their way to ensure all of our questions were answered. I would not hesitate to recommend Eurodale to all of our family and friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello David,
Thanks for the review - the projec was fun to build and we are happy that you and your family enjoyed the process.
All the best,
The Eurodale Family

Alana from Toronto
Alana from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

Complete Reno, third floor addition

Euro dale was very professional, interested in our needs as clients, and delivered a high quality of work. Their sub trades were also very good, particularly Laura Thornton. We are extremely happy with our renovation and beautiful home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review - we too are very proud of the award winning project! It is always nice to hear about a positive experience when you work with clients for over a year on a large project together.

Jodi from Etobicoke
Jodi from Etobicoke
1 review Etobicoke, ON
9/10

Big Renovation

We loved our location but only liked our house. Eurodale has helped us to love both! Our house is great. The experience was relatively painless. We started out with a rocky start and was delayed for quite some time. Some problems that occurred at the beginning were out of Eurodale's control. But once they started the project it was completed on schedule. Not a day went by that they weren't working on our house for 6 months straight. There were some concerns along the way (like any project) but anything we weren't happy with the team came in and fixed right away and made it right. Brendan provided excellent customer service and anytime I needed Jim he got back to me within half an hour. The additional trades on the job were also good and Vik and Mike worked hard for us. We now have a beautiful house! If only moving fairies would now visit and unpack all my boxes life were be perfect =0) Thanks everyone!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review Jodi! Yes, at times in this industry things can arise that are beyond our control, but we are always committed to delivering the very best for our clients. Your project turned out great and we are all very proud of it. We receive a lot of compliments on the transformation! We appreciate your time to give us the feedback on your experience!

Cameron from Somerville
Cameron from Somerville
2 reviews Somerville, NJ
4/10

Full Rear House Renovation

While Eurodale started off on an apparent honest track they subcontracted a number of interesting unqualified individuals that all had quality and code issues with the company. The guys take short cuts, watch out. As far as warranty work the eaves that they subcontracted have subsequently cost me thousands of dollars of repair and they refused to honour their work. Not what I would expect for the kind of high end investent made with this renovation. I'm only posting now after I can realize that sharing this information may be valuable to future consumers. I've requested that my reference be removed from their website on multiple occasions and they continue to keep it active. Good luck!

Cameron

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Cameron,
Thank you for advising us your originally supportive testimonial is still up on our website from when you provided it to us in 2006, after completing your addition and renovation project ("My Eurodale experience was first in class. After undertaking an exhaustive process of due diligence in the selection of contractors I finally found a team that was willing to work for "me" and one that I could trust with such a significant personal investment. Both Jim and Brendan worked tirelessly to ensure that my project was professional, organized and completed on time. Their attention to budgeting, detail and workmanship was excellent. I'm ecstatic to be living in my new space."
-Cameron (Rear Addition-Summer 2006).
I have placed a follow up request to our IT team to look into this asap, sorry if we did not do that upon your first request.

In 2010 when you requested that we address an eavestrough sloping issue, we responded quickly, but since it was 2 years past the contracted 2 year warranty, and it appeared to have been shifted by outside forces, we advised there would be a cost to re-slope it to ensure and regain the proper drainage it had when originally installed. Upon your email approval of this cost, after doing the work and your subsequent threatening refusal to pay, we just dropped this issue as it is never our intention to fight with a past client. We are sorry to hear you are displeased with the actions of our team, and honestly surprised at the review, especially some 7 years later. That being said, we respect your request to remove your testimonial as we should have at your request, and wish you continued enjoyment of the home.
Kind regards,
The Eurodale Team.

Lisa and Jim in East york
Lisa and Jim in East york
3 reviews East York, ON
10/10

Basement, deck, flooring and much more..

