Alberta Home Services

Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing
3343 44th Avenue SE Calgary AB T2B 3K6
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

81%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 2 timesBest of 2020winner 2 times

Reviews for Alberta Home Services

Average customer rating:
9 10 (95 reviews)

Sort by

Bonnie
Bonnie
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Tyler & Taylor were great

Dryer vent, furnace vents, fireplace cleaned, ac bypass and disinfectant. Services very professional. Tyler and Taylor did a great job explaining everything they were doing, the services available and the pricing. The pricing was explained by Mackenzie prior to the appointment and then again at the appointment.

Approximate cost of services:
$530.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Bonnie, it is our pleasure, anytime!

Homestars
Homestars
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace and Carpet cleaning

Efficient, friendly and fantastic workmanship.

Both services were done in timely.

I am Very satisfied.

Approximate cost of services:
$570.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the 10 stars! :D

Tara
Tara
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace cleaning

Both Deana & David went up and above, explained everything to me. They even made sure my dogs were doing good. They were very efficient and the price was fabulous. Would totally have them back cleaning my furnace again.

Approximate cost of services:
$129.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Tara, we are here for you anytime!

DebiC.
DebiC.
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Carpet Cleaning

Excellent service on all fronts! I received an immediate response to my phone call and the company was able to come out to the house the next working day.
They provided detailed information on the expected cost.
I received a phone call in the morning in which I received an expected arrival time.
Salim arrived right on schedule and was very polite and professional. Floor mats were laid down to protect hardwood flooring. Wall guards were used on corners as well. The carpet came out beautifully especially considering it is 20 years old and gets very heavy usage.
I will definitely use this service again in the near future and would not hesitate to recommend them to friends and neighbours Thank You!

Approximate cost of services:
$125.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Debi!! it was our pleasure :)

Charmaine in Edmonton
Charmaine in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
4/10

Furnace cleaning

I booked a furnace cleaning for a rental property which was completed. However, the appointment for my own home has been messed up from day one. Alberta Home Service has had the dates wrong on two separate ocassions. Jennifer treats clients like they are garbage on the phone and was yelling at another employee during our conversation. Very unprofessional and now I have to arrange a third appointment to get my home serviced. Will go to a different company.

Approximate cost of services:
$325.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Charmaine,
Unfortunately, there was a mix-up in our transition from our management software. This caused a mix-up on the details of several appointments. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you. We welcome you to get in touch with our customer service manager Sam if you'd like to discuss or clarify this further.
Thank you,

Troy H
Troy H
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace, Ducts annd Fire Place Cleaning

Very efficiant, clean and curtious.
Gave advise on furnace and componants with what to watch for.
Very impressed with work done and was done in a very efficiant manner.
Will highly recommend their services and will call for services again.

Approximate cost of services:
$325.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Troy for recommending us!

Ken Peterson in Calgary
Ken Peterson in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Great Service

I am in the process of selling my home and as I have used Alberta Furnace in the past they were able to come out in a reasonable time frame. Scott and Neil were professional and made sure I understood exactly what services they were to do and it was exactly what I wanted and what I paid for, and no up sell on anything else. They treat your home like it was theirs, they leave no mess and respectful of your home.

Approximate cost of services:
$145.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Ken! We love Scott and Neil, thanks for mentioning them :)

Concerned Buyer
Concerned Buyer
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Furnace Tuneup

I had my furnace tuneup in March 2021.
The furnace has not worked properly since this was done!
Service technician broke a switch in the furnace while cleaning and did not seem confident in his work!
When I called they told me if it was not related to the service call they would charge me for the service call.
Why did I have the tuneup in the first place!!!
I will never use this company again and will tell CTV news likewise!

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Steven,

We provided a furnace tune-up on March 24 2021. Our PR call noted things were all good with the service. We actually replaced a broken flame rollout that we may have broken (since the furnace was old) at the time but there were no other issues noted thereafter the tune-up was completed.

