Seldom Metal Designs Ltd.

#5-30 Capilano Way, New Westminster BC V3L 5M3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Seldom Metal Designs Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Seldom Metal Designs Ltd.

Average customer rating:
5.5 10 (2 reviews)

Sort by

A. from Vancouver
A. from Vancouver
4 reviews Vancouver, BC


Please note, they also operate under name "Capilano Metal." These guys are terrible. They were recommended to my contractor by his friend who is in the "business". They came, gave me an estimate, my contractor said it sounded fair, so I placed my order, giving them 50% of a $1400. They rails for my front stairs came about 2 weeks later, and all 4 pieces were WRONG. They took them away, fixed them and brought them back a week later. STILL WRONG, but I didn't notice until they screwed them in. All 4 pieces are short. So basically you can see the screw threads hanging in the air. It is terrible. They made excuses like, oh the stone is uneven, so we can't get it exact. Uh, isn't that what a tape measure is for?? So they said they would come fix it, but it has been 3 weeks and they are not coming. I still owe them $700+, but told them they won't get the rest of their money until it's fixed. But at this point, I have to assume, they are walking away. They keep making false promises. These guys cannot be trusted. Take your business elsewhere!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is with much regret that you are not satisfied with the installation of your railings Angela, and chose to write so poorly of our services.
It is an unfair statement to claim we make false promises, as we addressed your concerns, made a completely new second railing, (which you also rejected), yet nothing appears to be an appropriate solution for you.
The product we provided is as you ordered, but the manner in which it was installed seems to be your issue. As you mentioned, we informed you that due to the uneven nature of the ledgestone brick, it is very difficult to get an exact measure of where the bottom rail will match the surface. The railing was perfectly leveled on your stairs during installation, which is of utmost importance, and the top railing met perfectly with the uneven ledgestone finish. In doing so, there is a ¼” gap between your uneven mounting surface & the mounting bracket for the bottom rail only.
You stated – “So they said they would come fix it, but it has been 3 weeks and they are not coming”. We are waiting for you to choose which of several possible options we offered you, to make the connection between the bottom rail bracket & the screw meet more seamlessly with the uneven Ledgestone surface.
It is not our company keeping you waiting, but rather your refusal to make a decision that is holding us back from creating a satisfactory completion to your project.

mila wong from Vancouver
mila wong from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC

First Review


metal railings 50 feet long

Needed it done "yesterday". We had to sell the house but needed to comply with the city request for a railing. Seldom Metal was there next day to see and to do their measurements. We had the railing done way before schedule. Great service. Very professional. I was truly impressed. Will use Seldom Metal on all our projects. Mila

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Seldom Metal Designs Ltd.

custom wrought iron & aluminum fabrication company for interior & exterior railings, as well as other artistic metal creations.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Railings pros in New Westminster?