AAA Waterproofing & Underpinning

Waterproofing
Toronto ON M9C 5H5
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Waterproofing
AAA Waterproofing & Underpinning
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for AAA Waterproofing & Underpinning

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (41 reviews)

Sort by

SOl in Toronto
SOl in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

This guy is bad news. Don't touch him.

June 2019 - I contracted Ziggy to do waterproofing around my house.
Completed work. ** Mould was growing tin the basement within 2 months.
August 2019 - Excavation revealed that the work was substandard. the waterproofing was only completed 1/2 way down the wall.
Ziggy - could not deny the visible work, and agreed to redo the job.
The 2nd time around, a different crew did the job. This time the mastic used was wrong ( Ziggy brought them roofing tar instead of Aqua Bloc.) When his own employees complained the product was fluid and would not stick to the "Yellow Jacket"he did nothing.
I paid him in full (a mistake)
The Dimple board "molding" was never installed. My backyard was left a disaster zone. Even after many phone calls and promises he never came back.
He talks so smooth and calm.
The problem is.... He talks the talk...But doesn't walk the walk...

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sol, we completed the job at your house and there was no issue with the work we did as you must agree now.
When you called us after you discovered the water in your basement we were there to inspect the issue right away.
You asked us to redo the job again for you. After seeing the water we agreed to do that and added extra few feet to be safe.
We didn't hear from you for almost 1 year. We assumed everything was fine.
After about 1 year mark you called us again complaining there is a water in your basement.
We came next day and investigated. We open up the floor next to the footing that was waterproofed by us but the area was completely dry. That led us to believe that the issue was not with our job.
We investigated further and discovered that your walkout stairs were not sloped properly and there was a lots of holes between the walls and the stairs and water was coming through those stairs which we never worked on.
The area of the basement that was waterproofed by us was dry and you agreed to that.
As per the material used we used
Liquid Rubber | Flexible Heavy-Duty Coating
Waterproof Sealant & Coating. Perfect for Roofs, Decks, RVs, Basements, Foundations & More. Indoor & Outdoor Use. Environmentally Friendly.
The backyard was messy and untidy when we arrived. We cleaned up and removed our garbage and construction debris as per contract. The rest of customer stuff was not our responsibility.
We gave you warranty for this job and came every time you called. We have all the pictures and videos that we took durning our last visit to proof that your issues was not caused by or neglect.

monika in Mississauga
monika in Mississauga
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Waterproofing

This is good honest company.They didn’t have to dig as dip as originally thought when estimates was done.They lowered the price for us witch is always good and big bonus .im recommend this company for everyone.thx monika

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Monika! It was a pleasure to work for you!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Waterproofing (BEWARE)

Must beware.

Not only did they do the work badly and incorrectly. They also broke contract by not doing the work that was written in their contract.

Beware of the workers they are very rude, spend more time smoking and talking on the phone then working. Did not clean up after themselves, left cigarette butts and their lunch garbage all over the property.

They were hired to do a job, and come to find out that it was all done incorrectly. This company did nothing but take the money for work that was done poorly and incorrectly. When you call him out on the poor work and that something is wrong he becomes very rude. Talks to you like you are a child that does not know what you are talking about.

The number on the website gets sent to another number. The address to the company is not a office, it is a mailbox address. There is only one person who you deal with other then the every rude workers.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
J from Toronto
J from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

0/10

Waterproofing Basement & Concrete Replacement

I have never left a negative review for a contractor or tradesperson before but out experience with Ziggy was so unfortunate, I feel compelled to do so.

We had a two-stage project, the first involved waterproofing our basement (exterior) and the second involved replacing the concrete that was removed to accommodate the work and extending to create a patio area.

The waterproofing was done quickly and well and was paid in full.

After that, we gave Ziggy a $1,500 deposit for the concrete work and were told it would start that week. After two weeks of promises that it would happen "tomorrow", we asked for our deposit back and told Ziggy we would get someone else to do the work, since his team was too busy. In short, Ziggy never returned our $1,500 and, when we informed him we would be taking him to small claims court to recoup our money, he told me, via text message, to "go ahead". We were left with a 4 foot wide open trench around our house and out $1,500. We have since retained legal counsel to send a Letter of Demand and file a claim in small claims court on our behalf.
We have used contractors and sub-contractors from HomeStarts before and have never had an issue or a negative experience. Our experience with Ziggy has been horrible and I would especially caution against giving him a cash deposit for any work you plan on having done.
(This review has been cross-posted to Google Business and, as long as it remains up, we have still not been returned our $1,500 deposit for work that was never completed.)