You called us almost 2 months after to request a return visit, citing that the thermostat was not working. We were going to book the call but since the service was long after 30 days warranty, we advised that there would be a charged call for a return visit, especially outside the 30 day warranty period. You did not want to pay for us to return. The CSR actually went further to advise that probably the batteries needed replacing, and that could have saved him the costs for us to return. Instead, you pushed back pretty hard and was not unhappy even though we went out of our way to help this situation. You did not proceed on booking the appointment.

You are more than welcome to call us again to readdress your concerns,

Thank you,

Dea
Dea
0 reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

duct cleaning

We recently had our ducts cleaned. We had new furnaces put in so we only need the ducts cleaned. After cleaning the ducts, which hadn't been done in over 50 years!! The technician told us it was one of the dirtiest they had ever seen. Since they were new furnaces and didn't need to be checked, they didn't change the filters. That night, the furnace stopped working because so much dust was blown into the filter that it was clogged. We were not told that the filter would not be changed for us as we didn't want the furnaces checked, we were not told that all that dust would clog the filter and that we should change the filter, nothing. My mom was without heat all night, and being a weekend didn't have heat until 2 day later when a furnace technician could come. The technician pulled out the filter to find a good 4 inches of dust on it. This is a filter that is not even one month old. So a lot of the dust form the cleaning was sent down to the furnace filter and it shut down the furnace. When I called Alberta Furnace Cleaning, they claimed they did nothing wrong. They wouldn't even admit that they could have mentioned to us that the filter would need changing. Instead, the manager blamed us and the company that installed the furnace. He said the dust could have been there before they cleaned the furnace. Look at the picture, there is no way a filter less than a month old would look like this. Very disappointed with getting no help or apology or compensation of any sort for this.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dea,
We received a request from you to do a vents-only cleaning and directed the crew not to do anything with the furnace, as it was new and under warranty. So we proceed as directed and bypassed/sealed off the furnace from the cleaning process.

As mentioned, the system was not cleaned for 50 years ( which is the dirtiest we've seen, not to mention hazardous), and by installing 2 new furnaces, there will be an exceptional amount of dust being drawn through the returns and then filtered, causing the situation. We make recommendations based on what we are allowed to perform as a service.

Also, we were not contacted initially to help resolve the problem, as we would normally do under our 30 day warranty period and we had available staff on Saturday to help resolve it. We offered a revisit to assess your concerns but were refused.

We encourage you to contact us should you look into revisiting your concerns,
Thank you.

Remir
Remir
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Carpets cleaned

I had the carpets cleaned back in the fall . They did 3 of the bedroom's and the basement. They did a great job there was some pretty difficult stains in my daughters room, the technician worked very hard getting all the stains out of the carpets in here room.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Remir for recommending us! :)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Alberta Home Services

Alberta Home Services has proudly been serving Calgary and area since 1986. Today we are Southern Alberta’s award-winning and premier provider of professional carpet cleaning, furnace and duct cleaning, and other related services. We service all of Calgary from residential clients, new home builders, institutions, and businesses.

Expect the best equipment and most extensive training in the industry when you hire Alberta Home Services. We strive always to deliver the best service at a great value. This is why we have been voted #1 since 2003 by the Consumer's Choice and since 2012 by the Calgary Herald Reader's Choice.

CATEGORIES
Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing and Duct Cleaning
SERVICES
Carpet Cleaning Upholstery Cleaning Area Rug Cleaning Furnace and Duct Cleaning Repair and maintenance Services
BRANDS
Alberta Furnace Cleaning Alberta Carpet Cleaning
SPECIALITIES
Rotowhip® Safe Duct Cleaning Thermorinse® Green Carpet Cleaning
WEBSITE
https://albertahomeservices.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1986
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
RETURN POLICY
Changes by Service
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Debit or Cash
MEMBERSHIPS
NADCA, COR, IICRC, Canada Green Sustainability Program, BBB,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.