Ecotech Hydronics & Heating-No Longer In Business

Green Products & Services
977 Brock Rd Pickering ON L1W 3A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Green Products & Services in Toronto  >  Ecotech Hydronics & Heating-No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

44%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ecotech Hydronics & Heating-No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Carol Austin in Toronto
Carol Austin in Toronto
16 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Phoenix Evolution Combi Boiler

We owned a home with radiant in-floor heating on all levels and had to replace the entire system that serviced the floor heat and domestic hot water. This was a big undertaking and we spoke with numerous companies and did a ton of research. Ecotech always came out on top as far as their knowledge of complex heating systems so we chose them in the end. This was a very expensive project and they did a great job, had to come back a few times and always did so promptly, and in the end the system turned out to be the best choice for the house.

Was this review helpful?
Leasider
Leasider
3 reviews East York, ON
2/10

In floor heating and HTP Boiler

Mr. Hinton was great at selling the product but soon after the subfloor heating and the HTP boiler was installed we were informed that he was closing up shop. He said if I need any help to call him and he'll try to address our concerns.

Since the system wasn't fully tested (summer install), we soon realized that we needed follow up on the following items: malfunctioning thermostat, boiler requiring servicing and in-floor heating making loud noises during start up. We have left text messages and voicemails but unfortunately Mr. Hinton has not acknowledged any of our messages.

Dan, why take on a project if you know you will not be able to fulfill your contactual and service obligations? Looks like greed is greater than your guarantee/commitment to the customer and contractor. Dan if you get this review we would like to hear from you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You just can't please everyone...this customer knows full well that Ecotech ceased operations last year. We bent over backwards to help the clients that were left without service after we closed. We were under no obligation to do so. DirectAir Travel just left thousands stranded after they closed their doors, we didn't do this, but for some people, it is never enough. This client got a full system installed, tested and running. We allowed him to do some of the work himself to keep costs down. We cannot be expectd to sevice him indefinitely if we have ceased operations. We certainly did not know we would be closing when we took on the project. We serviced our customers loyally for over 8 years. We apologize that this particular customer (and a few others) are at the tail end of our companies end.

l in Toronto
l in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Heating system

I was very disappointed by the service I received from Ecotech Hydronics on a heating system I had installed in my home. Not only was the communication regarding the progress on the project extremely poor but Dan and his team left the job 3/4 completed. It has been months and I am still waiting Dan's follow-up on an unresolved issue.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It would help to know who you are instead of posing as "I in Toronto". This customer also knows we have closed, but I understand they are upset that there is nothing to do but call others to service them. It is a natural reaction to lash out at us, but I don't take it personally.

Curtis Gallagher in Toronto
Curtis Gallagher in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Rinnai tankless hot water and heating system repair

Roughly 6 years ago Ecotech, specifically Dan Hinton, sold/installed a Rinnai tankless hot water and heating system in our house (est. $9,000). It worked quite well until the other day the electronic key pad failed. I hoped to get Dan again, and did. He juggled his schedule to ensure we had heat/hot water restored as soon as possible. The solution took much longer than expected but Dan stuck with it until the job was done. After several years, Dan still responded like a professional. Problem solved!

Was this review helpful?
David Harvey in Toronto
David Harvey in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Heating & Cooling

EcoTech came to our home to determine exactly what type of heating system for both house and domestic hot water was needed. On his advice we purchased a Triangle Tube combination system which was installed very professionally in one day, including the removal of the old boiler and two rental hot water heaters. The system has cut our gas consumption by over 40%, despite a colder than usual winter in 2010. Absolutely first class.