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the waterproofing job we did for you and your basement is dry and safe.

As for the concrete job we agreed to complete it but asked you to wait couple weeks as we had to complete other projects.
We purchased the material needed to go ahead with your job but one day you called and said " if you don't show up tomorrow don't come anymore and I am canceling"
Unfortunately the material was already purchased and we lost money there.
We agreed to return the whole deposit amount despite we lost money by purchasing the material for your house.
We also notified you that to return the money it takes some time as it has to go through certain process but you didn't want to wait and went ahead with legal action immediately . We believe that your action was very unnecessary as we never intended to keep your money.

Adel in Etobicoke
Adel in Etobicoke
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Service

From start to the end they were very professional
They did everything right on time , clean and perfect.
So satisfied with their job and service .
Very trustable and punctual .

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Adel

William C.
William C.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Waterproofing

Ziggy did a very good work of Waterproofing
For my basement on timely manner with warranty.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for kind words. It was a pleasure working for you.

Dan in Toronto
Dan in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Full basement job

After spending months getting crazy quotes I found Ziggy @ AAA Waterproofing. The contractor was very responsive at all times. The crew that worked at our house were polite, friendly and really hard workers. We did the job in the winter which is the worst season made It a very difficult project. None the less the project has been completed and I'm very happy with the results.

Approximate cost of services:
$50,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Dan

RandM in Brampton
RandM in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Foundation Crack Repair

I am very happy I found this company to fix the foundation crack we had. Needed this job done asap and Ziggy was extremely accommodating by getting someone to come out within an exceptional time frame.
The customer service I received from start to finish was above and beyond. Ziggy is professional, courteous and knowledgeable and patiently explained the pros and cons of repairing cracks inside vs outside, which we greatly appreciated.

Previous to finding AAA, I had called 3 other companies. Needless to say the 4th call got our business mainly due to the customer service I received on the phone.

Thank you again Ziggy, we will definitely use you again in the future if there is a need and would highly recommend your company.

R&M

Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for your review. It was a pleasure working for you and we are glad we could help.

Liza in Toronto
Liza in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

100% unprofessional Address doesnt exist

Ziggy walked mid job. Was rude. Left without explanation. The office (on his website) doesn't exist. It is a UPS store. Fraud. Dont wast your money.

We had to hire more trades to complete his unfinished work.

Approximate cost of services:
$40,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You are being unfair to us and make a false accusations.
We have been in the business or over 25 years. We perform over 20 Underpinnig jobs a year. Based on our reviews all the customers are satisfied except for the one that didn't pay. You were 1 month late with the payment
The contract states that we can walk out the job after few day if payment schedule not met. We stayed over one month with no payment going forward with the job and investing more money to your house.
You didn't pay we couldn't continue I am sure you would done the same so be fair and don't make false accusations.

Jasmina in Etobicoke
Jasmina in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

AAA Waterproofing - Our House

We highly recommend the services of AAA Waterproofing. Ziggy is a man of his word - what he says, he does - and we respect that very much. He explained the stages of the job to be done clearly and gave reasons for same. He was always available to answer our calls and was prompt to attend during the performance of the job as well as on follow up. His crew worked hard, arrived on time, did a professional, high quality job and completed it on time, as promised; they dug down to the footings all around the house, the porch and even inside the garage, applied the waterproofing material and replaced the old water ducts; they left the property in a clean condition. All in all, this company takes very seriously both the customer and their work and we are very satisfied with both the work and the customer service we received from Ziggy and his crew.

Approximate cost of services:
$14,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jasmina for kind words.! It was a pleasure working for you. We are glad you are happy and good luck with your reno.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AAA Waterproofing & Underpinning

It has been long 20 years of success that we are providing state of the art waterproofing underpinning and concrete services in Canada.

When we started our main aim is to ensure that each of our service must reflect an excellent level of expertise and elegance. This is the reason that customers choose us in time of need as, we gave our best to satisfy our customers’ requirements as quality is our sole standard. This is the reason that people have faith in us and our services and expertise. We promise that we will continue our hard work, dedication and honesty to make your basements leakage and crack free.
Services provided: Basement Lowering, Basement Underpinning, Interior Basement Waterproofing and Exterior Basement Waterproofing Concrete works

CATEGORIES
Waterproofing
SERVICES
Basement Lowering, Basement Underpinning, Interior Basement Waterproofing and Exterior Basement Waterproofing Concrete Works
SPECIALITIES
Underpinning
WEBSITE
http://www.aaawaterproofing.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1996
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash - E -transfer - Cheques
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
25
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.