Green Matt Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Innisfil ON L9S 2C1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Green Matt Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

A CICCI in Orillia
A CICCI in Orillia
1 review Orillia, ON
10/10

French drain and fence, very happy

Matt and his crew installed some drainage and a fench for me, he was professional and did the job that was agreed too. I am very happy with his work, he did install a sump pump and run some hoses in a drain for my neighbor at no charge. I would highly recommend him.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Minesing, ON
1/10

Disappointing Work

Matt, and his crew, were initially very responsive and seemingly did a great job with some initial excavation work, which was the initial part of our project - as we had discussed moving forward with additional stonework in spring 2019.

After excevation work was done, we subsequently asked them to pour some concrete pads and sonotubes for us which is where our disappointment started.

After being told they were experienced in pouring cement, we were left with a very rough, uneven and mis sized pad for our shed and equally disappointing work for the pad that was to support an outdoor kitchen. When questioned about this, Matt's crew initially defended the work that was done as quality work and suggested that just a levelset coat would solve the issue (they were not any cheaper than any other quotes we received from reputable concrete companies). See pictures attached for quality of cement work.

At the same time we asked them to pour 4 12" sonotubes to support a outdoor pavilion and provided a post layout diagram from the builder. After initially questioning the quality of the cement (see pics), I noticed that the sonotubes were significantly off of the provided measurements such that the pavilion would not sit on them. In an effort to fix that mistake, their crew re places & re poured 2 of the sonotubes, but unfortunately were still not able to get the measurements correct. With the builder coming to install the pavilion, we collectively agreed that they would pull ALL of the sonotubes and left me scrambling to find someone to do this correctly. To my surprise, when the new contractor came to pour the sonotubes, as they started to dig they found the majority of the old sonotubes still in the ground (which were supposed to removed by Matts crew) ....this left me paying a crew to sit around as matts crew came again to properly remove the remainder of the old sonotubes (and fully admitted to just covering them up the first time).

To their credit, they did refund the $ that I paid them for the concrete work, however given the time and the extra $ I had to spend on having it done properly.

To cap off our disappointment, I had repeatedly reached out to Matt to provide an estimate for the next phase of work (stonework/irrigation) to which we have yet to receive any response - and am still left with an un repaired lawn - something that was to be included in the price of the excavation, but Matt suggested we just hold of in repairing until after the stonework.

All in all, Matt and his crew are nice guys, but would be very cautious of hiring these guys for bigger jobs, and definitely would hold off paying any $$ until the work is done to satisfaction and to completion.

We live in a new subdivision, where lots of work is being done, and would have loved to recommend matt (as our neighbors were asking), but unfortunately wont be passing along given the experience we had.

see pics attached for examples of work....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Christy in Keswick
Christy in Keswick
2 reviews Georgina, ON
10/10

Front Lawn Makeover

I had messaged Matt from GreenMatt Landscaping and within 5 minutes Matt had responded to my Email and they began work within the week. I would not hesitate at all to recommend Matt and his "crew" to do any work. Matt was very professional, friendly, very affordable, punctual and he and his men worked extremely hard. I would even say they went ABOVE AND BEYOND. They are highly skilled, and once they are done, they clean up all the excess rubbish. I enjoyed watching the transformation of my new front yard. I am so very happy at the new look I now have. Thank you Matt and "crew" for everything. You truly are amazing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Christy,

Thank you for the wonderful review! You were AMAZING to work with. You were very hospitable and we can't stop thinking about your awesome chicken kabobs!

You are truly a wonderful person and we hope to work with you again in the future.

Thank You,
Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

Kim
Kim
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Regrading, drainage and pavers

We contacted Matt to help us with some drainage and grading issues we had with our side yard. He promptly responded to my inquiry, and listened carefully when he arrived for our quote. After several quotes from other companies, we chose Matt. His friendly, professionalism was evident throughout our experience. We were impressed with his whole team. All displayed pride of workmanship and punctuality. We have worked with a lot of contractors in the past, and Matt and his team made the experience pleasant and stress free. Wouldn’t hesitate to hire again for future jobs. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kim,

Thank you for the wonderful review. You were amazing to work with and we're really happy with the way your project turned out. You were both excellent throughout the project and we appreciate the kind words.

We look forward to working with you in the future!

Thank You,
Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

Lynn
Lynn
1 review , ON
10/10

Landscaping: Grading, Over-Seeding & Front Garden

Matt and his team recently completed the above - noted residential landscaping work. Appreciated their responsiveness, timely work and attention to detail. Looking forward to watching the garden and lawn grow fuller over the summer! Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lynn,

Thank you for the great review. You were great to work with and we appreciate how prepared you were for your project. We look forward to working with you again in the near future.

Thank You,
Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

Felicia C.
Felicia C.
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Front walkway

GreenMatt Landscaping created a beautiful front walkway which included 3 tier retaining wall gardens around the front , armour stones and landscaping. Matt and his crew provided superior quality and are very professional on the job site. I highly recommend GreenMatt Landscaping for your next outdoor project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Felicia,

Thank you for the excellent review! You and Jonathan were amazing to work for and we're really excited with the way the project turned out. We hope you get endless enjoyment out of your front entrance for years to come. On behalf of myself and the team, thank you for your great hospitality and the business.

Thank You,
Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

Anna in Aurora
Anna in Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Building fence

GreenMatt Landscaping company builds fence in my house. Excellent work. Excellent people. Great price. Outstanding quality of the job!!! If you need to do your fence-this is company I can highly recommended!!! Good luck guys-you are just GREAT!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anna,

Thank you for the very kind words. You were great to work with, your hospitality was unparalleled. We strive to keep clients happy so thank you.

Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

HomeStars in Toronto
HomeStars in Toronto
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Front Walkway - Natural Stone steps

GreenMatt did an outstanding job fixing the front appearance of my home. What was a terrible and dangerous walkway is now a solid and great upgrade to my home.

Glad he went the extra mile to make for proper irrigation over a very sandy area.

Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mike,

Thank you for the great review, we appreciate your business.

Your front entrance is beautiful and safe for the family. Thank you for choosing GreenMatt Landscaping as your contractor. Let us know if you need anything in the future.

Thank you,
Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

matthew f.
matthew f.
1 review Georgina, ON
10/10

Project - privacy fence

Extremely professional and friendly. Green Matt Landscaping completed the fence on time and within our budget. We love our new fence, it is absolutely beautiful.
Already scheduled our next landscape project!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Matt and Lindsay,

Thank you for the great review. You guys were amazing to work with and we're looking forward to your next project. Your hospitality was unbelievable, thank you!!

Matt Howe
GreenMatt Landscaping

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Residential Driveway Snow Removal

I hired GrrenMatt Landscaping to clear my ice and snow covered driveway after the harsh spring storm. I was grateful and happy with the service I recieved and will definitely consider hiring them again in the future!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Karen,

Thank you for the great review. We aim to provide a great and friendly service. Hope to work with you again in the future.

Thank You,
Matt
GreenMatt Landscaping

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Green Matt Landscaping

Welcome to GreenMatt Landscaping We are family owned and run business. We care about our work as we're all personally invested. This is evidenced in our firm eye for detail and exceptional outcomes. Owner Matt is a Certified Landscape Technician (Niagara College) and makes this his life work. Call today ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Orillia?