Odd Job Handyman Services

Handyman Services
46 Noble St. Unit 105 Toronto ON M6K 2C9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Handyman Services
Odd Job Handyman Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 4 timesBest of 2020winner 4 times

Reviews for Odd Job Handyman Services

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (160 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Adjusting cupboard door hinges

The European-style concealed hinges of approximately 20 kitchen and bathroom cupboard doors proved too complex for us to do ourselves. Odd Job sent out Alastair, who arrived promptly for the appointment. He worked quickly and efficiently, adjusted all the hinges, including some that required awkward manoeuvring, reinstalled one door and provided helpful advice. He was very professional throughout. The price was very fair.

Was this review helpful?
Margaret in Toronto
Margaret in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Installation of sliding doors

I am very pleased with everything about my first OddJob.ca experience. Prompt, professional/expert service provided at every step of the way, from booking, to on-site consultation, to recommended solutions, and to successful installation of the product by Justin and Ramon. Just top notch service all the way.

Was this review helpful?
geoff in Kitchener
geoff in Kitchener
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I highly recommend AVOIDING this service.

The quality of the work was very poor. So bad that we were forced to hire another company to finish the work.

They provided a quote for 5 fixes, 3 of which were complete. They still charged for all 5.

When we tried contacting their team on 10+ occasions to speak with a representative no calls were returned and they proceeded to bill the card fully.

We were then sent a text message saying that they were not able to provide a refund.

Terrible customer service and lack of professionalism.

Do not use this service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and feedback from customers is always appreciated.

OddJob provides estimates which are time-based and not flat rate, which is indicated in the estimating process itself. Invoices are adjusted after completion either up or down to reflect the actual time needed to complete the job. If there is a finishing problem, we also offer our warranty policy to correct issues free of charge. Sometimes technicians run into issues that pose a larger challenge or cannot be repaired despite attempts to do so in these cases we provide the customer with this information in person and on their invoice.

In general, our customers appreciate the flexible transparent pricing even when it doesn’t work out in their favour, they appreciate that the effort was made to correct the issue and they now have the information to make decisions about the next steps with confidence.
We are sorry that you were unhappy with the process, but we will continue to do good business with the City of Toronto.

Senior Lady in Old Toronto
Senior Lady in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Clearing everything from the balcony and storage locker

The 2 man work crew arrived on time. They were efficient, polite, understood what needed to be done and did not waste time completing the task of removing everything for future balcony replacement. Emptying out a storage locker that once again involved taking things to the ground-level dumpster and some things to the tenant’s unit.

Was this review helpful?
Anita in Toronto
Anita in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Mirrors, Closet Organisers and Racks

I required 2 large mirrors to be hung as well as 4 coat racks, 2 closet organisers and a closet organiser. The closet organiser took longer than expected as there was an issue with the size of the closet. The Odd jobs person worked around the issue and it was done with good result. He also hung the mirror a bit too high and immediately corrected it and filled in any previous holes in the wall which look great. Thank you for a job well done.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
0/10

not to be trusted

i had contracted for work to be done. the project manager did the estimate and scope. they only did 1/3 of the work and asked demanded the full price. they refused to come see the work and discuss it in person. this was second job i did with them, the first went well over the estimate but the work was good so i thought it was reasonable. when two thirds of the work is untouched and not acknowledged but billed for, trust is broken. i will never use them again and i suggest the same to anyone else considering this group.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
emily reilly  from Toronto
emily reilly from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Curtains & decorative wall photo frames

I️ bought a condo about a year and a half ago and had been looking to decorative my space to make it feel more like me, to display
my art / photos.

I used ODD JOB -when I was in a rental space and knew that they were the company that I would hire for jobs in my condo.

The technician showed up checked in my concierge and was very considerate with the building’s requirements with parking and bringing in their equipment.

Owing my space I️ was cautious of having the job done right. The ODD JOB technician was open and explained the process for my peace of mind, so at the end of the day I was confident that it was a job well done.

I would recommend their services to friends and family, because they are reliable, knowledgeable and made sure that with every step I was satisfied.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for the kind review! So glad that we were able to support you in your new home. We take pride in our personable experience that we provide here at OddJob! Thank you again and we look forward to supporting you in the future.

Hyapatia4u@2 in Old Toronto
H. U.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bookcase Assembly

I needed to have bookcase built and I hired Oddob.ca to do it. I have used their services in the past and I have been satisfied with their service.

The two technicians arrived early and were able to have the bookcase together in less than 30 minutes. It looks great and it is rock solid. I was very happy with the service.

I will attach a photo showing the completed bookcase. It is the item with the Beatles box sets on the shelf.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You so much for your kind review! So glad you were happy with your OddJob experience and we look forward to helping you in the future with any more projects you may have.

