I have done many projects in my house but my new vinyl fence with these guys has been the strangest one by far:
- At the beginning, quoting and communication was OK, there were a few delays and miscommunication before getting started
- They will hire sub-contractors, and I'm totally fine with that, but they confessed it was their first time working with vinyl fence
- They had a shortage in the material ordered, which caused additional delays
- Sub-contractors installed dented/uneven panels and gates, which were subsequently replaced, causing additional delays and extra work (see photos)
- Not a single supervisor or representative came to me to introduce themselves as the face of the company during this job
- Called and left messages to sub-contractors and home office, no calls back
- Even when I asked them to call me before coming, they will just show up without any call
Communication is very poor, except for quoting, billing and collecting, and customers are left to deal directly with sub-contractors without a supervisor to talk to about issues or just simple questions.
Overall poor customer service and I will NOT recommend this company for any project.
- Approximate cost of services:
- Company Response
We always appreciate feedback, good or bad and we are all about taking responsibility when due, but this review is not a fair representation of what happened.
To address the photos, we would like to know why you posted photos of the fence before the project was complete? We can agree that your grade does have ups and downs throughout the property, and you wanted the fence the way you have in your photo, you then changed your mind and Phillip (the crew) changed the heights of the sleeves and we did exactly as you asked.
The gate photo was before we made a few adjustments to the hinges. You requested that we do not tie in the neighbours fence to avoid screw holes in your new vinyl, we never put that diagonal board there. The dented material did come from our supplier damaged and we can agree we shouldn’t have put it up dented but we switched and changed everything as requested promptly and at no additional cost. The very minor delays were due to our supplier not having supply on boards to replace the dented ones, which was addressed with you.
You mentioned, no supervisor came to introduce themselves or was on site. Was there confusion our Mark’s role as the Project Manager? He spoke to you on several occasions, enforced the changes and sat with you on your deck on 2 occasions to discuss the project. He was the one in First Class Fencing uniform and he was on-site for the entire project. You did insist on communicating directly with Phillip with most texts and calls being after hours, but he always responded and addressed all your concerns.
We admit we drop the ball from time to time, we miss opportunities to communicate when things are very busy, we aren’t perfect, but the feedback provided is not in any way an accurate representation of how the project went.
What really confuses everyone here, is when the project ended, we were going to contact you about posting a review, but we anticipated it was going to be a 5-star and there was no hesitation in paying the full bill. With how puzzled we all were our General Manager insisted he go out there to look for himself and took a few photos. (Unfortunately, we can not post those photos here but we can provide those at request to show the differences)
As mentioned, your business was greatly appreciated, and don’t hesitate to reach out, we’d love to clear up all the confusion.
-First Class Fencing