HomeStars  >  Decks in Thornhill  >  The Post Hole Diggers
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
81%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
13
1
5

Reviews for The Post Hole Diggers

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (49 reviews)

Sort by

Ken
8 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Professional. Quick. Experts. Originally, I called them only to put in the posts for my fence. I wanted to save some money. But inquired about their fence building capabilities--and they said they could do it. I was hesitant to go with them, as they really specialize in post holes, but was willing to take a leap of faith. They were organized from the back-end office process part, to when they arrived at my house. Fully equipped with pro machinery and a crew of 3. In 5 hours they finished a beautiful fence. So happy with high grade of materials they used and quality of their workmanship. Put these guys on your go-to list for building your entire fence. You won't regret it. Money well spent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ken,

Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you are so happy with the service we provided to you. We do specialize in post installation but are qualified to also build beautiful fences and decks! I am glad we were helpful to you.

Best wishes,

Eddie in Concord
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

I just used this company yesterday, and I have to say that I wish I never did.

1-HIDDEN COSTS no.1
The contractor started off by telling me that because it was going to take so long, he was going to charge $275 per hour after 2 hours of work!! NOTHING was mentioned about this when I called and inquired about the fees. My neighbour and I argued and he said, “ok, but I have to start charging after 3 hours”....First of all, that's called a hidden cost, and secondly, I sent very clear pictures of my terrain so they could have mentioned any issues at that point. All that was mentioned was the $35 fee per 6”x6” post, and that the machine was able to pass between the houses.
He finished in 3 hours...luckily I suppose, but it was a rushed job.
Telling a customer about fees on the day the work is to be done is dishonest and puts the customer in a corner, we had already bought all the lumber and scheduled other appointments afterwards. So it's very hard to say no on the spot....but I'm sure they know that.

2-HIDDEN COSTS no.2
Although we had the centre lines marked, and I specifically told him the spacing I was looking for, he still put his own centre line and marked his own spacing, and ended up charging me and my neighbour $45+HST EACH...ANOTHER HIDDEN COST!!

3-MEASUREMENTS NOT CORRECT!!
On one side, they put the posts COMPLETELY ON MY SIDE, not on the centre line!!!! How bad or just careless do you have to be to mess up a property line....My neighbours and I spent so much time measuring our property lines based on the plans, and he just came in and quickly with no regard put the posts completely on my property. I'm extremely upset about this.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND USING THIS COMPANY at all.....but if you do, you better be out there with them measuring every post and every distance from every wall...otherwise you're in for a nasty surprise like I was...but remember if you go over your time limit, expect to pay a heavy hourly rate!!

The better advice I could give you is to use a completely different company that respects property lines, a customer's request for spacing and doesn't surprise you with hidden fees when you're 'under the gun'.

Here's the fine print that's supposed to cover them from any responsibility:

7) The prices provided are just an estimate. Once the contractor has started digging, he will assess the site and if there are any issues that might affect the price, he will let you know at that time before proceeding.    
 
8) We accept Visa, MasterCard, Debit, and cash. Please inspect the job upon completion to ensure that the job has been completed to your satisfaction. If you have any issues with the work that has been done, please address them before you make payment. Once payment has been made you are approving that the job has been completed to your satisfaction.   
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.    

So once payment has been made, the customer is supposed to shut up and suck it up...I don't think so.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Eddie,

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction, however there are a few things stated in your review that do not accurately represent how we conduct business.

I want to begin by addressing your concerns regarding “hidden costs”. We are very clear with our customers that we are only able to offer an estimate on post installation and that there are factors such as the quality of the soil and issues with access that can affect the price. It is not possible to predict what is underground until we start digging and we are very forthcoming about that as stated in our confirmation email that you attached to your review. If you are not happy with any changes to the original estimate you are free to send us away without penalty. We do not expect our customers to pay anything they have not agreed to. I want to also clarify that you were not charged our hourly rate at all, which is actually $250 an hour, and this is the price the contractor advised you of, not $275 an hour as you have stated. It is not unreasonable to charge more for a job that should only take an average amount of time to be done, but ends up taking additional time to do. With that said, we asked you to mark out the locations of the posts with spray paint, and instead you used stakes to mark out the property line; therefore our crew had to take additional time to do the proper markings. Item #4 in our confirmation email sent to every customer upon booking, prior to their appointment date, states: “It is mandatory that somebody be on site for the duration of the job that can be trusted to address any issues that might arise including pricing. Also, we do ask that the location of the posts be marked out with spray paint and the posts are on site for us.” The contractor walked the property with you and was very thorough in marking both yours and your neighbour’s property according to where you staked out the property line. You did not provide us with a property survey so the contractor simply followed what you had marked out with stakes. We typically charge at least $50 for marking so you were actually given a bit of discount for the markings that we had to do on your behalf.

We do not require a deposit, nor do we accept payment before completing a job. We ensure that the customer has the opportunity to assess the work that has been done and advise us of anything they are unhappy with so that we are able to make it right. As mentioned before, the contractor was very thorough with walking you through the job and explained everything in detail. It is unfortunate that you did not share your concerns at this time so we were able to rectify any of these issues.

Best of luck in the future.