Sid Silverberg from Toronto
Sid Silverberg from Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Horrible customer experience

Be aware of their vague quotes. This led to tacking on additional charges. I had some complaints regarding the work that was completed. The owner, Justin, was not at all interested in rectifying the situation. He was not even interested in listening to my complaint. He just laughed and billed my credit card. TERRIBLE customer experience. STAY AWAY.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks for the feed back Sid
OddJob provides estimates which are time-based, due to the nature of the repair and maintenance industry, and not flat quotes and this is noted in three places during the estimating process. Project invoices are adjusted after the fact either up or down based on the time consumed by our technicians. As was explained on the phone Sid we adjusted the project to reflect the time consumed, in total an additional 15 min of time, which means or estimate was extremely accurate for your project. I understand you feel you should only pay for what your estimate stated, but as was clearly written with the estimate that is not the process that OddJob runs on and our loyal customer base has always appreciated this transparent way of doing business. Furthermore bullying our customer support staff is something that we at OddJob and Justin himself will not stand for and not the type of customer we want to go above and beyond for. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the process but we will continue to good business with the City of Toronto.

Rob in Toronto
Rob in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

We love these folks

We've used them several times. Always timely, always efficient.

Great service and we are big fans.

We use them exclusively for these types of jobs, and recommend them with enthusiasm. Big thumbs up!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for a kind review Rob! So glad we were able to help you out and please let us know if we can help you with any future projects!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Odd Job Handyman Services

ABOUT US

Odd Job Handyman Services began in 2008 with one man and his truck. It's since grown to be one of the largest and most reliable contractors in Toronto, serving thousands of homeowners and businesses throughout the city. On Feb. 16, 2017, it was one of five handyman services in Ontario to be officially named "Best of 2017" by Homestars, the largest network of home professionals in Canada.

Odd Job offers a wide range of services including drywall, painting, tiling, flooring, millwork, hanging, junk removal, furniture assembly, basic plumbing & electrical and all general repairs. The work performed by Odd Job is covered by a two-year warranty.

The staff at Odd Job is fully licensed, bonded and insured, and every member has been background-and-identity-checked. They're hand-selected from the "best of the best" in local professional circles (each with at least three positive references) and subjected to a series of in-shop tests before they're admitted into the team.

HISTORY

It all started with Justin George, an exceptionally-handy property manager who had great difficulty convincing professional contractors to visit his building for "small jobs." Justin, a red seal tradesman, was so tired of contractors telling him "it wasn't worth their time" that he was forced to take care of most of the repairs and maintenance himself.

He realized he was far from the only person who was in this predicament. There were many people without the time, the tools or the talent to recaulk their shower stall, hang their favourite paintings or repair a few pot lights.

Not everyone trusts the mystery men on Craigslist and Kijiji, and so Justin wanted to provide them a professional option. "It might be a small job, but it's a big deal," Justin said, "People need a company that treats it that way."

Mr. George graduated from George Brown College with a degree in mechanical engineering and from the University of Western Ontario in 2011 with a degree in technological education, manufacturing and construction. He is an Accredited Manufacturing and Construction Educator and a member in good standing of the Association of Certified Handyman Professionals (ACHP). He loves cats, guitar and building things (anything). His most important values are honesty, quality and consistency and his motto is: "There's always a way to get the job done right."

PRICING

We offer a la carte, task-based pricing for all of our standard services. Our extensive experience has given us a tried-and-true system for evaluating the duration and cost for virtually every standard project."

BUSINESS & PROPERTY MANAGEMENT SERVICES

Odd Job also serves many small businesses, including retail stores, office facilities and income properties. Our project manager was a longtime property manager and every member of the team has extensive experience in facilities management. Among the many businesses that trust Odd Job are Shoppers Drug Mart, Holt Renfrew, Burberry, Fresh Restaurants and LensCrafters.

Let us take care of you while you take care of business!

CATEGORIES
Handyman Services
SERVICES
We offer a wide range of handyman services, including all general repairs, hanging, grout and caulking, furniture assembly & maintenance, cabinetry installation, carpentry, painting (mostly interior), drywall installation & repairs, door installation & repairs, deck installation & repairs, fence installation & repairs, shelving installation, window treatment installations, basic plumbing, site work, demolitions, clean-up, junk removal, and much more. We also offer premium renovation services. Call (416) 520-1161 and request a quote from our renovations division today. We will establish a budget, timeline and plan in advance, and then provide the highest quality of labour, materials and expertise to make it happen. We offer a wide range of maintenance services to homeowners, tenants, property owners, real estate agents and many of the city's most important businesses. Odd Job offers a la carte pricing for all of our services. Our extensive experience has given us a tried-and-true system for evaluating the duration and cost for virtually every standard project.
SPECIALITIES
We specialize in the things found on your "honey-do" list - hanging, drywall, tiling, all general repairs, and small to mid-size renovations.
WEBSITE
http://www.oddjob.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2008
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
RETURN POLICY
http://www.oddjob.ca/handyman-warranty
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Interac, Check, Cash, E-Transfer
LICENSES
Metro License: T85-4305843
MEMBERSHIPS
Association of Certified Handy Professionals
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$150
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
1000 +
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Our 2-year warranty covers all general repairs and some installations. The warranty does not cover moisture damage, ground shifting, weather-related damage, material failure or change in mind.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.