The Chesterfield Shop Ltd

Furniture
4900 Dufferin St Toronto ON M3H 2W1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Natasha@home
N. A.
21 reviews Pickering, ON
2/10

Loveseat

I bought a love seat two years ago and I got a lemon. The Good: it was North American made, had great colour choices, was modern design, and is beautiful. The Bad: there was the first delay of a couple of months, the second delay of a couple of months, no contact from the company to inform me or give me an explanation, I went to the Dufferin location to speak to the office and they are less than professional or organized, 3 months after finally getting the love-seat a button pops off so I call, they lose my request for service until I call them 6 months later, I finally get it fixed. When the repair guy comes to fix it, I ask if its normal that the seat cushions are flattening so quickly. He said it shouldn't really be (though it's a couch I use for hours every day). He orders me new seat cushions and they are better foam. Months pass, and 2 more buttons pop off. I didn't call for the first button, but I called for the second service fix, the factory sends the wrong colour buttons which is only discovered at the service call. I send a swatch of fabric with the second button request. The people who called from their office have horrible phone manners, there are delays, lack of follow-through. I'd give the office staff a rating of 2. I don't know what to say - I have had great luck with couches so far in life. I usually buy Canadian (since Canadian couches are known to be worth the quality) and this one is USA. My 15 year old couch is better than this one: I'd rate the quality of this loveseat as a 4.

They have excellent fix-guys. I would give them a 9 or 10 - polite, efficient and always on time. Joe was in this past week to open the back of my couch and put in all new buttons and deepen the tufting (since it was flush with the surface before). He tightened the legs and the couch is ready to go. Klaus was here before and he was great - got the seat cushions, ordered new buttons, and affixed them.

Interesting that HomeStars does not have an option for the customer to address what the company says.
1. My timelines are about bang on.
2. I currently own 6 couches in use in my home - none have flattening cushions like this one does.
3. The office staff lost my bill of sale - couldn't find it when I was there at the office, and the office manner is not what you can expect from a professional organization. My first request for button fix was lost for months. How is this professional? When the company calls, they don't even identify who is calling - instead demand who they are speaking to. Do you tape your calls? Take a listen.
4 . I stand by my review or I wouldn't have written it. Their response (below) makes me decide to never buy from there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, whether it be positive or negative. I am sorry that you are not having much luck with your purchase. This style has been sold countless times, and we have not had any other reports regarding buttons popping off. It is for this reason that we replaced not only the buttons that came off, but all of them as a precautionary measure. Foam breakdown is quite normal - with regular cushion rotation this can be avoided. We have a record of all contact with you, and show that the timelines you mention aren't quite accurate. We apologize that the factory sent the wrong parts - a situation that was immediately rectified. Our office staff is exceptionally organized, and on top of requests at all times. The delays you experienced were mainly due to slow factory response times. We do our best to keep our consumers informed as we receive information. We hope that you are now enjoying your furniture, and remind you that we offer our 5 year service warranty (at no charge) in the event that you experience problems with your purchase.

Previous versions of this review:

Natasha@home
N. A.
21 reviews Pickering, ON
4/10

Loveseat

I bought a love seat two years ago and I got a lemon. The Good: it was North American made, had great colour choices, was modern design, and is beautiful. The Bad: there was the first delay of a couple of months, the second delay of a couple of months, no contact from the company to inform me or give me an explanation, I went to the Dufferin location to speak to the office and they are less than professional or organized, 3 months after finally getting the love-seat a button pops off so I call, they lose my request for service until I call them 6 months later, I finally get it fixed. When the repair guy comes to fix it, I ask if its normal that the seat cushions are flattening so quickly. He said it shouldn't really be (though it's a couch I use for hours every day). He orders me new seat cushions and they are better foam. Months pass, and 2 more buttons pop off. I didn't call for the first button, but I called for the second service fix, the factory sends the wrong colour buttons which is only discovered at the service call. I send a swatch of fabric with the second button request. The people who called from their office have horrible phone manners, there are delays, lack of follow-through. I'd give the office staff a rating of 2. I don't know what to say - I have had great luck with couches so far in life. I usually buy Canadian (since Canadian couches are known to be worth the quality) and this one is USA. My 15 year old couch is better than this one: I'd rate the quality of this loveseat as a 4.

They have excellent fix-guys. I would give them a 9 or 10 - polite, efficient and always on time. Joe was in this past week to open the back of my couch and put in all new buttons and deepen the tufting (since it was flush with the surface before). He tightened the legs and the couch is ready to go. Klaus was here before and he was great - got the seat cushions, ordered new buttons, and affixed them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?