Private User
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
1/10

Their ads say $25 per post and if you call to verify details they are friendly, professional and helpful. When they arrive at your house they have all the necessary equipment and prep the area for digging. After digging 3 holes they tell you that your ground is "too hard" and it will take more time. $250 per hour and you need to agree to this or they will leave. The meter keeps running and the bill goes higher and higher. "We can leave and you can do it yourself." They know you need it done and they know you likely have other contractors waiting for the posts to be installed. I called the office to complain and they said I have to deal with the contractor onsite. They rely on their quote that says, "any delays will add to the cost" but if you dig holes in the GTA all day, everyday, you would assume they understand that some ground is hard and some ground is soft. Some jobs are fast and some may take longer? It was not a good experience, I felt like I was being taken advantage of and was stuck once they started. I will say the workmanship was good. The holes were deep, the posts were set straight, the crew was friendly but the price is no where near $25 per post. After my experience, I spoke to other contractors who confirmed that this type of low ball quote is very common. Quote low, get the job, start the job and then add in more costs as they go. I would not recommend you use this company. Find someone locally, reputable who cares about their customers and reputation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Justin,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you feel this way even though we did provide you with a good service. We were very transparent with you about how our pricing works and how we operate as a company. We sent you a confirmation email with 8 details that we asked you to read the day the job was booked. One of those 8 details was that the prices we provide are just an estimate, when the crew gets on site and starts digging they will do an assessment of the site to see if there are any issues that might affect the price. You agreed to these terms when the crew discussed with you what the challenges were with your job. It was determined that your job was going to take longer than expected and you would be need to pay the hourly rate. At that time you chose to have him proceed under these terms.

We are aware that the quality of the soil is different in different areas of the GTA. This is why we do not provide our customers with a final quote prior to starting the work.

We do not ask for a deposit, nor do we proceed with any work unless there is a verbal agreement of any inflation to the original estimate that was given to the customer. We have a price list and in the best of circumstances these prices would not change. However, when challenges arise with either the digging or other complications, unfortunately, we have to compensate for the additional time that our company has to spend at the job site.

Best of luck to you in the future,

richard.ying
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

good service and good price. on time , on schedule. thanks very much. i will recommend to my friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you are happy with the service we provided.

Best wishes,

Advanced C.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

From the moment they answered the phone to the second they left the job it was absolutly fantastic. the crew that showed up were proper and did a super job. The ladies answering the phone were very helpful and full of information. would absolutly recommend and use for my next job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad we were helpful to you in the office. We always do our best to provided the best service we can. It was great working with you and we look forward to working with you in the future.

Best wishes,

Stephen (.
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

The crew was very respectful of the property, curtious and extremely efficient. 8 holes with cement and aligned brackets in 1:20. No mess with any of their clean up. Would use them again for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Stephen,

Thank you for your kind words. If you need anything from us in the future please let me know.

Best wishes,

jon
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

The team that came to help us out on our deck and fence project were top notch and professional. The Admin team was prompt, helpful, and organized and was able to get a team available for our job in under a week. The guys showed up when they said, they were polite, knowledgable and were in and out in half a day leaving us ready to build our deck and fence with little distruption. I will definitely not be hand digging a whole again....ever, lol. I'll be using the Post Hole Diggers

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words. We always do our best to get jobs in as soon as possible. I'm glad everything worked out well. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Best wishes,

e. a.
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

We had to drill 22 holes in ground for fence posts. The work was carried out neatly, efficiently and i was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank for your kind word. It was great working with you.

Best wishes,

rholdaway
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Work was done quickly and accurately. Ran into some issues with large rocks and they were able to switch auger bits to one designed for drilling through rock and gave us our footing right where we needed it!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words. We do our best to make sure we are equipped to deal with tough situations. I'm glad you are happy with the service we provided to you.

Best wishes,

Rp C.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Holes were drilled, posts set, everything was plum and true, a very good job by super nice staff; will surely use them on all future projects! Also office staff bent over backwards to help me with all aspects of documentation needed! Great job and I really appreciate the accomodating me on short notice!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there,

Thank you for the kind words! I am so glad you are happy with the service we provided you. If you need anything from us in the future please let me know.

Best wishes,

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Post Hole Diggers

We have been in the post hole digging industry for over 15 years. The Post Hole Diggers prides itself on its integrity, dependability and high quality workmanship. We value our customers satisfaction above all else and strive to deliver on what we promise. Our staff is professional, well trained, and eager to help and strongly believe that no job is too big, too small, or too hard as they always say If there is a will there is a way!!

We have managed over our 15 years in the business to build a reputation for our quality work and our professionalism which has given rise to large contracts with many contractors, construction companies and land developers. We are proud to say that our work speaks for itself and we get many happy repeat customers and referrals for it. We know you will be satisfied with us. Feel free to browse our testimonials for some feedback and reviews.

When working with us, you, the client, can be at ease knowing that we are fully insured for all aspects of the work (from liability to WSIB) and you bear no responsibility should something go wrong. However, we are proud to say that in 15 years we have never had to make any claims for any work related accidents. We always make sure to take all the necessary safety precautions to ensure a safe work environment for our clients and for our employees.

CATEGORIES
Decks and Fences & Gates
SERVICES
Dig & set services, fence repairs, fence building, fence post installation, deck building, deck and other footings installation, prefabricated, vinyl, iron, pressure treated, flagpoles, signs, design and layout, miscellaneous digging services, post installation, hole diggers, pole install, helical piles, helical pier, pile screws, helical screws
SPECIALITIES
Post installation(dig and set or dig only), fence building, deck building.
WEBSITE
http://www.thepostholediggers.ca/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
RETURN POLICY
Customer satisfaction is important to us, if our client is unhappy we will come a solution that the
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Debit, Visa or MasterCard
LICENSES
WSIB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year warranty on the cement used to set our posts and footings
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.