Thanks to Brendan, Jim and the Eurodale Team we now have the house that we have wanted. For 5 months we were impressed with the Euro Team's attention to detail, communication, timelines and cost. Brendan and Jim always made themselves available for our questions. Blair is the most exceptional carpenter we have met who's experience is seen in his attention to detail. We wouldn't hesitate recommending them to friends and family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Lisa and Jim for the great review! We are so pleased to hear the stories of clients that select our team to work on their homes and appreciate the efforts of our entire team to deliver on our promises. Your project was a delight to complete, we too enjoyed working with you both very much.

emily in North york
emily in North york
3 reviews North York, ON
2/10

1st floor extension and bathroom reno

I am not happy with the work performed by Eurodale at all.
It will now cost me $20,000 to correct what Eurodale has done. In fact inspection on the home has not been passed based on some of the work not done to code and not completed since 2007/2008.
I feel, for the quality of work I received certainly does not justify the money I paid. Project went 40 % over proposed amount quoted.
There is no doubt that I feel the work performed was below sub standard!
Timelines were way off and follow up was like pulling teeth.
Blair was about the only person I can say was great to deal with.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Emily,
We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the efforts of our team. We put in the best effort we could to ensure the project was completed per our agreement in a good workmanlike manner, and followed up on the items you requested we address to meet your personal standards.
Given your detailed claims in the review, I audited the project to gather some background. Below is what I collected which differs from your claims in your review.
1). We carry a full 2 year warranty on every project per our commitment to Renomark code of ethics and conduct, including that of the work at your home. January 16th, 2008 was the start of the 24 month warranty period. January 16th, 2010 it expired. There were no warranty claims filed during that period. Furthermore, failure to pay a contract in full is a breach of contract and voids a warranty provision. There are still monies outstanding to be paid by you on the contract.
2). The original contract budget was $103,318.00 plus gst. Change orders which were signed and approved by you for requests of additional work in addition to the original contract amounted to $18,099.91 plus gst. This brings the total amount of work to $121,417.91 plus gst. While this is 17.5% over the original contract amount, it was for work not initially contracted to be performed. It was all priced and approved in advance of the work being performed per the provisions for CHANGES IN WORK as defined in our contract. Your claim of 40% is more than double the facts, and was reflective of additional work which she requested and agreed to in advance through written change order which becomes an addendum to the contract and cannot be claimed to be “over budget”.
3). All inspections for work performed by Eurodale Developments Inc. were performed and passed by the City of Toronto. The contract scope excluded some project components which you as the owner did not want completed at the time (namely the handrails on the rear porch and exterior basement entry stairwell. We are contracted to have inspections for the work performed by Eurodale per the terms of the agreement. This was all performed. You would then has a duty to perform the work required to complete the project and get the appropriate occupation permit/final inspection.
4). There is no time-frame listed in the contract since there are factors in every project which are beyond the control of Eurodale Developments Inc. We use Gantt Chart scheduling on all projects as a guide for our crews and to advise owners of our intended progress through the project. Items such as additional work requests by the owner, weather, supplier delays on owner selected finishes and existing house conditions can affect the timing of a project, for which we cannot be held accountable or liable for. As mentioned below the project took 5 months. The timing was estimated at 4-6 months, thus putting us right in line with the original suggestion.
5). A final punch list was performed for any and all outstanding deficiencies. It was signed as a letter of intent that upon completion of the items on the list, all outstanding monies ($1,190.24) would be paid to Eurodale by the owner. The list (as well as many other items to make the project and site look great for the owner) was performed immaculately. The client never paid Eurodale and instead has continued to try and defame the name of our organization with false claims.

The BILD Association cleared a complaint long ago given the items listed above, as an inaccurate claim. As 2011 Renovator of the Year in Toronto, we have great pride in the work we do for each and every homeowner. It is the satisfaction of our current and past clients that drives our business and will continue to do so for our future clients.

We hope you continue to enjoy the addition our team built for you and are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy working with us.
Respectfully,
The Eurodale Team.

Karen Campbell in Uxbridge
Karen Campbell in Uxbridge
1 review Uxbridge, ON
10/10

basement finishing (complete)

We wanted a haven for our children and a retreat for family and friends, we got all we wanted and more. All of this came in under budget. Jim and Brendan were great at helping us to come up with ideas that worked for our space and made our dreams a reality.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Eurodale Developments

Full service Design-Build Firm. Eurodale will plan, design, coordinate, manage, and produce the final product. The industry leading Lead Carpenter system coupled with the professional management systems allow for an enjoyable process for the client. The quality product and shining smiles left behind are testament to the commitment of the ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Design/Build pros in Toronto?