Was this review helpful?
JZ in Bolton
JZ in Bolton
1 review Bolton, ON
10/10

In Floor Heating Project

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

I called Dan from Ecotech Hydronics after doing some internet research. After speaking to Dan on the phone, I was confident he was one of the more knowledgeable heating contractors I had spoken to. I was looking to finish my walk-out basement and I knew the furnace would not maintain a comfortable temperature. Dan suggested several in floor heating options. After several conversations, Dan recommended a pre-insulated heating panel that could be laid right over the existing concrete, then have tubing run in routered grooves in the panel. This was the perfect solution for our project. The system is only ¾” high and it works beautifully. The floors are warm, in the ceramic, carpet and laminate areas. The basement maintains a comfortable temperature, regardless of the main floor thermostat setting. I can even control different areas of the basement independently.
I told Dan I was planning a master bathroom renovation, which would require a lot of hot water, so Dan also installed a tankless water heater to meet my new hot water demands and to run the heating system. I also mentioned my kids’ rooms were always chilly. Dan recommended in joist heating, running off the same tankless heater. This was installed before the drywall ceiling was done. My kids’ rooms are warm now and I can control their room temperature independently of the main thermostat. The Ecotech crew was very professional and worked hard to accommodate the renovation schedule. Norm, the installation manager, is very meticulous and came up with innovative ideas to work around design issues we encountered. I could not be more pleased with the new level of comfort in the house. I highly recommend Dan and his crew.

Was this review helpful?
B&L in Indiana
B&L in Indiana
1 review , IN
10/10

RESCOM 2100 Baseboard Radiators

It's not often that we find a company like yours. A great product and great service. We will be more than happy to buy from you again and to recommend your company to everyone that needs your services. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful?
Thor in North York
Thor in North York
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Tankless Hot water, & High Efficiency Furnace

When it came to technical advice on the tankless hot water, Dan, from Ecotech’s, technical knowledge and advice was far and away the best of the 7 or 8 companies we had over to consult and quote on the job.

I yanked my old fashion hot water tank and mid-efficiency furnace about 18 months ago. I waited a while to write a review just to be sure things were running smooth, I would hate to recommend someone if I wasn’t very confident in my recommendation.

Anyway, after I did some initial research on tankless hot water and high efficiency furnace I had 7 or 8 different firms in to quote on my job. I had a tight space and everyone said it would be a bit tricky to make sure all the venting was up to code and I wanted to make sure the job was done right. Dan, from Ecotech, was by FAR and AWAY the most knowledgeable on tankless hot water systems.

In addition, all the other furnace people that I had over wanted to install a new furnace that was too big for my house. Dan was the only furnace guy that assured me that the 100,000 BTU high-efficiency furnace that everyone else was more than happy to sell me was just too big for my house. If your furnace is too big it looses efficiency, not to mention a big furnace cost more to buy in the first place. Anyway I was pretty doubtful since Dan was the only one that was insisting on this, but after reviewing numerous websites, doing some calculations, and speaking to a few government organizations that had no profit motif in the advice that they were providing me I found that Dan was indeed correct. Last winter we had some good and cold days but you would have never know it at my house.

Dan at Ecotech is the best of breed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
R&J
R&J
1 review Stouffville, ON
9/10

Hydronic Heated Floors

Researched how to heat the walk-out basement in my older home. Decided that hydronic floors was best solution. Then research hydronic floor installers & found Ecotech/Dan. Dan persisted, albeit through some personal matters, to complete my job in a timely & professional fashion. The solution is wonderful & we now enjoy a wonderfully heated walk-out basement. Thanks Dan for the great job. Thanks Norm for being a great, reliable and accountable crew-boss! Best things about Ecotech: (a) Dan's reasonable pricing, (b) Dan's detailed answers to questions, (c) Norm's response to issues & problem solving professionalism. Only areas of "suggestions" or "lessons learned": (i) if the area to mount the system is already drywalled, & location of studs is uncertain, to locate the studs & mount a sheet of plywood as a base/backing to then mount the rest of the system onto, this saves any unneccessary drilling/holes into drywall to support the system, (ii) once the hydronic system is install but before concrete is poured, as the homeowner, take a million digital pictures - from every angle ... so that should you ever wonder where the pex tubing is, you will know ...this may even enable you to then be able to drill should u ever need to, e.g. to secure transition strips for laminate/carpet/tile. All the best to your company & crew for 2009 Dan. Cheers. R&J.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Craig in High Park
Craig in High Park
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Replacement of old boiler with high efficiency gas boiler

EcoTech was great in replacing my old oil fired boiler with a new Triangle Tube high efficiency gas model. They looked after everything from arranging to have a gasline put in, to replacing the old boiler and setting up the new one. They were clean, professional and extremely courteous. I'd highly recommend Dan and his crew to anyone. Thanks again!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Ecotech Hydronics & Heating-No Longer In Business

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.