Francis Plumbing Heating & Cooling

Heating & Air Conditioning
Ottawa ON K2A 2E3
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Francis Plumbing Heating & Cooling
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Francis Plumbing Heating & Cooling

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (29 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Technician

I recommend Kay and Rory. They did a great job and very respectful people. Thank you

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Gary in Toronto
Gary in Toronto
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Plugged Stack

We had a blocked drain pipe in the basement stack that defied my attempts at clearing.
The Francis Plumbings technician recognized the problem and used his power snake to get rid of the blockage. He solved the blockage problem and now the sinks drain away as they should.
We are glad that the solution was a simple repair with the proper equipment and knowledge.
The total cost was reasonable in light of todays costs of doing business.

Approximate cost of services:
$350.00
Was this review helpful?
Daniel P
Daniel P
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Tankless water heater, HEPA Filter, Humidifier and annual maintenance

Everyone I dealt with was amazing, friendly and Courteous. From getting a list of options and the quotes. the options, pros and cons were well explained and supported with literature. The installations and service were all done on time and within the planned scheduled. They cleaned up the maze of pluming, gas pipes and wiring, the end result is very clean and nothing is the way. Their prices were also very competitive, and i would definitely use again and will be calling them for future maintenance. Also their COVID protocols are very reassuring, they used disinfecting wipes on everything they touch, including hand rails, doors etc.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

it really was our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for choosing our company!

58tim
58tim
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Furnace maintenance/ clogged drain

Terry came to fix furnace No heat he found the problem clean the dirty flame sensor and it was back up and running.
Jeff Came to fix a clogged drain snaked the drain for the washer we’re all the other drains fall into and problem solved now I know how to fix it did a great job and gave me some tips

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing our company - it was our pleasure to serve you!!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Tankless Water Heater

The company came through for us on a time sensitive project. We had moved to a another home and we did not want to be locked into an undesired rental of a hot water tank. Francis was able to install a tankless water heater in a timely fashion. Jeff and Erin did a wonderful job of removing the old water heater and installing the new heater as well as leaving no mess behind.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,400.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

My apologies for the delayed reply - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate it!

Ray G
Ray G
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Boiler Maintenance

Yesterday was the scheduled day for my annual Boiler maintenance. Kyle was right on time. I also knew it would be Kyle because I ask for him each year. This year some water had been pooling under the pressure valve which I thought could be a huge problem. Kyle checked this and discovered that the water was actually condensate leaking from the external copper tube connected to the floor drain. It had been “eaten” through. He replaced it with a plastic one and I have my peace of mind back. Thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$180.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

our apologies for not responding sooner. We really do appreciate that you took the time to write this review and thank you for choosing our company

juderand in Ottawa
juderand in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

New Ductless Air Conditioning System

Francis Plumbing and Heating recently installed a ductless air conditioning system in our old home. Not too many companies install ductless systems in homes with radiant heat, so it took us a while to find Francis. JP and Dennis, were exceptional in every respect. We have done tons of home renovations over the years and I can honestly say that this team is the best. They were pleasant, unobtrusive, punctual, professional, polite, and informative. They are problem solvers that go beyond the call of duty. There were no surprises, no delays, and the system works like a charm. And very exceptionally, they cleaned up at the end of each day to the extent that you would not have known that they'd been here. Around the same time, we had Francis (another team of plumbers) come in to repair a major leak, and that too was done professionally and competently. We highly recommend the company and will use it for all of our future plumbing jobs. Sincerely,

Approximate cost of services:
$16,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

our apologies for not responding sooner - thank you very much for the review. We really do appreciate it.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Overprice and no talent

I got a quote saying the work would take an entire day with 2 people needed. It took 2 hours. Hugely overpriced and a big battle to get the price reduced. Then the annoying secretary Who has to phone you continually to pay (I sent check day after work done) and she phoned me 4 times within 3 days. Feeling harassed.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our goal is always 100% Customer Satisfaction so discounts were offered and authorized and the phone calls issues were caused by our phone system which has since been fixed. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you experienced so we can make sure this can't happen again in the future.

Doug in Ottawa
Doug in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

On demand water heater

In 2010 I had an on demand water heater installed. At first it worked well then gradually produced less and less hot water. Called Francis and a technician flushed the system with moderate improvement. A year later paid again and even less improvement.
Less than a month after the last Francis service I called JC Robinson, the technician red tagged the unit saying it was leaking carbon monoxide and had visible signs of burning outside the burn chamber.
My house could have burned down! TSSA was involved.

JC Robinson put in a water tank on short notice which is running without issue.
Still have the damaged on demand heater in my basement...will have to spend more to get it removed.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Shirley  in Ottawa
Shirley in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Emergency Service

January 10th I purchased a new comfort furnace from them and on January 12th it stopped working. I was told by one of the workers that returned my call from the emergency line that the roads were bad and other people needed a furnace more then I did and I would have to wait until Monday for an appointment. I have two furnaces one that heats up the front of the house and the new one heats the back of the house were all my plumbing etc., is installed. This was also mentioned during our telephone conversation by the worker. I was not impressed and I am not happy. I paid cash for this new furnace and expected excellent service. I was very happy with the comfort furnace when it worked not impressed at all with the response I received from them. I have a small oil heater near my water pipes and hope that they won't freeze overnight. If I had not paid in full for the furnace I probably would have received excellent service due to the fact that money was owed. Now that it's paid in full they don't seem to care.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,450.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The office was not notified of this response by our emergency on call technician. This is not the kind of services our company provides and it goes against our company policy! This customer should have received priority service like the rest of our customers who bought equipment from us. The technician who gave this inappropriate response has been fired and no longer works for our company.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Francis Plumbing Heating & Cooling

"With more than 90 years of experience, Francis Plumbing Heating & Cooling is Ottawa’s trusted provider of HVAC, Plumbing, Heat Pump, Boiler & Water heater related services. Our Our wide service range includes installations, repairs & maintenance for furnaces, air-conditioners, heat pumps, boilers and water filters. We offer after hours ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Ottawa?